HTFU….to the edge

Wow.  I came back.  Had all sorts of intros for my second post.  (that’s second post since 2009)  I even had one partially memorized this morning.  It sounded real good in my head.  Then.  Now?  Can’t seem to remember a damn thing.  Hm…let’s see if I can retrace some cerebral steps and get back a little of what was “reading” in my brain this morning.  The pen writing on my paper brain began:  ” I believe writing is the GREAT CATHARSIS“.   There was more but I can’t remember any of it.  WTF.

I suppose it could be nerves.  As I alluded to in my virgin post, I am not accustomed  to “writing” on a keyboard.  To me that is typing.  Whoever said that “typing” was a great catharsis?  It’s writing man.  Now that’s cathartic.  You know pen, paper, wherever the hell you felt like writing. (the archaic activity associated with old people.)  Not at a desk sitting upright like you were in a damn office.  “No one’s going to tell me where and how to sit while I spill my guts to 80 bajillion readers!”  (like that is remotely possible)

Understandably, blog writing is a foreign thing to me.  My own blog that is.  I do enjoy reading other people’s blogs such as the ones listed in my Blogroll.  It is this notion of having my own blog.  “OK.  Great, ya got a blog.  Now what?  What is the purpose?  Why would I do this thing?  Do I really want to do this thing?  Who would want to read what I write?  Are there not enough personal diaries/journals in cyberspace already?”  I am chuckling to myself because there will be some eyes reading this thinking man, she really is a clark isn’t she?  For a better understanding of  this statment you had better go to the Wakefield Doctrine also known as the theory of clarks, scotts and rogers (over there, on the right, just click on that link. you won’t regret it).  

This is not meant as an advertisement for the Wakefield Doctrine blog but there has been conversation there as of late as to who’s style of writing has more mass appeal.  The consensus leans towards the rogers among us.  They, being the social ones, often have an innate ability to put words together in very pleasant formations.  Rather effortlessly.  But I digress.   I told myself I would blog and by golly I am going to do it.   

When I was younger, first year of college I think, I told my parents at dinner one evening I wanted to be a poet.  Their reaction was not quite what I expected.  To paraphrase a little it was:  “No, really.  Tell us what you really want to be/do in real life?” (think the scene from The Other Guys when Mark Wahlberg meets Will Ferrell’s wife)  The value in my revealing that desire was the advice my Dad gave me after dinner.  He told me that if I wanted to be a poet then I “should  write every day. ( I was thinking to myself every day?)  Anything.  Just do it every day.”  Makes sense.  The more you do something the better you do the thing.

Let this be the beginning of a not every day blog but one that offers something new more than once a year:)  Once upon a time decades ago, I wrote in a journal at least once a week, Sunday mornings mostly.  I have some very pleasant memories of my weekly journal writing in spite of the circumstances surrounding why I was writing in that journal.  Huh, it was cathartic……

8 thoughts on “HTFU….to the edge

  1. Great Post! Really Could Identify with what you wrote! I can just picture what you were writing about, really hits Home!!
    Keep up the Good Work! ^0^

    (every fuckin body has the solo album they really, really need to chance to get their heads in a different space…)
    …least I still got AKH…

    Like

  2. AKH

    Keep ’em coming girlie. Very thought-provoking. Makes me want to come back for more. You propose an idea, a thought, a fleeting moment in time which, to this reader, evokes curiosity.

    Yo Clark ya still got me buddy. Not worried about not having a solo album. Too much work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

