Can you stand on the edge of a circle?

T.S. Eliot wrote “What we call the beginning is often the end.  And to make an end is to make a beginning.  The end is where we start from.”

Based on this one quote I would say T.S. Eliot was a clark (go to the Wakefield Doctrine, the theory of clarks, scotts and rogers) which is probably why I like this particular quote.  At first glance it reads rather confusing until you take a half step back and think about it.   

So where should I begin tonight?  The beginning or the end?  Doesn’t matter does it?  Let’s take it from the top – “Can you be on the edge of a circle”?   Yes, yes you can.  For those who would believe life is cyclical, circular, somehow having a beginning whose end reflects the beginning, I ask how is it that there are no sharp edges to circles and yet life is filled with sharp edges.  Be honest with me…..WHO CARES!  Such thoughts are challenging to discuss on a philisophical level…..IF YOU ARE IN COLLEGE IN THE 70’s!  

But it’s 2011 and if you are trying to figure out that one now (speaking to the Dazed and Confused crowd), then my friend(s), you are in a heap o trouble.  All those out there who are successful, happy and content with where they are “in life” congrats.  For those of us who may have been on that particular road but found themselves in a 50 car pileup, fatalities pending, then maybe you have come to the right place.  Time will tell.  I am at a beginning place again as foreign as that sounds to my own ears but it is true.  Surely I have plenty of company. There are many people who “re-invent” themselves so I am told.  Hmph.  So what this really is, is an opportunity.  “Oh, it may not seem that way now Ms. Girlieontheedge, but I assure you, it is”.  Uh, sure…. 

Seeing as I have no guarantee that I will wake up in the morning on any given day, I feel the pull/push/tug/drag of a personal challenge.  A challenge to engage in a creative process.  To find out if there is anything left of the creative in my scrambled egglike brain.   I will not deny that I have a (former) propensity to “think too much” or “over analyze and dramatize”, to extrapolate situations until they are like taffy that has been pulled way too long.   Having said that, think I’ll head down to the boardwalk…

4 thoughts on “Can you stand on the edge of a circle?

  1. Great Post!
    Keep up the Good Work!
    You really got me thinking with this one!
    …so two businessmen are sitting in adjacent seats at the airline terminal waiting room. Both have identical black eyes. One turns to the other and says, “hey I couldnt’ help but notice you have black eye just like mine”. The other man replies, ” yeah, you’re right! How did you get yours?”
    “Well”, says the first man, “When I got here I went to pick up my ticket at the counter, (booked on-line, you know). I went up to the very attractive young lady at the counter and some how, guess it was a ‘slip of the tongue’ I said to her: “I’d like one picket to titsberg”.
    Bam! right in the face.
    Of course, I apologised, but no use. Black eye.”
    The second business man exclaimed, “Thats amazing! Nearly the exact same thing happened to me!
    I was at breafast with my wife this morning, and I meant to say, ‘please pass the jelly’ instead I said: “You fuckin bitch, you’ve ruined my life!”

  2. Glenn Miller

    Write more blog stuff. I like it. I’m starved for entertainment. btw, the above joke came courtesy of me. Clark always liked it. So, this guy brings his wife to the Emergency Room. After she gets examined , the doctor comes out and tells the man,”Your wife is very badly hurt. She’s going to need round the clock care for the rest of her life. She’s paralyzed. You’ll have to feed her, bathe her, and toilet her…for the rest of her life.” The man starts to cry. “My poor poor wife…oh no!” The doctor punches him in the arm and says, “I’m just fuckin’ with ya. She’s dead!”

Leave a Reply

