When the edges collide…

GirlieOnTheEdge’s tagline is “eclectic musings”.  How convenient for me this morning.  It is suggested by those “in the know” to visit as many blogs as possible to read, comment and otherwise gather ideas as to “how to write a better blog”.  The “how to” articles are many…. which is to say endless!  Personally, I find it enormously challenging to find the time to: 1) research how to write a blog; 2) design and customize this blog and finally 3) bandy about the internet leaving comments like Hansel and Gretel on their way to Grandma’s house.  The expectation is that others will follow me back here and do likewise.  Should I wake up tomorrow, I promise to try and do these things.  (“was that a good segue into my “topic”?)

Going on a week, maybe more, I have had threads of ideas for a Post.  Threads, for one reason or another, I could not quite put through the needle.  Oh, I had the fabric but those damn threads were so iridescent!  I was blinded.  It was back to the drawing board or so I thought.  When I awoke this morning it was once again having had the most vivid of dreams.  Not so vivid as to quite remember all the details but enough that their effect(s) still linger.  If I didn’t know better this may have been a simple case of dream vision.  But no–o–0, it wasn’t.  

Eternally the armchair psychologist, I have enjoyed dissecting the nocturnal ramblings of my friends and family.  Go ahead – give me a sample, a slice to slap on that slide.  I’ll put it under my microscope and, with or without a little background info, tell you what’s happening behind the scenes.  Safer than a lobotomy, I’d lean over, reach into the dreamer’s unconscious (or is that subconscious?) and pull out what invariably was agreed to be some pretty good analytical shit.  But there comes a time however, when it’s necessary to put my own “slice” under the microscope.  Can I be as objective about my own nighttime mind meanderings?  Yes, yes I can.  At least I think I can.  Discerning what my unconscious mind is trying to tell me will always be colored by my favorite Crayola.  I haven’t looked recently, and I could be wrong, but I don’t think my box contains a crayon called “nascent neutral”.

I think that’s all for now kids.  We will talk more in-depth about dreams next time.  Right now, grab some paper, some crayons, a little glitter and glue and show me what all it is you can do….. 

 

7 thoughts on “When the edges collide…

  1. Glenn Miller

    The Gestalt method of dream interpretation is one I use from time to time. The assumption is that every element in a dream is a projection of you, the dreamer. So, the method requires you to “speak” as each element of the dream. Give each element a voice and let it speak for “itself”–in fact you are speaking for YOUR self as each element is a projection of you. Speak as the trees in that jungle. Speak as the bridge over that river. Speak as the river–what does it have to say for itself? This “voicing” leads to enhanced interpretation and, hopefully, insight. And, ultimately, integration–the disparate parts of self become aware of each other and the whole is made more whole. It is an interesting exercise at least. Fritzy had some chops.

    Like

    1. Thank you for your comment.
      But I have to say “Huh”? Not making sense to me. Especially the concept of “voicing”…
      College psychology classes are a distant memory but little cloudlets of memory tell me (in simplistic terms) that Gestalt method(s) are based in the present – what is here, now at the moment. (scottian?) I think I’m more of the existential school, being a clark and all.

      Like

    2. You refer to using the Gestalt method (“from time to time”)in your professional life. Do you also use the Gestalt method on yourself? I imagine the more important question is do you consider dream analysis/interpretation any way helpful for your own self?

      Like

  2. AKH

    where in the world did you find that video? james brown and pavarotti? who knew?! it was excellent by the way (as of course was your post).
    as far as dream interpretation i use some of each way. i think it kind of depends on what kind of deam it was. to me it’s pretty incredible that we dream at all. think about it. to me it indicates that our minds are not anywhere near to being fully understood.

    Like

    1. Thank you. You would be surprised at the number “non-operatic” musicians Pavarotti has shared the stage and spotlight – Jon Bon Jovi, Mariah Carey, Queen. Interesting duets to say the least:)

      I agree with you. The mind is vast and seemingly unknowable. Completely.
      I have always marveled at those who do not dream, that is to say, who do not remember dreaming. Not that I would like to be that way.
      Seems to me that dream analysis can be a simple, inexpensive form of psycho-therapy (for those not severely impaired). It allows for a non-threatening way in which to address one’s behaviors, conflicts, aspirations etc. In some cultures dreams are revered.

      Like

  3. Glenn Miller

    How could we explain sleep to visiting aliens from another planet? “Every night we lie down on this soft platform, and we close our eyes..and we..stop doing things…except in a way we also start doing things..in another dimension..” Maybe aliens would understand it after all. I have used the Gestalt approach in both arenas. Bringing it into the here and now–exactly what voicing is. You don’t talk “about” your dream as a remote remembered experience, but you ACT OUT(give voice to) elements of your dream–now. Try it. Pick out the major objects or elements in the dream–and speak for them–out loud. Don’t speak about them. Speak AS them. A Getsalt therapist might help spur the process by asking something like, “So, Ocean, what are you doing in Denise’s dream? What purpose do you serve?” And you, as the ocean, answer the question–now. No rehearsal..no THINKING(I know you don’t like too much thinking).

    Like

    1. How do you know what the major elements really are? I’m sure they are often obvious but what if you have a patient whose dream is rather simple in format, in a familiar but not setting (you know what I mean…the dream takes place at your house but there is something different about it. The “sleep brain” knows both that it is the same and it is different. Any signficance to that?) Perhaps the “characters” in the dream are individuals who are known and the events taking place are somewhat ordinary, it would seem difficult to “ACT OUT” anything from that type of scenario.
      Have said all that mumblyjumbly, it is challenging to interpret one’s own dream. What may appear to an “objective observer” as the conflict may not necessarily be what I see as (the) conflict.
      Of course, it could just be a dream. The unconcious needs to unwind sometimes too….

      Like

Leave a Reply

