Beware the Ides of March and the edge of that blade…

And so, despite the many portents spread before me like an old and comforting  blanket I will go forth today on the Ides of March.  Does it matter that the date is ambiguous?  On the Roman calender it is simply the 15th day of the month.  Who knew there was an Ides of  May, July and October.  I certainly did not.  Thanks to William Shakespeare the date is synonymous with death, betrayal, guilt. (it’s also about friendship and loyalty).  Even those who have not read Mr. Shakepspeare’s work are familiar with the reference, familiar with the soothsayer/seer who warns Julius Ceasar to “beware the ides of March”.

How much of our perception of the world is influenced, yea, formed, by another’s words, by emotional contagion, popular thought, film, art, poetry, history?  What goes into the mixing bowl that produces our “perception” of everyday life?  Do we have control over it?  How can we separate the yolk of individuality from the white that is the collective?  According to the folks over at the Wakefield Doctrine  we all choose, very early in life (around 5 or 6) one of 3 ways to view the world.  We “choose” to view the world as either a clark, scott or roger.  But the question remains: how does one choose?

It makes sense that as a clark fear has a prominent place in my “world view”.  Therefore, it surprises me not that I favor the following quote.

     “Cowards die many times before their deaths; The valiant never taste of      death but once.
Of all the wonders that I yet have heard, it seems to me most strange that men should fear;
Seeing that death, a necessary end, will come when it will come”. – (Act II, Scene II)”

 

P.S.  I was a tad dismayed that it is next to impossible to find an Iron Maiden Ides of March vid to share.  Lo, I tire so and therefore shall take repose and listen yonder in my own abode to such music as will soothe my soul….today of all days.

  

5 thoughts on “Beware the Ides of March and the edge of that blade…

  1. Glenn Miller

    Nice writin’ “Emotional contagion”— I like that. The courageous do only taste death once. Unfortunately, they taste it sooner. Imagine there was a time when our government could pluck you from your life and MAKE you go fight a war. War is damned scary–and for a good reason. Everything logical and rational tells you that if people are shooting and dropping bombs somewhere, then that is an excellent place to stay away from. Combat veterans with “courage” came home in bags and wheelchairs. Scaredy-cat draft-dodgers like me? Still walking around. Fear serves a purpose. But, like all emotions, it can persist too long after it has served it’s purpose. It can exist out of proportion to whatever provokes it. It can be irrational–and even crippling. But, to live without it is to live for a rather short time. Fearing that which is truly detrimental and dangerous is just good sense. The trick is to differentiate between fear that promotes survival and fear that prevents growth. One is very good for us. The other–not so much. In order to fear for your life, one must value that life. Not such a bad thing…

    1. No, no it is not “such a bad thing” at all.
      What else do you have for me? Give me something else.
      (btw, yesterday was also commemoration of……? Think, Glenn. I gave you a hint at the very end. 🙂

  2. Glenn Miller

    “On dis, the day of my daughter’s wedding..” I don’t know. Here’s what else I have for you: The Japanese people are doing way better than us. I just saw some kind of film clip from over there. Every yard has seven cars and three boats in it. Gilbert Gottfried got fired by AFLAC for making a joke way less offensive than that. I think I like HIS kind of courage WAY more than the kind of courage people always talk about–courage in battle, facing a disease(like you have a fucking choice), or taking on a bully. Gilbert’s courage involves refusing to be anyone but who he is. Regardless of the consequences. Lenny Bruce had that for awhile. George Carlin had it always. Muhammed Ali refusing to be drafted took more courage than the “soldiers” who accepted the draft and went to combat. The courage to act as your own internal muse would have you act—even when there are consequences, is a courage I respect and admire. The “courage” to serve in an unjust war? Really? Is that courage?–or is it cowardice? Principle trumps courage in my book. Principle requires courage. Autonomy and integrity will be taken from the fearful. Guaranteed. Every time. The cost of maintaing it is lower than the cost of regaining it once lost….. or some kind of bullshit like that

    1. “On dis, the day of my daughter’s…birthday…”
      Um, you almost had me going. I don’t want your FaceBook Babble. I want more. Dig deeper. I know it’s in there.
      “The courage to act as your own internal muse would have you act—even when there are consequences, is a courage I respect and admire”. I am glad that you do as I feel the same way. Now come back with something I can really dig my teeth into.

  3. Glenn Miller

    You’re a hard woman to please…or is that ..a hard-to-please woman? Facebook Babble? You cut me to the quick–and I hate having my quick cut. I fear it. Anyway—your posts SEEM at times to be laments about feeling vulnerable or unsuited to handle volatile or stressful human interactions. Perhaps I misapprehend, but I don’t think so. My point is that you are absolutely well-suited to handle and master these situations–AS A CLARK. Be who you are. Follow your own “internal muse”. Clarks are different–the blue monkey thing. That, if you embrace it, is a strength. Great power in it. No need to try to be more scottian–or to long for responses and tools you do not possess. The ones you DO possess are time-tested and effective. Being who you are is courageous and noble. And admirable. Respect it. Show it proudly. Clarks are actually very powerful and uniquely adapted to live in multiple worlds at the same time. People who can do that need not fear anything in just this one world. Or some kind of bullshit like that. Happy toothsinking!

Leave a Reply

