“Edge”?! You didn’t say “Point”?!

So.  I thought I was on the edge of making a point last post.  Honest!  Thought I could verbalize what I thought was a simple concept:  change how you act in the world and the world changes.  Or some such thing.  There’s a post over at the Wakefield Doctrine with quick reference to laws of physics and other fun stuff (that’s not really what’s being referenced – but go there anyway and take a look around. )

Technology has brought us the world at a keystroke.  Amazing.  But it still presents some of us with the challenge of expressing thought(s), and idea(s) through words only.  There are no hand gestures, facial expressions or tone of voice to help the “reader” understand what is being “said”.  Writers, especially blog writers, often use music videos, film clips and the like to assist readers “translate”  what they are reading.  Yet the challenge remains.(that last bit really proves it!)  

Personally, I rely on “being in the mood” to write well.   Or what I find to be personally pleasing.  Deliberate attempts at writing is amazingly difficult.  Long gone are the days when I could dissect a sentence.  “Past participle?”  Ah… no.  “Modifying adjective?”  Really?!  “Tense agreement?”  Gee, sometimes…   And so I write now and then with the thought that if I do it enough perhaps I can do it better.  Practice makes perfect.  In most cases. 

I have a huge amount of respect for those who live within the world of words and who actually write well.  It is a subjective experience for certain and I for one am thankful there is an infinite amount of reading material “out there”.  Nothing brings me greater joy than being swept away to a place or time by doing nothing more than reading words on a piece of paper.  Which brings me to my point:  I miss libraries and bookstores.(yes, I know, they still exist but they’re not the same)

As a kid my mom would take me with her to the local library once a week.  It was local in the sense that it was one town over.  Not too far but far enough to be considered a little trip.  It was a cool building, very old, constructed of stone with big wooden doors.  There were archways reminiscent of Roman architecture and damn, was it quiet.  It was so quiet you could hear how quiet it was.  You could actually hear when someone removed a book from the shelf.  This was back in the day when librarians were required to be over the age of 65 and if not widowed then at least, what was called in the old days, be a “spinster”.  There were cards.  Library cards.  These cards slipped inside a little pocket that was glued to the inside front or back covers of the books.  These got “stamped”.  With a rotary date stamper.  Stamped on a pad of ink.  This was to tell you when to return the book.(heavy, scary fines for not doing so)  Get this – the Librarians were so adept at “stamping” you  never heard anyone checking out a book.

They were sweet, the Librarians.  Old lady smiles and buns of white, glasses so clean you could see your tiny reflection in their frames of authority.  The Overseers of knowledge….

8 thoughts on ““Edge”?! You didn’t say “Point”?!

  1. Glenn

    Nice writing. But that video. That was some kind of boring! I was sleepy 10 seconds into it. Then, I became suicidal 30 seconds in. My life was saved at 45 seconds when I became homicidal. I’m gonna miss the little woman though. But, I agree. What a happy circumstance to find oneself in possession of time to kill–and a good book. There are some things that make me happier than a beach day and a great novel–but not many. Browsing a bookstore: One of life’s little pleasures. There are going to be fewer of them soon. Kindle, and all that techno shit. Don’t you love the smell of an old book? Soon you may have to go to a museum to even see an old book. Right now, I’m reading Volume I of Mark Twain’s autobiography. It is very thick. All previously unpublished stuff by Twain. I’m a very happy reader now–and I will be for a while. Such a thick book.

    Like

    1. Maybe (boring video). But there’s no denying there used to be a “serious solemnity”, almost reverence (as music tries to suggest) going to libraries of old. And don’t get me started on the Kindle shit! I feel the same way about magazines. Poor magazines! It is a sad state that the population who relishes the touch and feel of books (and magazines!) is dwindling at a rapid rate. There is such an ambient component to “reading” books that simply cannot be obtained from holding or looking at a screen. Screens are for movies, right?!
      Happy reading, Glenn.

      Like

  2. Not boring at all. I was watching to see which one I would most want to hang out in. There are some really good ones in there. But the other side of the issue is the smell- if they could find a way to bottle that “old library” smell, then I would have another choice of cologne in addition to ” Eau de Dead Possum.”

    Like

    1. No. Not boring. Perhaps I should have been more clear in my previous response – “Maybe to some people”.
      I agree. It would be wonderful to visit all of them! Enter an old library and all of one’s senses can be affected.
      I particularly enjoyed the soundtrack. I don’t know… a little Dr. Zhivago, Bronte/Austen, a touch of Godfather even. What do you think?

      (btw, since libraries today carry all manner of newspapers and magazines, you can catch one of your favorites gracing the cover of the April issue of Vogue. Hint: in some circles she is known as “Ri Ri”. :):)

      Like

Leave a Reply

