Turquoise tube top, tattoos and the edge of oblivion….

Yeah, and throw in a few piercings while yer at it“.  I want to fit in don’t I?  See!  I, a female clark,* forever standing apart (never intentionally- honest) from those around me, can adorn myself in any manner of outrageous clothing, body art and piercings and finally “fit in”.  Hell, where I live I could work in an office environment with all of the aforementioned (less the tube top.)  It’s true!  I’ve seen it!  Example:  visit to a dermatologist’s office a year or so after moving here.  My first impression was “hm, a little different…”  The front desk women were coiffed rather “uniquely”; the female physician assistant had a smidgeon of pink in her hair, a nose ring and of course…a few tatoos.  See, no discrimination here!  And get this – the law firm at which I recently interviewed employs at least one woman with multiple earings (more than 4) and a visible tatoo on her wrist.  (I “connected” with her the most. Ya figure?)  In certain geographic locations one simply cannot discriminate on the basis of hair colors or body art (tattoos, piercings) or you significantly reduce your employee pool. 

The irony of living where I do is that I stand out not because of being a clark* but rather because I come from a very different place culturally.  Among Beltway folk I suppose I was a “flaming” clark as the old saying goes but not here.  The irony is that here, cultural assimilation hasn’t happened (thank God!) and I find myself standing apart more from the cultural difference(s) than from being a clark*.   But I can still spot ’em here (clarks).  It might be a little more difficult due to the proclivity for body adornment/alteration but I can still tell.  To change one’s frame of reference is not to say that “who” we are changes.  A clark* in Virginia is still a clark* in Florida, a scott* in Rhode Island is still a scott* in Idaho and a roger* in South Carolina is still a roger* in New Mexico.  Which brings up an interesting point.  If a clark* be difficult to spot in a land where cosmetically altered appearance is valued then does that make it more difficult to spot the scotts* and rogers* as well?  scotts are usually not overly difficult to spot.  The challenge would be in spotting the rogers*.  Hm.  Makes me wonder.  Is there a place where the “lines” are blurred such that one could not discriminate between….     “what? no! I want cadmium red for the dagger not poppy red, fool! and it better look lifelike”….

* All you need to know about clarks, scotts and rogers is found at the Wakefield Doctrine

4 thoughts on “Turquoise tube top, tattoos and the edge of oblivion….

  1. clarkscottroger

    remember that the theory of clarks, scotts and rogers is culture (and gender) neutral. And while your own personal outward expression of your (clarklike) nature may be more in the main stream in one sub-culture relative to another, it is still about being the outsider.
    clarks are the outsiders, a rogerian female might dress in a manner that in the context of the locale fashion standards to outwards appearance seems to be more clarklike than an actual clark, but that is strictly relative.
    It would simply never occur to a rogerian female to dress in a manner that marked her as ‘apart’ an ‘outsider’ or in any manner ‘different’, no matter how she ended up looking like, she wants to identify with the herd not be seen seen as separate from (the herd).

    Like

    1. Alright already! A clark is a clark is a clark!! But seriously, there is no getting around it. I agree with your statement.
      What I observe then in this culture of tattoos and body piercings (and I ain’t talkin little butterflies here and there) is a rogerian consensus that getting tattoed is the thing to do. I still cannot wrap my brains around the concept. I get it that some find it “art” and indeed I have viewed some extensive tattoos that may border on such but it still does not seem the sort of thing that “everyone is doing”.
      Very true. No rogerian female would be caught dead in clothing that had any inkling of being “weird” or goodness gracious “not in style”. They are all about fitting in. Fingernails decorated outrageously seems to be a bonding “agent” among females here. (Perhaps this is true everywhere.) The complimenting and sharing/inquiring of one’s nail salon is a fairly common occurance. Instant “sisterhood”.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Topsy, turvey, and tottering on the edge of fashun… | GirlieOnTheEdge's Blog

  3. Pingback: My time at the edge of the anti-universe – an informal interview. « GirlieOnTheEdge's Blog

Leave a Reply

