This Edge?

I sort of  had fun with that last post using the occaisonal cullinary jeu de mots but now, it’s time to get down to serious business.  It’s all about choice.  Right?  Have to choose everything and nowadays, what with the reign of 24/7 technological accessability driven lifestyle(s) only a click away, it is all the more daunting a task.   What will I do today?  One’s choices usually revolve around whether one is employed full time or part time, self employed or contract, is it a work day or day off? Point taken?

Damn pessimistic way to start a post isn’t it?  Whatever.  It’s not really my choice to sit here right now hoping that creative, thought inspiring, amusing, insightful, funny, poignant, endearing, maddening words start typing themselves.  Having said that, not long ago WordPress changed their dashboard and it’s functions a bit.  With no prior notice to yours truly mind you.  Anyway, now, (as many of you know) when I toggle full screen I am basically looking at my draft as it would appear “live” AND it gives me word count (damn! how very helpful).  Perhaps it did that before but I never noticed?

What does it take to “notice” things anymore.  Right?  What with everyone and their brother sporting heads at 90 degree angles texting about how they are texting or maybe that they are in the grocery store and gee, they had ice cream on sale and I bought some….think I need to go to the library and take out the 2006 movie Idiocracy again.  Only watched it once but it kinda hit home.  Been living it for as long as I can remember or for at least the last 8 years. 

*

*At least someone had sense to upload to youtube one of the funnier scenes in the movie.

4 thoughts on “This Edge?

  1. clarkscottroger

    …NORAD….ALERT>>> COLORADO SPRINGS…The CENTER for CONFUSION CONTROLS IS REPORTING A SIGHTING OF ….(one moment)…IT IS CONFIRMED!!! THEY HAVE SIGHTED A “POINT TO THIS THING”…..WE REPEAT….WE HAVE CONFIRMATION OF A POSSIBLE POINT…NO NEED FOR ALARM…HOWEVER READERS ARE URGED TO BE PREPARED TO TAKE ACTION IF THIS SIGHTING TURNS INTO AN ACTUAL “POINT”….

    Like

    1. Point taken sir. If you read the words as intended then you know that, of course, yours truly had no point whatsoever. Such is blog writing. No ideas, no words, after awhile you have to put something out there. Besides, I have plenty of time to develop a style/voice etc. STOP! No, I do not have time do I? Who the hell do I think I am? Someone special with a departure date already stamped and gee, not for decades hence? No sirree bob. (see how this works? just write shit, any shit that comes to mind. it’s what I seem to do lately)
      Hope to see you back again clarkscottroger and perhaps I shall have content more satisfying upon your return.

      Like

  2. well my dear i must be in the dark ages. no texting for me. not even a cell phone. am i getting old? kind of like nowdays kids have cell phones, i-phones, whatever and text at 100 MPH. am i missing out on something big? i think not.

    Like

Leave a Reply

