teetering on the edge – memos and a cup of jo

“I am not tethered
 nor am I bound
 to living, to walking
 existing without sound
 of happiness, contentment
 nor emotional excess
 it is with foresight
 and vision
 I will taste of success”
(GirlieOnTheEdge)

Not exactly early morning, am I really awake yet thoughts.  Damn!  When will my cowboy coffee be ready!?  In reality, I scribbled those words in haste while at work last week, standing behind a cash register in a grocery store in a small beach town in East Central FLA. (Cooler sounding than “small beach town on the east coast of Central Florida?)

Lately, I’ve been caught by fleeting feelings of the surreal.  “Cheer up sleepy Jean”.   Surreal.  Like I’m a character in a Clerk(s) like movie or Morgan Freeman’s  film, 10 Items or Less.  An odd little movie.  You know the sort.  You can’t stop watching because it’s like watching a reel from somebody’s life and you just have to see it to the end.  According to someone at an MSN movie site 10 Items or Less is about: 

“An aging Hollywood icon whose fear of failure has caused his once-luminous star to smoulder strikes up an unlikely friendship with an acid-tongued checkout clerk while researching his latest role… Crippled by his own all-consuming fears, the man who was once Hollywood’s hottest icon (Morgan Freeman) is forced to consider a role in a low-budget independent after a series of more lucrative prospects wither away on the vine. When his driver abandons him during a trip to Carson to research his upcoming role, the onetime showbiz supernova strikes up a lively conversation with Scarlet (Paz Vega), an outspoken check-out girl at a Latino community market…”
 
Huh….clarklike actor meets scottian check out girl….?
 
[“Whadya want.  It is Wednesday after all, eh? Catch ya next time ’round”]
 
 
7 thoughts on “teetering on the edge – memos and a cup of jo

  1. Love your beginning prose!
    Entertaining fun post.
    I like the Lou Reed song, but in my humble opinion you chose the right vid. Might just have to go rent it. Seems funny as hell.

  2. I dig that poem. I am not tethered or leashed either, especially to social norms and standards. It’s not like I live a life of anarchy and or chaos, it’s just that I listen to my heart, and the ol’ tick-tock machine knows right from wrong much better than the herd.

    I write poetry all day. Most of it in email, which would be hilarious if you really knew me, because I honestly can’t grasp the big deal about texting.

    My poetry/email gig started this past summer when I was in a hot and sexy poetry slam email exchange with a dear soul, one day. My thumbs got a work out as we tossed sonnets, nonets, and mirrored refrains back and forth at the speed of ether.

    Hey! It’s Humpday…

    1. Cool – appreciate the nod, Alex. Only the second set of such words I’ve put up within these “halls”.
      Good for you. More people need to listen to their hearts. More people ought to be thinking about the mortality train as well. It’s not like it has regular stops and a predictable schedule!
      Tell me why it would be hilarious, (you writing poetry). All day?! Damn, it’s all I can do to squeak some out now and again. Must have been muy caliente your poetry slam gig:) “Nonets”? Real word? Love that “speed of ether” too.

      It is humpday! Glad you stopped by. You’ll have to visit again!

Leave a Reply

