Chilification and (h)edgemony….and The Wakefield Doctrine

Hey!  Didja hear?  Ender’s Game the movie, based on the book of the same name, is due to be released on March 15, 2013.  The movie had better be damned good… this is the first time, at least that I am aware of at this moment, that a movie version of one of my favorite books (and book series) will be released on my birthday!  Yippee!

Alright, back to this blog thing.  I committed myself (no, no, no. not in the literal sense, lol) to writing a blog.  For some reason I have yet to confront, I find that I cannot simply stop writing/publishing GirlieOnTheEdge.  At least not yet.  One reason is, part in parcel (say these two words more than once and you wonder where did that union come from and what does it mean!) I feel it is a thing “not finished”.  Things “not finished” are a bane (and a half) to clarks everywhere.  Every single clark has this thing about starting something (new), whether it be a sewing or knitting project, a writing project, learning a musical instrument….catching my drift yet?

clarks have brains that do not stop collecting.  Ideas.  Busy brain clarks.  We start a million things in our heads, figure them out (sort of), quick run for the pen and pad (for the younger set, laptop, tablet or phone) and quick write everything down.  This can include outlines, topics,  a glossary (yeah a glossary, although I have never done that), projected or wished for completion dates, and yes, even lists of materials needed.  All sorts of neat shit is written down.  You know, for reference later on.
(hint: the future. clarks are of the future.  No dumb-ass, not like that. We clarks live more in the future of what we would like our life to be)  We are so afraid of forgetting all the neat things we want to do… projects, new hobbies, yet another goal type thing, etc that we totally while away….the now.  Here…. today.  I am forever reminding myself “what can I do right now, today of substance, that is different, yet complete”.  If I decide to start something then darn it! I am going to finish before starting on something else.  What?  We be the original ADD people?! LOL  
Show me a clark that is not presently trying to organize their life, trying to optimize their time in order to (insert your own personal 80 bajillion things that are like atoms inside the Large Hadron Collider  that are our heads) and I will show you….an evolved being?  A roger? A scott? A trilateral (or should that be trilinear), equally represented/balanced person known among the illuminati as a Bob Johnson?  

What?  You’d rather hear more about Ender’s Game?  I don’t want to say too much about it just in case some of you have not read the book.  Wouldn’t want to be a spoil sport.  But here’s a teaser:  think Dark Orbit (the online video game.)  As a matter of fact, an elite member of a specific alliance working on behalf of peace in Dark Orbit, is among my readers here at Girlie.  When he is not defending the good people of Earth, he resides in blogging space over at The Secessionist Rag.  (btw, the author of said blog is none other than the Progenitor roger of The Wakefield Doctrine.

Now there’s another clue for you right there.  The roger, virtually participating in the defense of our world (and other worlds that should be ours) together with like minded individuals (other rogers) via an online game played by thousands of people across the globe.  What an excellent example of what rogers are all about! 

“It’s getting pretty tough coming up with new” …..

6 thoughts on “Chilification and (h)edgemony….and The Wakefield Doctrine

  1. sure, but how else will you know that you are real in the world if you do not prepare ahead of time… other characteristics of clarks include believing that they have totally covered all possible outcomes and options to a (given) situation and when speaking, especially about complex topics. the use of sentence fragments are often
    used adding in every possible variation to the thought that forms the center of the topic of conversation ( say when, I can keep this up longer than you can) in the belief that all knowledge is valuable and no matter how far flung the connection might be (between topic and inferences) there is nothing too abstruse that a parentheses can’t take care of…

    1. Spoken as the Progenitor (clark) that you are. We clarks try to anticipate all possible outcomes to our or others’ actions. I have come to realize that this is not overly productive. lol A line has to be drawn as to when speculation stops and simple action begins. One of your favorite lines is “power is a verb”. Taken simplistically, true. Being a clark however, I tend to infuse these simple words with wa-ay more.
      I find that communicating as a clark via this medium, via writing is indeed most challenging. When talking to someone face to face or on the phone, there are options available that enable a smoother “flow”. Sometimes.

      “( say when, I can keep this up longer than you can)” This reminds me of a moment in time….2nd year of college, living in Browning Hall, no roommate. For a time, when I would return Sunday evenings to the dorm after being home for the weekend, I would have Sunday chats with a guy down and around the hall from me. Often we would take turns as to whose room we would use. (nothing of a physical or romantic nature going on. he had a girlfriend) He would usually provide the, how shall I say light, yet mind altering substance, that often, but not always precede our conversations. H-o-l-y S-h-i-t….2 clarks taking conversation, ideas, etc to places no man has gone before. LOL
      It is a challenge as a clark to speak in everyday terms and a challenge to understand everyday terms….I know you get that:)

  2. “Clarks are of the future.” I love that! There is nothing more reassuring than knowing there is a whole group of people, who try as they might, are always dreaming. Sure, my feet are solidly on the ground, living in the here and now, but my mind… dreaming! 🙂

    1. Aha! I love feedback that puts the positive on what I present as a “negative”!
      It is true Molly, without dreams what are we?! clarks are the ones to dream the impossible because they/we can believe, they/we dare for someone to prove it (whatever “it” may be)cannot be done.
      But tell me honestly….how many books on the “Books I want to read List” have you read to date? 😀
      As long as we are talking a little Doctrine here, how do you prioritize? Obviously one’s familial circumstance has something to do with that. For example: a clark with children v. a clark without children will have a different set of priorities. Children first. This is agreed. However, it is in the nature (and therefore the challenge) of clarks to put others before self. [INSERT SOUND OF SCREECHING BRAKES] Maybe this conversation is better placed over there 🙂

      1. While this conversation may be better over there… I have read all of the books on my list that I have managed to get my hands on, and continue looking for others… knowing I only want to own those I really like. The part where I fail is that I know most of these books are available online, but there is something I don’t like about the idea of reading a novel online.

        As to the Doctrine, I tend to make a decision, close my eyes and go for it. If I think too much, I get stuck. lol

        1. Excellent! I rarely consider the “reading a book online”. Guess that confirms my status among “old folk”. LOL But computers do allow for instant access to reading material. I agree with you that there is absolutely nothing better than reading a book while holding it. Can’t curl up with a laptop or tablet or desktop!

          Yeah, thinking too much does tend to mire we like people:)

Leave a Reply

