There’s no L-edge-islation pending here…for profiling

It’s raining.  Has been for days.  Tropical storm Debbie (or is that Debby? whatever) is deciding what direction to travel.  In the meantime, there are torrential night rains, tornado warnings and dismal, not sunny days.  Not entirely unexpected this time of year in Florida.  Oops!  Did I reveal something I shouldn’t have?  Will this little geographical factoid be noted by someone, somewhere.  In my profile? LOL

As I struggled yesterday to finish a post that, frankly, suffered from a lack of inspiration and creativity, I found myself thinking about how everywhere (“really? everywhere?”)  you visit on the computer they want you to set up an account.  Somwhere on that account’s setup page there is a section entitled “Profile”.   This is the place where the powers that be want you to tell/describe to everyone (in the entire world) all manner of things about yourself.  I have several thoughts on this topic. 

What first came to mind was the instant recognition and acknowledgement about one of the basics about yours truly.  How and why this happened has everything to do with cereal.  I came home from work yesterday a little after 4.  No one was home.  The first thing I did was to feed Zoey, our black Labrador.  (Her stomach clock knows exactly what time it is)  That done, I suddenly remembered I had purchased a box of cereal the other day.  Raisin Bran to be exact.  No substitutes either.  Kellog’s Raisin Bran.  With “2 scoops of raisins in every box”.

Here’s the kicker.  I had forgotten I bought this box!  Me!!  Cereal Queen for many decades forgot the purchase of this 25.5 oz box of culinary delight.  Unbelievable, but you see, it has been over a year since I bought dry cereal.  I had gotten on a kick of  preparing and eating oatmeal (the real stuff. not instant) every morning.  Preferably with sliced banana (blueberries if in season), a heavy dash of cinnamon and a little wheat germ sprinkled for the extra B kick.

Anyway, as I reached into the cupboard for a mug it hit me.  I could now participate in sharing  profile(s)  for any one of my internet “accounts” – this blog for starters, the FB, etc).  I can begin with the fact that I have always loved cereal.  But more than that, I can share the manner in which I eat it – only (if not straight out of the box and that depends on the kind of cereal) out of a cup or mug.  Absolutely no bowls.  And the spoon must be the larger kind.  In ancient days it may have been described as the “soup” spoon.  The bigger one, the tablespoon.  No small teaspoons.  I mean, what’s the point.  Many of you will recognize the instant advantage to the mug over the bowl.  Yes, the bottomless cup of cereal!  (heads up.  the mug thing also applies to ice cream.  I have not had a “bowl” of ice cream in decades)

This tiny bit of introspection and acknowledgement got me to thinking in terms of retrospect.  Damn if I wasn’t looking back on my life and thinking this wasn’t such a bad idea. (geez, a clark dwelling on the past? never! clarks are of the future man.  the future. lol)  Girlie under the microscope.  I can handle it.  Certainly, it hasn’t been a bad thing revealing my views on the proper way to eat cereal, right? 

I am not saying Profile and About pages are bad or unnecessary but can’t you tell what a person is like simply by how they write and by the topics they write about?  Style and topic.  For example, if you are familiar with the Wakefield Doctrine then you have the ability to know an awful lot about a person simply by reading what they write and how they write (as a reflection of how they view the world).   Some of our most enjoyable writers are rogers.  They have that easy going, go with the flow way of putting words together.  But what else can you tell about a person simply by what is contained in their profile?  Many people  embelish their profiles, heck, maybe even “create”  special ones just for people who have never met them and most likely never will.  “What does it matter” is the rationalization. 

Perhaps the constant prompting for writing a profile is a simple tool for us to self-evaluate and take stock of where we’ve been, where we should be and where we want to be. I’m thinking it’s time to write an honest profile.  This will entail deep thought, courage, and I’m afraid many, many more boxes of cereal.

5 thoughts on “There’s no L-edge-islation pending here…for profiling

  1. clarkscottroger

    The inspired element underfounding the Wakefield Doctrine is that it does not attempt to tell you about the particulars of a person, at least not in a specific-to-this-one-of-6-billion-persons. And…it does not attempt to describe likes/dislikes, urges and impulses of the person sitting next to you at work/lying next to you in bed/waiting behind you in school lunch line.
    Rather, the Wakefield Doctrine maintains that if you read a writer who is using smoothly-rounded phrases and innocous little kitchen-cupboard words then there is a good chance you have a roger on the ‘other side of the page’

    And what good does that do you? A lot, a lot of good because you know how this person relates themselves to the world (and more importantly) you know the nature of that world…hell, the actuality, that this roger is relating to… and if you happen upon this person and see that he is a she and has a wife and is from the Outer Seychelles Islands….you still know all about him… more than you ought to know…’cause if you know about life in the OSI, then you can fill in the specific details…because he is a roger you know that he places a value on the Concept of Family and lineage and that he looks to without for the moral authority to impose his Will and you will know that in (his) reality, everything is quantifiable

    Not bad for a viewpoint named after a small New England coastal town.

    Like

    1. No, not bad at all! In fact, it makes perfect sense.
      Allow me to introduce to new readers the full name of this “viewpoint”: the Wakefield Doctrine, the theory of clarks, scotts and rogers (www.wakefielddoctine.com). Long, yet chock full of goodness.
      The premise is sounds, simple and frankly amazing. (it can also provide a heck of
      a lot of fun as well. lol) To know the kind of world a person experiences – how they
      view other people (challenge, threat, outsider); how they look at history (mandatory reading, passing interest, irrelevant to the present) and their own selves in relation to home, job, friends (leader, part of the collective, individual.
      In future days, if I am lucky to have them, my self challenge will be to relate to
      others the advantages of knowing the Wakefield Doctrine in simple, easy
      to use/understandable terms that can be discussed with anyone….over a nice mug of cereal.

      Like

  2. Why did “they” even make teaspoons?

    And the profiles? I think have one or maybe 2, 3 tops of the sites I’m linked to. And those profiles are not about me personally but rather they refer to my interest in personality types and human behavior explained by just one theory. The Wakefield Doctrine of course! Other than that I don’t find it necessary. Who cares where I live or what I do for a living. Frankly, it’s none of their business.

    “Style and topic.” If they don’t get it from there oh well…. You got it Girlie!

    Like

  3. There is consensus between clarks and scotts because scotts don’t see clarks as either a threat nor prey. Like wise, nor do clarks feel threatened by scotts. There is an affinity between the two. rogers, on the other hand, live in a herd-like mentality. To them, clarks and scotts are outsiders.

    rogers live to be with those who they perceive to be like themselves. They also accept the existence of others (non-herd members), but do not concern themselves with any of the ideas or notions held by outsiders.**from the Wakefield Doctrine about rogers page.
    http://wakefielddoctrine.com/rogers/

    Like

Leave a Reply

