Floating at the Edge of consciousness..

Man, this is slipping away fast.  Woke up again today.  Thank goodness (I think LOL).  As usual, I meandered into the kitchen to let Zoey out.  I don’t have to wait too long before she reappears at the door, face smiling, feet dancing.  She’s very excited to come back in because typically breakfast is then served up all crunch and crunchy.  But not today.  I decided to go back to bed.  With little protestation, she followed suit.  No, not the normal routine this morning.  Most days, once I get up and make the trek to the kitchen (to let Zo out), I am sufficiently awake to:  feed her; put my coffee on; flip the switch to light the kettle for the SO’s instant, crystalized, they use this stuff in space, morning beverage and turn on the way back machine.  6 a.m.  is a respectable time to start the day, right?

Alright, so I’m back in bed with the full realization that I am not going to slip back into one of those delicious, comfy-cozee slumbers.  No, not me.  Not nowadays.  But I persist in keeping my eyes closed, scrunching up sidesways with the pillows and manage to achieve “half sleep”.  It wasn’t awful but it wasn’t restful.  But that wasn’t the point.  I can see that now.  

The concept of “half sleep” is solid.  There are great benefits and rewards possible if you do it right.  Not fully conscious yet not fully asleep.  An in-between place where anything can happen – where, if one is so inclined, one can try that old standby dream control.  In olden times I would relish this opportunity as a portal to potential creativity.  Today however, it served simply, literally, to deliver a message to my brain that has been screaming at the back door to get in for quite some time now.  I am thinking it was there on the second step of quasi sleep as a result of something I read over on the book of faces.  It was a quote attributed to Mr. Albert Einstein that begins:  “The intellect has little to do on the road to discovery…”.  I look no gift horse in the mouth. (note to self:  look up origin of phrase “gift horse in the mouth”).

Meanwhile…the ticker tape in my brain slowly read: “there are only 2 choices, here and there”.  I write this now, attempting to translate this morning’s semi-somnamubulistic events with an “awake” brain.  A brain already polluted by external stimuli.  As oft stated within these pages, I believe in the body, the physical body, being the first to know….anything.  The body then relays signals to the brain and after that?  Ah, then we get to the machinations of the mind.      

 So what was my body really trying to tell me today while I was on the edge of consciousness?  I can honestly say I was caught unawares and thank goodness for it. I can see now, in a hazy, turn the heat down retrospect, that there was much revelation going on inside my cranium.  6:30 a.m. arrived and dropped me at the back porch of my brain where I sat on the second step struggling to remember and memorize the important, salient points that were streaming only 30 minutes previous at the Edge of consciousness.

4 thoughts on “Floating at the Edge of consciousness..

  1. The body will win every time (as I sit here with my routine cup of tea waiting for my brain to kick in.) How do I know? Because it took me longer than it should have to read today’s post and comment. Good point. Never thought* about it. Ah, there they go. The pistons are beginning to fire.

    *the product of mental activity

    Like

    1. A healthy reminder…the body should “win” out more often than it does for many of us. Unfortunately, there are moments when our brain gets in the way, allowing emotion to cast a haze on what otherwise is being shown to us.
      Happy to hear your pistons are up and firing:)

      Like

Leave a Reply

