No Edge-ucated guess here…Recycle!

I bought my black Doc Marten boots in the summer of 1995.  At a shop in Picadilly Circle, London, England.  Yup.  Nothing like going right to the source. Damn, it felt good.  Right there amidst such historical austerity and… London punkness.  The Docs are still alive and somewhat kicking although a bit ripped in the usual crease spots.  But the soles are still intact.  In fact, the soles of my Doc Martens are in great shape.  Some say the sole is the first to go but in my case, not so!  The material is made of some sort industrial kinda rubber.

What’s up with this post?”  Well, first thing: this was written last Saturday (snap! now I have to change the tense since it is no longer present tense. or is it? can it? yeah, maybe I should. lol)….  Whatever….. I was having a good  time playing bass to Cheap Trick ( “I Want you to Want Me” and “Surrender”) Simple, upbeat fun.  So I’m packing it up as I have to ready myself to be a librarien-ette from hell disguised as your normal, “nice”, friendly, smiling clark, when I decide to wear my  Wakefield Doctrine t-shirt .  The first ever Wakefield Doctrine shirt (a future collector’s item) is black with white lettering.  I then found myself with a rather strong desire to wear an all black ensemble. 

So what if it’s summer in Florida and only the insane wear black.  I, for however briefly, imagined walking into the library wearing black jeans, black Wakefield Doctrine shirt and….my beautiful, black Doc Marten “combat” (as some refer to them) boots.  Don’t be alarmed.  Being older, the accessories will be maturely clarklike in nature.  Tasteful.  Although, once a clark always a clark. 

Yo!  This is the segue!  Since we are all about recycling and re-using and otherwise conserving all manner of things, let me utilize part of a draft that’s been drifting rather dreamlike in pre-postal limbo.  Did I not, in an earlier post, pose the question “Renewable” or “Sustainable”?  In the spirit of finding uses for the otherwise old, uninteresting, not working, out of place but somewhere there’s a home for me yet ….

Behold Johnette Napolitano of Concrete Blonde.  “Once a clark, always a clark“.   The band’s notariety (commercially successful) was never close to what it should have been.  At least I can’t recall them being wildly popular in my neck of the woods at the time.  But then I wasn’t a huge fan.  Liked ’em enough to know that they were good.  Running across Johnette, seemingly randomly on the Tube like I did, was a pleasant thing.  There, hovering in the cyberspace of You Tube was a musical remnant from a particular timeline so very long ago.  Genius invention, the Tube.  Truly a mnemonic device!  (yes, I said “mnemonic”.  no, I tell you it does!)

I love Johnette’s voice.  There’s a mocha latte richness to it.  Deliciously smooth.  You can  feel her singing.  I know I’m gonna get crap for saying this but….she has tremendous stage presence.  No, really.  I mean it.  I know it’s a bit of an oxymoron talking about presence when referring to a clark.  Watch her perform. You can see she is not quite of this world.  She is in the place where the art is.  

I’ve never posted a “then and now” video but I’m sure I had a point last week when this part of today’s post was being written.  You know how recycling is.  The original is sometimes utilized in a way different from it’s original purpose but used just the same.  If you’re lucky you get a brand new improved old thing.  No promises but what have you got to lose?  Here’s to recycling!            

9 thoughts on “No Edge-ucated guess here…Recycle!

    1. Yes, a pretty good example:) But how many other people out there can/would identify Johnette as a clarklike female? More than that, how many individuals know and appreciate the value in being aware of how a person relates to the world? And by relating to the world I refer of course to the Wakefield Doctrine. What greater advantage on (in?) the landscape of personal/impersonal/virtual interface(ing) can one have?!

      I suppose I should assume you are stating your preference to the youthful rendition of “Joey” by the younger Johnette?:)

      And this should broach the topic of: “what happens when a clark gets old? (do we really want to know?)”

      Like

    1. Warning! To readers who are offended by “bad” language, do not, I repeat do not hit “Play”. To readers offended by racial slur type language, again, do not hit “Play”.

      For the rest of us though, let’s enjoy a clip from one of my all time favorite movies and one of my all time favorite actors. Pulp Fiction and the ever likable Samuel L. Jackson.

      Here’s to finding my Mr. Wolf. LOL

      Like

Leave a Reply

