Timelines and phone calls…all part of the Edge

Over the weekend, I had an opportunity to talk to an old friend for a short time on the phone.  Seconds really in the scheme of things.  The miles are very many between us and yet….it was like the time travel stuff in Stephen King’s 2011 novel 11/22/63 when, no matter how long the character spends in 1958,  in present time he’s only gone for 2 minutes.  It was kinda like that.

We talked for about 10 minutes, and yet it might as well have been 10 seconds.  It’s rare but some friendships are like that.  They withstand time, place and events.  A most wonderful gift.  As I was driving home from work last night around 7:30, hoping to catch the end of the New England / Houston game, I happened to look up into the sky.  The moon, suspended like a slate grey Necco wafer, it’s lower circumference a sliver of a white smile, reminded me that “distance” was all in the mind.

It’s good to have reminders of where you “are in life”.  If it’s a good place then it’s important to treasure and nurture all that supports that life, including old friendships.  If the place you find yourself is not where you should be or want to be, then it’s time to “take a stand” (veiled reference to my old friend Don Juan).  Time travel, in this case, is not a practical solution. LOL

For whatever reason, I’ve dubbed today “Take a Stand Tuesday”.  I may not make it to the Edge today, maybe I will.  No, no plans to return to 1958 like Mr. King’s character.  But if I only stand 2 minutes in the place I ought to, that’s OK.  2 minutes in the right place can mean a lifetime somewhere else.

[Last minute pre-publication postscript:  No, this is not a play on the theme of today’s post. I promise!  When I sat down this morning to write this post it really was Tuesday for me.  It felt like Tuesday.  My body convinced my mind that today was, in fact, Tuesday.  So how is it that I found myself one day in the future (if only in my own mind) while the rest of the world was/is here today, Monday?  Could it really be Tuesday and this is my chance to re-write my Monday?  Hm…..better make it count]   

4 thoughts on “Timelines and phone calls…all part of the Edge

    1. I’m glad of that Rambling Amazon:)
      The old sweatpants is a great analogy! Like you, my friends are also very far away. It’s a great feeling to talk to one of them on the phone and have it be as if we’d only been talking last week instead of last year.
      Thanks for sharing:)

    1. That’s fantastic! And I totally agree.
      I thought for sure I would keep a couple from high school but it seems the best I could do was keep one from my college days. LOL
      Thank you for stopping by flemily:)

Leave a Reply

