Bookmarks are not yet obsolete…at the Edge

WEBSTER’S Ninth New Collegiate Dictionary:

“bookmark” – a marker for finding a place in a book”

I’m not a child of the “new age”.  I haven’t been raised on Nooks and Kindles and such so the concept of “marking a book” is still valid.  What do folks do when reading the Kindle? Is there some sort of electronic device to remind you where you are the next time you flip the “On” switch? 

No, this post isn’t about the wonders of holding a book and turning pages that may in fact be a century old.  It’s not about the wonders and virtues of libraries and bookstores soon to be bookmarks themselves in history.  It’s about the intention of bookmarks.  And the fact that we bookmark all the time whether we are conscious of it or not.   

Special events, and not so special events in our lives get bookmarked in our memories.  Held in place, suspended in time, until we walk to our brain bookshelf, pull down any number of tomes, flip the pages and…  And what?  Skip to the good parts?  Linger on the happy times?  Analyze puzzling choices?  What’s that ubiquitous phrase “history is destined to repeat itself”? 

Nothing wrong with history repeating itself.  The good stuff though. LOL  But it’s just as important to bookmark the bad stuff.  Not to dwell, not to self recriminate but to hold up as a method of healthy reminder.  Life is short.  We  are co-authors only.  I hear you …”bookmark the bad stuff?!”  I know, I know!  I’ve always been a proponent of leaving the past in the past.  In fact, as a clark, I am always looking to the future.  Not always a good thing either – always looking to the future.  

So I’ve decided to bookmark today.  If I get to the end of the chapter it will be a good thing.  If I start another chapter tomorrow, why, I’ll bookmark that one too.  Afterall, bookmarks are not yet obsolete… at the Edge.

4 thoughts on “Bookmarks are not yet obsolete…at the Edge

  1. Excellent post! Fantastic allegory. Having read this, while I’m doing things today I’ll be thinking all day “on to the next chapter.” Hopefully it will be a good productive day that’ll be bookmarked tonight as I slip into the interim.

  2. Clarks? Look to the future? OMG – I have to CONSTANTLY remind myself to live in the present moment. In fact, I have to meditate so that I don’t forget. Hehe. Wonderful calling in to the WD last evening and enjoyed your post here!

    1. 🙂 We like people can see any number of potential timelines…sometimes simultaneiously. LOL
      Meditation sounds like an excellent idea to quiet the brain and focus on what’s right in front of it!
      I’m very glad you called in. I love hearing other people’s experiences using the Doctrine. It’s all a learning experience and goodness knows clarks like learning new things:D
      Thanks for stopping in today Cyndi and I’m glad you enjoyed the post. Hope you’ll come back!

Leave a Reply

