A table and some tea cups…comfort at the Edge

…didja ever read a post, while the words fell on the page, didja ever have a time, when the music was just right, didja ever want to go to a past the way it was, didja ever think that then coulda been all that it was…. 

I don’t know.  Just feel like listening to this song.  While I write.   Heard it recently in a movie. Can’t seem to remember the movie…. 

Finally saw the Rolling Stones in 1995 on their Bridges to Babylon tour.  Some fine songs on that CD. Voodoo Lounge tour/CD? Can’t really say except that I like this song.  Funny thing about the Stones.  Never a big fan, I had two chances to see them, once back in the ’80’s (I declined) and once in ’93. (couldn’t get time off at my new job)

The song?  Listening beyond the dark overtones, the melody is -simple.  Sweet.  Melodic.  Memories can be like that…didja ever hear the past…(go ahead. hum those opening notes  lol) 

Today’s title?  Sometimes the most simple of objects can project the past as if it were the screen at a drive in movie.  OK, so this Girlie’s gone all mystic, or is that misty, today.  Maybe it’s ‘cuz I finally finished the Stephen King book I was telling you about a coupla posts back.  Time travel.  The write up on the book jacket refers to 11/22/63 as being about – time travel. 

Except it didn’t really touch on any of the expected paradoxes implicit in time travel.  Much to my disappointment.  I don’t know.  Guess I wanted a little more meat on the bone that was this….. love story.  In the end that is what it was.  A love story.  Not a time travel story.  Duh me.  And I call myself a romantic! (If I want time travel, I’d better reach for some old timey sci-fi books residing on my bookshelves)

Rejoice, regret, lament.  Laugh, cry, scream.  Happiness and joy, sadness and loss walk hand in hand in hand.  Throughout each potential timeline that was, that might have  been, that might still be somewhere, that is.  It all survives and sits like a teacup on a table.  …. excuse me, would you pass me the creamer? 

 

2 thoughts on “A table and some tea cups…comfort at the Edge

  1. Hehe, I read this last night, then called into the Doctrine and didn’t get a chance to comment here. So now I’m back! And your post reminded me how it’s so wonderful to find some soul-moving music that just SPEAKS to your mood and inspires you. 😀

    1. Glad you came back Cyndi:) and glad you called into the Doctrine last night. It was fun and informative. Unlike you, I don’t associate with many clarks. I think I take for granted how great it can be to able to talk with another of my kind. LOL
      Music is everything to me. It enhances, it elaborates, it expresses for me that which sometimes can’t be put into words. Sometimes it is simply the soundtrack for a feeling/mood.

Leave a Reply

