Edge rule #5: if you can eat it with a spoon, it’s all good

Girlie and Cake….”what? fork? but I like the spoon”…. Who would convince this little girl of a clark that most people eat cake with a fork?  Did anyone try?  Doesn’t matter.  The main point is:  you can have cake and eat it too.  Yes.  Yes you can.  This child believed it.  Still does.

I had a job interview yesterday.  It’s been a long time since I’ve interviewed anywhere.  Man, I hate them.  Interviews.  Always come out of ’em thinking how much I sucked!  “….I said what?!!… there goes that job down the toilet…”  As most of you do not know, I spend Saturdays as a volunteer at my local library.  A job working at a library makes perfect sense for a clark, no?  A building filled with books and knowledge….and information.

Arrived early but not too early.  I was informed I would be interviewed by 3 people.  At the appointed time, the 4 of us proceeded to walk down the hallway to a small conference room adjacent to one of the auditoriums.  After sitting down at a table that pretty much took up the entire length of the room, we were ready to begin.  Across from me sat, from left to right, a clark, a roger and a scott.  Thanks to the Wakefield Doctrine, I knew a lot more about them than they would ever imagine.  Worldview of a clark? Check.  Worldview of a roger?  Check.  Worldview of  a scott?  Check-a-mundo. 

So this should be a slam dunk of an interview on my part right?  If I know how a person relates to the world then I will know how to interact with them in order to achieve (my) optimum results.  As it turned out, it was more of a challenge than I thought it would be.  I wasn’t dealing with one personality type, I was dealing with all three simultaneously!  Each took their turn asking the questions.  You try answering a clark, then a scott and then a roger, then the scott again, then the clark, then... LOL

Only after what seemed like an excruciating (hopefully only to me), question and answer exchange and after demonstrating my ability to alphabetize books (except I damn rushed, thinking shit, I bet they want to see how fast I can do this, better impress them but then worried afterwards I had made mistakes) did I start to wonder: what are my odds of getting this job really?

I recognized when I connected with the clark and was cognitive of why.  I asked the roger what his position was and what his duties were.  He told me I could think of him as “second in command”.  I accepted the scott’s offer to walk me through a tour of the library.  There were 700 applicants.  12 were selected for interview.  They would make their decision as to who would be hired by week’s end.  For those of you familiar with the Doctrine I pose these questions: 

1)  who of the 3 (clark, scott or roger) will “carry” the final decision? 
2) who will most likely get the job:  a clark, a scott or a roger?  why?

Will there be cake for yours truly this weekend?  I figure at worst my chances are 1 in 12 that I will be their chosen candidate.  In the end, whatever the outcome, I’ve got a spoon ready…

8 thoughts on “Edge rule #5: if you can eat it with a spoon, it’s all good

  1. clarkscottroger

    with the three to decide, the most likely choice will be the roger (candidate).
    As to who is dominant in the three deciders, unfortunately we need to know more about the three (specifically how long each has been at their respective jobs). Paradoxically if they have all been there a long time, then the decision will be with the clark, either of the ‘non-clarks’ relatively new, then it will fall to the newest (of the two) (for different reasons). If the scott is newest, the decision will go to the roger, if the roger is newest, the decision will be split between the clark and the scott.

    …thats how it began

    1. Under the circumstances I tend to agree.
      While I connected with the clark and since I already knew the scott (on Saturdays, when I volunteer), it was apparent the roger was my challenge. Although I had heard his name spoken (often) I had never met or seen him in the library prior to yesterday.
      It’s difficult to describe….looking at him, right in the eye…I didn’t leave the interview with an overwhelming sense I had “won over” the roger.

  2. I could be totally wrong here but I’m thinking the “scott” will carry the final decision because they like to manipulate and control their world. If you connected with the clark and scott on some level, I feel like they might convince the roger that you’re a perfect candidate. I THINK you will be having your cake and eating it, too. Libraries are havens for clarks. Yeah, I worked in a bookstore and they know me by name at the library. I can relate. 😉

    1. I hope you are right Cyndi but my gut feeling is if the roger did not get a sense that I would “fit in”, it’s going to be a challenge for the scott to have the final say. I knew going into the interview I had the scott on my side since I’ve been working with her for almost a year. The clark…well we both know we support each other in pretty much most causes. lol The wild card, as often is, is the roger. Again with the rogers!
      I’m hoping my response to his question about how I work in a team environment will give me the edge – no pun intended:)
      I have applied to bookstores in the past but never worked in one. It must have been most excellent.
      Thanks for your support. I hope to be tasting frosting by tomorrow afternoon:)

  3. Well isn’t that just the cutest thing ever? Obviously a child in high standing, to have been left with a china cup within easy reach. I’ll safely presume that Clark had already broken one, had been sent to his room, and was plotting mayhem for Casper…

    1. Your eyes are better than mine! I glanced and saw a paper cup. But you might be right. LOL
      Could that have been when my appreciation for the finer things began?…..
      Clark? He would have tried to glue it back together so that on one noticed, he would have enjoyed being alone in his room and the Casper type “mayhem”?… who knows where all that stuff came from!! Imagine the innocent child in this picture being subjected to psychological torture! Appalling I tell you. Appalling. LOLOL

Leave a Reply

