Color me R-edge, baby

“Don’t underestimate the things that I will do
 There’s a fire starting in my heart
 Reaching a fever pitch and it’s bring me out the dark”

 As some of you know, I volunteer at my local library once a week (go me!).  A couple of weeks ago I switched to Mondays 4-7 pm as the new “checker inner”.  I still work the desk if needed and even do a bit of shelving (hot damn!).  In my new position, I get absolute first dibbs on returned books, movies and music first so-o-o if there’s anything that catches my eye, it gets put on my card baby. (too bad suckers!).  Last Monday night Adele’s “21” went into my pile.

When you wake up in the morning and know that the world (your world) needs to change, what do you do? (what? that thought never occurs to you?!)  When you decide to intentionally fuck with mess with energy levels (you wanted to hang out with me today, get over it!) what do you do?  Exactly!  Go for the music.  Me, I’ll reach for Metallica or Michael (Schenker), perhaps some old school Maiden, a little Robben (Ford), a smidge of SRV a bit of Beethoven or Buddy… sometimes some seasonal Vivaldi.  Music is the go to, fix all remedy for pretty much everything.  

Early last Tuesday morning – typical routine.  Run, then back in the house for sweaty, weight laden exercise.  Needed to be at work by 9 and it was after 8.  Instinctive light bulb on.  First up:  Rolling in the Deep.  If you know this song, you know it’s percussive and bass driven.  Damn fine song.  Lucky for me I have an old Marantz 2230 receiver.  It’s got the ability to mix and match a shitload of attitude.  So thanks to my magic Marantz, in seconds the very fabric of my world began to shimmer.     

Music has the power to increase, shape and alter personal energy.  Alter the energy and you increase the odds of opening the door to a different day.   

4 thoughts on “Color me R-edge, baby

  1. All those songs and artists you listed? Yeah, I listen to those, too. Though these days I enjoy silence, too…there’s something about it that has been so comforting lately. Anyways, yes…that is a VERY good reason to volunteer at the library. I might volunteer and teach some Spanish classes to kids…but I might wait until I’m not doing so much teaching. LOL.
    Good stuff!

    1. Musical archives are important resources. Forever growing. Infinite mood enhancement at one’s fingertips.
      Silence is a most awesome state and one in which I do not indulge in enough. I had much more of it in my younger, single days:)
      Ah, the library. I did it mostly to do something different. To alter my routine. To amend, alter and other wise enhance that which was. And maybe get a job there. LOL
      There is a nice return on the volunteer thing. Teaching Spanish classes to kids sound like it would be quite fun.
      Thank you Cyndi!

  2. Nice piece of vintage audio there, Girlie. Retailed for 349.99 in 1972. Silver face, or Champagne? If it ever does make any funny noises, it’s not broken. It might need to have a few capacitors re-soldered is all. Well worth the investment. Might I direct you to AudioKarma.com, where people still speak of Marantz in hushed tones. And what are you using for speakers?

    1. Thank you:) A friend gave it to me some time in the late 80’s. It has a silver face and knock on that silver face, it’s been fabulous and trouble free – one kick ass receiver!
      Good to know and will make a note of AudioKarma.com although my better half is rather mechanically inclined. Yesterday he hooked a cable out of the dubbing channel of the Marantz to the input in the back of one of our dvd players and now we can record from album to disc. Very cool. I’ll be breaking out some pretty old vinyl:)
      The speakers are Pioneer.

Leave a Reply

