Roll me, dr-edge me, fry me…I be done

…and still, we can be heroes just for one day….D…G…C…D…A…E…D…D…G…

Today I say, “on with the new and out with the old!”   Or should it be “out with the old and in with the new?”  Whatever.  So yesterday was a milestone holiday.  Yes, yes, the “official” start of summer.  Woopdi..doo.  I live in a quaint, little (very) beach town on the east coast of Florida.  It’s been summer for weeks.  We had spectacularly nice weather the entire weekend, which by the way, began on Thursday.

See, it’s a little different here.  For example, in the place I moved from light years ago (and other sane places), Friday is considered the last day of the work week.  Always filled with exuberant anticipation that, at 5:00 pm sharp, the weekend would begin.  The 2 day celebration representing the freedom from one’s occupational obligations whatever they may be.  Here, I call this day Fraturday.  When a great many people decide that they don’t want to/have to work the entire day.  I mean it’s the weekend afterall so we’d better get started on that right away!

While the rest of the folks in all the other “countries”  had a 3 day weekend, here we had a 4 day weekend.  See how it works?  We simply extend the time for holidays and special events.  Why? ‘Cuz we want to.  I mean whose gonna complain, right? LOL  That’s a big LOL my friends.  For all the positives that go with living in Florida there are some mighty, shall we say (I’ll be polite today), messed up things that go on down here.  A thing not easily explained.  One of those “ya got to live here to believe it” kind of things.

Huh, makes me think of Stephen King’s Under the Dome.  Classic King.  The roger that he is, Mr. King takes well over 900 pages to speak of life in a small town that suddenly finds itself cut off from the rest of civilization by a dome of mysterious origins.  No, I didn’t finish the book and at this point, I might as well wait for the TV telling coming next month.

Don’t spoil it for me.  I can pretty much guess the characters who make it out from under that mysterious dome.  Come to think of it, maybe I’ll skip the TV telling and read the book after all.  If history persists, then the book is far better than the upcoming series anyway.

Well, it’s the end of a 4 day weekend.  Lots of work to do so I had better get on with my day.  I’ve found a microscopic tear in my own dome and need to get to work on that.  Before I conclude this ramble-ette, thank you for stopping by today.  I was going to talk about emotional content – what it is, it’s uses (if you are lucky to procure it)  But we all have to begin another cycle in this the second day of “summer’.  Carry on. 

“What? What is it?  What is emotional content?”  That’s a tough one.  And topic for another post.  Yes, yes I am committing myself to writing the next post.  Yes, soon.  No, not weeks from now.  Simply, it (emotional content) is the thing that allows a person to achieve the seemingly impossible.

6 thoughts on “Roll me, dr-edge me, fry me…I be done

  1. Hmm…I haven’t read much Stephen King…his writing hasn’t always appealed to me, but my husband loves his books.
    Memorial day…I should have taken more time to remember what the day is about, but…I was kind of busy writing and enjoying the sun, lol. I know, I know…I’m bad, but I was trying to be good. See…I was working and even got a writing gig. 🙂 Now…I guess I’ll carry on. My last day of teaching for the summer. I’m kind of – no, actually REALLY – excited about that. I’m going to have A LOT more time to get crap done around here, lol. ^_^

    1. Congratulations on the writing gig Cyndi! Very excellent! What type, where? Deadline?
      Stephen is quite the storyteller – if you can tolerate his immense verbosity. LOL
      I think you had the right idea for Memorial Day. I prefer to view it as a day in which you contemplate your own self. That which was and that which is and…..of course that which you aspire. Sounds as if your day was perfect:)
      Hurray for last day of school!!

      1. Well…still working out the details on the writing gig, but if I REALLY do have the gig, it will be at a website called Lifehack.org as a staff writer. Crossing my fingers… ^_^

  2. Don’t you love how we all start Friday really early??? And drag our behinds in late? BTW–I love King, but not that particular book so much–and thank you, thank you for your kind words to me on my blog

    1. Actually it can be a pleasant thing:)
      Yeah, I consider myself a fan but that one I just couldn’t get into either. He wrote a couple of others I felt the same way. Misery and Delores Clairborne (think that’s the title)
      You are welcome:) Thank you for stopping by tonight.

Leave a Reply

