Welcome to the Edge, FTSF Friends!

Whew! I think this time I’m going to do it.  I think I’m going to get this post written and published by 8:00am.  No…make that….8:30 am.  Yes.  That’s it.**

This week the sentence to complete as presented by our estimable Hostests’ with the mostest’s, Joyful Janine of Janine’s Confessions of a Mommyholic, the Delightful Dawn of Dawn’s Disaster, Of Course you can Kate, at Can I Get Another Bottle of Whine…and last but not least, Forever in yo face Stephanie of Mommy, for Real, is: 

Drum roll please  –
“I hit a turning point in my life when I”…. finally got a good handle on the Wakefield Doctrine!  Damn!  Talk about life saving tools and such.  Too bad I didn’t have this level of proficiency with it oh, 30 years ago.  But that doesn’t matter.  What matters is now.  Today.  Where I sit or not sit. You know, what do I want from life? 

Thanks to the Doctrine I have a rock solid, reliable tool to utilize while/as I build and support the life I want.  In reality, it couldn’t have come at a better time as the last few years have been my most challenging.  See, it wasn’t enough to simply know I was a clark all those decades ago.  It wasn’t enough to be able to just recognize the scotts and rogers surrounding me. 

Today I use my understanding of what this means – the worldview/personal reality of clarks, scotts and rogers,  to enhance and develop my own damn self.  Which in turn affects those around me.  Before you start passing out the lollipops, know this: any path towards self-development begins with your own self.  Mirror first people.  Handle that part and the rest is, if not cake, cupcakes 🙂 

Yes Alvy, a healthy life is possible.  Yes, you can reduce stress.  Yes, you can enjoy family once again. LOL  It’s a choice.  Choice based on understanding.  Understanding the kind of world another person lives in, walks through every day.  Their personal reality, how they relate themselves to the world.   Know this and, as they say over at the Doctrine, “you will know more about them than they know about themselves”. 

Consider how surprised your sister would be if you didn’t react to her temper tantrum the way you always have.  What would happen if you didn’t cry when your boss yelled at you? What would happen if you didn’t give in to the occasional guilt trip your husband or wife tries to put you on, especially at the holidays? 

You know what they say: knowledge is a dangerous thing.  LOL  All I can tell you is that with an understanding of the principles of the Wakefield Doctrine you will be assured of a most challenging and rewarding undertaking!  It’s not only about not reacting to life the way you always have, it’s about acting differently moving forward in life. 

As to the turning point thing?  I may still be cornering on 2 wheels but at least I’m navigating the turn(s) way better.  

**Not today Girlie.  2+ hours past deadline.     

 

16 thoughts on “Welcome to the Edge, FTSF Friends!

  1. Ok, I loved this and seriously the Wakefield Doctrine is such a find and such a great tool for us all. And somewhere Clark is smiling and loving that we feel this way, too!! Thank you for linking up with us again and hope you have a wonderful weekend.

    1. It is one of the more important advantages of the Doctrine for sure:)
      I’m glad I linked up too. Haven’t quite gotten the hang of it but I’m going to work on it.
      I’m already looking forward to next week’s hop!
      Thanks for stopping in Stephanie!!

  2. The Doctrine has saved my ass on more than a few occasions already, actually. It’s quite entertaining. I can’t tell you how it helps me deal with the masses. I feel so much more comfortable in my own skin. Granted, that could be a process of age, but honestly, I don’t recall another point in my life if what I do or say seems weird to someone else? Yesterday, I had an interaction with these two teachers from school who were eating lunch and someone else was asking them about their lovely sandwiches and where they got them. The first two teachers both had this devious smile on their faces. The conversation ended, but I couldn’t help myself: I walked away and looked at them, shaking my head, saying, “it’s all in the smile, guys…the smiles are priceless.” They didn’t know what the hell I was talking about and I’d already started on my way so I didn’t stop to explain. I didn’t care, either. AHAHAHA. I’m sure they think I’m halfway nuts, but, eh…who gives a shit, right? LOL LMAO

    1. Right!!!!!!!
      Cyndi, Cyndi, Downspring extraordinaire, it is entertaining! LOL
      I can so obviously relate. That is a terrific story, especially the part where you left them rogers? scratching their heads:D
      As always, it’s a pleasure commiserating with other clarks in particular.
      As you can see from Stephanie’s comment she’s with you on the whole “hey, I can react any way I damn please. who the heck gives a shit!”

  3. It’s true – it’s a hugely useful tool and as you say, without awareness we are unable to make that choice in the first place. Great that you share so readily and act as a signpost for others to find out more about the WD.

    I guess the day I get a handle on it will be a great turning point – at the moment I’m still working on the learning and mirroring.

    1. Well, as a clark, I am by nature “reserved”, inclined to be more of a “private” person:)
      The Doctrine is huge for me, as you have surmised.
      It will be a great turning point I assure you. Since you are also a clark, I have no doubt that there will be the day when you know you have turned the corner.
      Thank you for stopping by.

  4. the coolest thing about the Doctrine is that there is nothing (that you try with the thing) that does not offer a (new) or additional insight into your-own-damn-self.
    or other people….too

    1. Absolutely! It is the one thing that provides me the challenge that will never end.
      Geez, I guess this is where I should thank you for coming up with the damn thing in the first place!
      On second thought lol Naah…. Ignorance is never bliss:)

  5. I love reading the Doctrine! I don’t know how they come up with so much every day, but I know it definitely makes me feel more clever (sometimes inspired) after reading it every day! And I’m also a Clark…yay for Clarks! 🙂

    1. Ditto Melanie! Me neither. I guess Clark’s got a giant brain. LOL
      I’m lucky if I get one post out a week. Have to work on that:D
      I’m glad you feel that way:) The Doctrine is definitely cool and can be quite fun. It has assisted me a great deal so far with navigating relationships, family members (for sure lol) and people in general. We clarks are so into the self-evolution thing:)
      I’m glad you stopped by today and may I add a hip, hip hurray and double yay for our people! LOLOL

  6. Hi there, great post! I was just thinking, anybody reading the post and the comments without all the background information would no doubt think that they were on the wrong planet or something like that! It could sound very obscure! Great fun that would be!

Leave a Reply

