Once I fell off the Beethoven Edge…

….I found myself studying classical guitar.  Although I loved it, I languished.  I did not practice as I should and ultimately allowed distraction to take me elsewhere.  And then there was Anthony Jackson.  There will always be Anthony.  It’s when I fell in love with the bass guitar.

Thanks to a dear friend, former lover and musician extraordinaire himself, I found myself in possession of a bass.  He took me shopping one sunny afternoon in the infamous Wakefield, of the Wakefield Doctrine (yes, that very Wakefield!).  There, on the second floor of the former Stringed Instrument Workshop,did we find a bass to set me on my quest, an Aria Pro II. 

In one of those funny how things work out stories, a few years later the SIW was sold and I subsequently became the manager of the new “SIW”.  We dealt not only in new instruments but used ones as well.  Once upon an early fall day a most lovely, lovely (was certainly “used” a lot!) Fender Precision found it’s way to our store.  Alas, my I always have tomorrow procrastination led to another person’s happiness.  A determined 16 yr. old, dad in tow, walked into my store looking for her first bass.  She was starting a band.  You go girl!  There went my youfeelsogoodinmyhandsmyfingersjustglideoveryou Precision.  In the land of wouldacouldashoulda there went my dream bass forever, a circa ’70s Fender Precision.  Yes, now it would be worth a boatload of bucks.  But let’s face it.  It most likely would not have had as full a life as it deserved. (this is what I tell myself lol)  Not the life I’m betting 16 yr. old rockin’ girl gave it:) 

Fast forward a gazillion years and you find yours truly, the professional dilettante, still attempting to learn to play bass.  Never mind the innumerable  inspiring musicians I’ve listened to over the years, more recently Tal, Mel, and Trevor Bolder (geez, you only had to die for me to appreciate your talent!).  Because of Trevor, I believe I have found my final (?)  muse.  My get off your ass you don’t have any more time inspiration, Gail Ann Dorsey.

Thank you Gail.  Because of you, I’m going to sit and practice my scales, positions and all the other boring stuff.  I’m not going to go off all clarklike like I often do, playing songs in “different” timing.  I’m going to learn “the right way” first and then go all…Girlie.

NOTE: Only by clicking on the black box will the vid appear.  Freaky…considering.

8 thoughts on “Once I fell off the Beethoven Edge…

    1. I suppose it is however….it (the theory journey) manifests itself in my brain as math. I automatically cringe at the thought of doing “math”. Having said that, it will be better to have a proper foundation.
      Thanks for stopping by today:D

  1. Funny…I need to pick up my folk guitar again and learn some Spanish songs. The radio at my school went kaput and they don’t use technology in the lower grades (GASP) and lugging around a guitar to play on is much better than some old, defunct radio. haha

  2. Love that you’re going to learn to play the “right way” first (against your Clarklike tendencies) and then go all girlie. Awesome. Look forward to the video you share of your awesomeness rocking out!

Leave a Reply

