Thursdays and Girlie…”I ain’t afraid of no ghost”

I was raised by a mother whose own mother traveled by ocean liner to this country from Ireland when she was 14.  She was sent here presumably because her parents thought her chances for a better life were greater here.  I’m thinking she had a good life.  I never knew her.  I have only stories… and a picture or two of the woman who was my mother’s mother.

Many of those stories were imbued with superstition. Cautionary tales designed to spook. Maybe deliver a life lesson or 2.  One longstanding superstition from this side of my family is that of Thursdays.  Bad things happen on Thursdays.  Growing up, it was universally accepted/understood that Thursdays should be avoided at all costs when making travel plans (especially by air) or undergoing any type of surgery. In fact, don’t have anything medical related on that day. And that includes dentists.  We’ve all heard those stories.  No sense tempting fate, right? LOL

I don’t know how far back the dying went but I believe that’s how it all started. The Thursday superstition.  Someone died on a Thursday.  And then someone else.  Suddenly the family tree had bodies lying all over the ground beneath those large, leafy branches.  All of whom were felled on a Thursday.

I’ve lightened up a bit on the Thursday thing the older I’ve gotten.  Of course I probably still wouldn’t fly on that particular day of the week if given a choice. Hell, let’s face it.  I won’t fly at all.  But it has nothing to do with Thursdays.  Harry probably has it right… Thursday’s, they’re just “crazy, lazy days”…..

5 thoughts on “Thursdays and Girlie…”I ain’t afraid of no ghost”

  1. Somewhere in the recesses of my brain, I remember we used to think Thursdays were bad luck. Or you weren’t supposed to wear green on Thursday. Something odd like that, but it was way back in middle school and high school that we paid attention.
    FYI, Tuesdays are where it’s at. Do all errands on Tuesdays.

    Like

  2. martha

    Ah yes, our mother did impart the stories that we still talk about:) So many of them – it’s funny I don’t know that I have passed all of them on to my kids – some but not all. Probably should – family stories and all:)

    Like

  3. Pingback: …it’s the bottom of the 9th, bases are loaded, GirlieOnTheEdge is up to bat.. | GirlieOnTheEdge's Blog

Leave a Reply

