Johnny Winter. Girlie’s First Guitar Crush

“Don’t Panic!”  Really Douglas? (may you rest in peace)  Really? I can leave it “in the lap of the gods” on this “get the fuck out” Friday? What more can we say, eh Freddie? Speaking of studio versions, I prefer the original studio version of In the Lap of the Gods.  Of course. It’s rare when a live version of a song can rival that of the original studio version.  But it can happen.

Wasn’t sure what to write this GTFOF (new blog hop anyone? LOL).  I love the YouTube. Luv, luv, luv it!  Any mood, any song, concert, version of a song…..I could sit here all day and listen til I get it all out of my system. Maybe.

It’s all a maybe, isn’t it?  What happens.  How life turns out.  We can “hope for the best”. NOT!  Let’s face it.  It has nothing to do with hope.  Hope is one of those rogerian cliches that serves us well once in awhile but more often than not lulls us into acquiescence.  It’s about movement.  Forward.  Taking steps deliberately. Maybe not easy ones or the right ones.

Back to Johnny.  My man.  My first guitar crush.  My first concert.  Don’t think I was old enough to drive yet.  My brother begrudgingly? drove me and a friend of mine, who, God knows why, wanted to go with me.  A “cosmo” girl, a roger and my best friend, “B” had heard one of Johnny’s less “blue” songs one day while at my house and liked it. And surprisingly she enjoyed the show. Hey! did I mention that the very first opening act was none other than the Ramones!  Yes, they were famously booed off the stage in Providence. (reference has been made to this particular concert in both book and documentary footage).  And Girlie was there!

So even though today I’d like to “drown in my own tears”, drink a little “cheap tequila” (‘cuz sometimes “life is hard”), I’m just gonna leave it to Johnny. He can always work the magic.

4 thoughts on “Johnny Winter. Girlie’s First Guitar Crush

  1. HAHA I love GTFO Friday bloghop! Awesome. You made me want to be at that concert with you. My first one was Billy Idol. ❤ Ah, Billy before Botox. Hmmm.
    Love the "maybe not the easy or right ones" about taking steps forward. That, my friend, is a perfect sentence.

    Like

    1. I got my first vote!
      It was a great show. Leslie West came on after the Ramones but everyone was just waiting for Johnny. It was excellent.
      I used to love Billy! He was very cool. Then. LOL
      Just keep reminding me:) As a clark, I don’t always take “baby” steps but a step is a step. God knows I’ve got a pair of shoes somewhere in my closet that will get me walking:)

      Like

Leave a Reply

