Girlie’s All About Winning – Hoo…RA. TToT? HooRA

“….life’s a game of inches… the margin for error is so small… the inches we need are everywhere around us… it’s the guy willin’ to die who’s gonna win that inch… that’s what livin’ is, the 6 inches in front of your face… that’a all it is, now what are you gonna do? ” 

It’s corny I know, but watching this clip from Any Given Sunday, I can’t help but wipe a tear from my eye. I’m feeling the inspiration rise like goosebumps on a chilly day. I love watching sports movies where the underdog always wins. Where the girl always gets the guy. Where good trumps bad and the message is always – if you’re in the game, you have to give it your all. You give it your all because you are the game and the game is you. It’s all up to you. All the time. Participate or not. The choice is always yours.

What is the trick to motivation? How do we motivate ourselves? Think I’ll answer those 2 questions over at tube tops, tattoos and TimeLines a little bit later. Right now I have to share my 10 things. The Ten Things of Thankful that Lizzi, our consume (leaving out the “t” so you can pronounce it as a roger might, you know, a rogerian saying lol) hostess asks us to share every week. She and her co-hosts have a most excellent weekend long blog hop. Check it out.

Batter up!

1) thanks? yes, for a safe 811 mile trip from New Smyrna Beach, FL to Alexandria, VA 11 days ago. Even if I did miss the exit and went through hell in the dark to get back onto the Beltway before I slammed into DC proper.

2) thanks to my brothers for their timely gifts before I even knew I would be needing them. The gift of a “book” like bag/case came first from one brother. 2 days later a surprise box arrived holding a laptop. Damn. Put laptop in bag, will travel.

3) thanks to my Man. Who worked hard (as always) to make sure my vehicle was in top notch condition for my extended journey. For worrying that his Woman would be safe. Though she be a superior woman, she’s no mechanic. lol

4) a big thank you to Man’s Nephew who was the one person to step up and offer a place to stay while I take a stand.

5) thanks again to said Nephew who, after my first day’s commute from Absolute Hell (as opposed to regular hell) showed me a most simple way to drive to my new office.

6) thankful that upon arrival at said new office, it was as if no time had passed between the 3 people I am now working with again…what 10 years? lol

7) I am quietly thankful for being able to witness fall. The foliage that I have not seen in 10 years as I have been living in FL. The colors, the landscaping…beautiful. Like a soft blanket I can wrap around myself while I drive. . .

8) thankful that the temperatures have been mild. I’m a cold blooded woman with ice water for blood. Time will tell if I can adapt and eventually remove the 20 layers of clothing from my body at any given time:)

9) extremely thankful for the Wakefield Doctrine. The most important tool on my belt. It provides me with:  the information I need as a clark, the in your face expletives that remind me of my 2ndary scottian aspect and finally, encouragement that it is possible to relate to rogers… to be able to “see”/ “experience” their world, foreign as it is to a clark.

10) all hail the Cat.

18 thoughts on “Girlie’s All About Winning – Hoo…RA. TToT? HooRA

    1. Hi Michelle! Yes, it’s very handy! Not quite second nature with me but I’m getting there:)
      You’re welcome! Thank you for stopping by today. It’s been tough getting back “on the saddle”.
      I’m glad I started riding again with the TToT LOL
      Have a good day and I’ll see you at brunch tomorrow:)

  1. lol (he *is* Power in a furry yellow wrapper!)

    reality, as all Readers of this blog and the Wakefield Doctrine are inclined to believe, is a surprisingly personal affair. while it would be …entertaining if this were extremely true, as in: cars that could talk (like scotts, pretty much) and furniture that remembered us… (yep! rogers…each and every piece of gravity relief in your house)… but when we say, reality is a personal affair, the scope is a bit more…*reasonable*.

    but that’s not important now…what is important is that life, reality, the world, the standard of living you hope to have, the problems that stand in your way, the job that you really deserve and the work you must do to provide for your family… they are all ‘choices’ and as such the world will allow you to make these (choices) provided, provided!! you have the Will to step into (these) realities and live them.

    not a bad list, welcome (back) to the TToT

    1. Yes, yes he is indeed. lol I shall now move forward forever with this image in my head!

      It is. A personal affair. There are/will be readers who can identify, those who kinda/sorta, almost get it and those who, if they feel the words are speaking to them, eliciting an emotional response within them, can accept more easily a reality not pre-ordained.

      Each day is a conscious choice. It is a taking of one step. It is finding the on switch. It is insistence. The will to insist and the acceptance of what comes from that insistence. The emotional content is always available. The key is knowing how to access it (emotional content) at will. It is a true thing. It’s all about the Will.

      Thank you. It’s good to be back.

  2. fabulous family… gotta love that. Glad you had a safe trip. Love DC! If I were to go back to living in the city it would be there ( or maybe Chicago). How cool is it to go back to working with folks after 10 years and have no concept of time passing!

    1. Yes, indeed Zoe:) Thank you. Luckily it was relatively uneventful. Really? I think my choice of city would still be Boston. Always loved visiting there.
      It was cool. Kinda freaky in a way, but cool:)

  3. I sometimes have dreams that I am working with the same people I worked with years ago. Interesting that it would feel as though you never left. Do you work in DC proper? I think it would be a very exciting place to live and work.

    1. Hopefully with people you liked! lol
      I know. It’s a cool feeling when that happens. The weird thing is, it doesn’t feel as if they have changed but I feel as if I have changed tremendously.
      No. I commute from Alexandria which is very close to Ashburn which is not so close:) If I worked in DC I had to live there. The roads are a mess!!

  4. So glad to see you back in the TToT!! You’ve been missed.

    I love a good sports movie where the underdog wins. And some of the best are based on true stories from Indiana! Rudy and Hoosiers are the first to come to mind.

    What nice brothers you have!

    Oh, poor you getting stuck in DC on your way to Alexandria. I hate when I miss my turn, especially when it adds so much time to the trip!

    If only Autumn didn’t lead into winter. I do love the colors and mild temperatures and harvest activities. I hate winter.

    1. Thank you Christine, it’s good to be back:)
      So true. I haven’t seen Rudy but I did enjoy Hoosiers.

      Yes, they’re very special.

      It was awful! And road construction didn’t help either! Nothing like driving around in the dark clueless as to what way to go.

      I have always loved fall. My favorite season. Driving around yesterday, the trees were simply gorgeous. I loved looking at the horizon. But you make a most excellent point. Winter follows fall….. 😦

  5. So glad you made it to the right place in the end. What a sucky thing to happen right at the end of such a long trip! Pleased you’re settled in and have connections and people round you, and that you’re able to enjoy the fall there.

    Go underdogs!

    Go life!

    I’m glad you’re in an ‘up-and-at-’em’ place, and it sounds like you’re using the WD to very good effect 😀 Keep going, O Superior One – love that you’re back in the hop this week 🙂

    1. You go Lizi! I am happy to read at your post that the Universe is smiling on you if only in small intervals. We clarklike females are survivors and frankly we simply need to insist that life go our way:)

      I am slowly settling in. An adjustment for sure with many more to face but one at a time.

      Yes the Doctrine is extremely helpful. It serves not only as a tool for “figuring” out other people but as a reminder of my own self. That is key for me. I am increasingly giving myself a mental slap in the face to make sure my scottian self does not go to sleep. And needless to say, developing my rogerian aspect is an ongoing process.

      Good to be back at the TTot and will try and make the rounds more completely.

      I will keep going like the energizer bunny (from hell).

  6. findingninee

    I love the sports movies when the underdog wins, too! Love! So glad you made it safely! Also, I did NOT forget about Ashburn – haven’t heard anything back. Guess I need to start a FB chat w/ both of you on it??? Also cant’ WAIT to meet you IRL! Your list is awesome. Glad you didn’t run into DC proper. That place is scary.

    1. Thanks Kristi!
      OK about the realtor – no rush. Have a lead I’m going to check out.
      Yes, DC at night, by yourself, lost, is…scary:)

      I’m looking forward to meeting you in IRL as well!! We’ll chat on the FB and set something up soon!

Leave a Reply

