Post. Cereal? No. The TToT.

Hold on while I grab a spoon. Not a teaspoon. A tablespoon. I was never overly fond of Post cereals. (except for Alpha-Bits) I’m more a General Mills/Kellogg’s girl. Saturday mornings. Cereal and cartoons. Like bread and butter. Meatloaf and mashed potatoes.

So it’s Saturday morning. No cartoons and I’m going Quaker Oats. Today and most days. Add frozen blueberries, sliced banana, cinnamon, sprinkle a little wheat germ. Damn! Where did I go? What happened to my Trix?! My classic standby. From my somewhat young adulthood. The nightmare causing cereal whose formula (like most) has been altered ( chemically, of course lol) over the years. Ah….the long gone days of Crispy Critters….

Truth be told I left those words up there this morning ‘cuz I had to get my car to the shop for an oil change at 8 am. Yes, I got up in time to write before I had to leave but you know, time just got away from me. In case you came back…here’s the rest of the post.

It’s 6:28 pm. Saturday night. Have some time before I call into the Wakefield Doctrine Saturday Night Call Drive Time Show. You can click the link for the info – how to call in, etc.  Yes, yes I am into the Wakefield Doctrine. It’s the coolest thing since sliced bread. But we’re about cereal today people. Cereal.

But then, maybe not… see, I’m trying again to get into writing again by participating in this HUGE blog hop started by a clarklike female over in England. You may have heard of her? Lizzi Rogers. I agree. She is awesome. It’s called the Ten Things of Thankful or TToT for short. Let’s get to it.

Numero 1. The fact that I can do this any damned way I please. Like if I wanted to start my list backwards – work 10 to 1 I can. Or, if I want to use archaic symbols from ancient wherever, to represent each thankful. I can.

To assign a number to a thankful thing causes me stress. Tonight, anyway.

Lessee…, I dig these Wakfield Doctrine Video Encounters. Seems Friday night is the “party night”, you know the “social”. Folks meeting and getting to know each other. I was bummed last night because my laptop was not cooperating audio wise. Turns out I missed a whole bunch of people and, and! a real time tour of a Target Store in, what? Minnesota? Yeah, heard that was Jak.

I really wanted to stick around and hear from Beth Teliho. I’ve read some of her comments over at Lizzi’s place (go there!) and she’s great! She’s got a way with words that one.

Since this is the 5th paragraph, I can legally claim it constitutes number 5 on the 10 things thankful list.

Number 6. This is gonna sound weird but I’m thankful that, despite seeing that yes, life sure did go to hell in a handbasket (remind me to research the origins of this saying) I can sit here now (very grateful) in a small room (temporary lodging) and know that I can make it better. Simply because I fucking insist on it.

And you know what? I can end this list now. But I won’t. I think I need to dig down a little deeper and look a little harder and restate a few things. Why don’t we round out the list with these little gems:

7) I’m thankful I have a job. In a stable place. That I obtained employment when it was needed most. That’s huge.

8) In keeping with that thought. I’m thankful for myself (go figure!). That I have the clarklike quality to believe in the impossible.

9) Thankful I have a growing circle of friends. I’m not very good at or graceful in ( my old age)  developing friendships but it is a thing I look forward to.

10) That I still retain enough of my most excellent Catholic school education for the first 8 years to know that you don’t end a sentence with a preposition!

OK guys. Gonna go now. But I’m working my way back, ‘ cuz you know, now…I’m wide awake.
Thank you Katie and Katy.

16 thoughts on “Post. Cereal? No. The TToT.

  1. I’m thankful for you, too, and our friendship. I hope your work continues to be awesome and…I think I’m going to bed very early on this Saturday evening…hopefully all will be well again tomorrow. 🙂

  2. I am thankful to be here, to know you and to be part of this TToT and also VidChat thing, where you are.

    I’m glad you’re on your way back. And that in spite of everything, you have the spirit and liveliness of character to face these things head on and fucking INSIST that they will work for you – that you will conquer. And you will.

    Awesome stuff indeed.

    1. Thank you Lizzi. It’s all about choices. Determination. And not taking no for an answer.
      There’s this irony to clarks. We can believe in the impossible, often achieve the “impossible” but often times it takes something extraordinary to get our butts off the proverbial life couch. How ’bout we just pre-empt the programming and go get what we f’ing deserve!
      Whew! Sunday morning sermon? Check. LOLOL

  3. ‘cording to ‘the Wikipedia’: “Windslow Ayer’s 1865 polemic alleges, “Judge Morris of the Circuit Court of Illinois at an August meeting of Order of the Sons of Liberty said: “Thousands of our best men were prisoners in Camp Douglas, and if once at liberty would ‘send abolitionists to hell in a hand basket”
    ain’t this a hell of a time for clarks?

    1. It is indeed a hell of a time for clarks. I wonder. Will the “baby ones” know how lucky they are to have knowledge and information available at a mere click of a mouse! We of the older generation, and “the Harvard University deans” acquired knowledge/information the hard way. lol

      Thanks for looking up the reference. Another little tidbit to file away…..

  4. So glad Clark looked that up so I didn’t have to.
    I am even more glad that you are staging your blogging comeback through the TToT! You’ve had a rough go, so making a list can’t be easy. You did it with style!
    I enjoyed your cereal intro. I am a cereal kind of girl. Raisin Bran would be my first choice, but Cheerios (plain) is my backup if the Bran isn’t on sale. Of course, I always choose Lucky Charms for our vacation week of all junk cereal all the time.

    I was having trouble with my audio, too, when I jumped into the chat last night. Lizzi is trying to blame google and not our computers. I had trouble hearing everyone else, too. Did you?

    Here’s to a good Catholic school education! 🙂

    1. You and me both:)
      It seems most appropriate. Thank you Christine. I hope I can continue.

      I came to love Raisn Bran (Kellogg’s of course lol) as an adult. I love when it gets to just the right mushiness.
      Aren’t you good. To save the Lucky Charms for the special vaca indulgence:) Can’t say I could be swayed by a leprechaun to eat marshmellows for breakfast!

      The audio thing was intermittent. I’ve been on other chats that were clear as day. Maybe it was weather interference. Hopefully, I’ll see you in another, clearer chat!!

    1. Thank you Michelle. That means a lot. I know you’ve had many challenges in your life.
      I will continue to learn to “share”. It’s not in my nature as a clark to do so but I am working on my rogerian aspect afterall!
      Yes, see you on the Sunday Brunch!

  5. I have to say that I am just getting to know you and haven’t yet had the pleasure of the video chat. What I can say is that I think you are a powerful writer. I have gone back through several posts before I could comment properly and I have found another writer who takes my breath away. I look forward to reading more from you.

    1. Wow. Thank you Sandy. That makes me feel wonderful. You will definitely have to stop by for a vid chat now:)
      I appreciate you reading some of my other posts. You don’t always know when you write if your words will have any impact.
      I look forward to hearing from you again!

Leave a Reply

