1.5 Steps at a time

Yes, yes I know. The saying goes “1 step at a time”. But if you’re old(er) like me or if you’re a scott, then 1 step isn’t going to cut it. My daily words always contain this ditty: “Today is both the first and last day of my life. What the fuck am I going to do about it.” I vary it sometimes. I’ll leave out the profanity and simply write “Today is the only day“.

(“Yeah,yeah. We get it. Carpe diem and all that“). The real trick to this kind of shit is obtaining and maintaining a level of emotional content sufficient enough to actually live each day with the kind of intensity these words imply. Yes, I know. As soon as you walk out whatever front door is in front of you, Blam! you get hit with the same old same old. (quick side note to self: write a post comprised only of cliches).

Everyone has a smartphone, tablet, i-thing. Everyone seems to be holding it, listening and looking at it more than they don’t. I say, utlilize modern technology to remind yourself that tomorrow is an illusion. If you think you can put off a thing until tomorrow, well guess what? You’re placing a wager. You’re leveraging life. So what? If you’re dead it won’t matter anyway, right?

It’s Monday. Hopefully, the beginning of a full week. I for one will go out into the world today with the intent of living the day as if it were my last. No huge plans, accomplishments or goals to get done by 5. I just want to know that whatever it is I do, I act without reservation. don Juan Matus tells me to walk a path with heart. This I will always do.

Feeling all gushy and mushy today. Don’t know why. Well, actually I do. But I’m not going to share the details. Only this. It’s someone’s birthday today. I sent him a message of birthday wishes an hour ago. Mine. (no, in my mind it was not selfish). I happen to be pretty smart some of the time especially when it comes to dispensing “helpful hints” to other people.

Birthday wishes Baby. Birthday wishes….

8 thoughts on “1.5 Steps at a time

  1. ” I happen to be pretty smart some of the time especially when it comes to dispensing “helpful hints” to other people.” you frickin clarks… reading my not-yet-published-Posts! damn!

    “quick side note to self: write a post comprised only of cliches” hey! great idea (wait for it…)
    been there, done that

    ha
    ha

    you are, of course, totally correct. It is the only worthy goal, the only proper way to act.

  2. HAHA love that you stole words from Clark’s brain! Happy birthday to your someone and thank you for the reminder that we all need to live today to its fullest. Lovely lovely lovely words. Happy Saturday my friend.

  3. Love U2.
    Anyways, I think you just hit what is SUCH a challenge for a clark: not looking toward the future and trying to be “present”- so, so hard, that one. And I get preoccupied with what might be. That’s hard, too.
    Thanks for the reminder to just be. 🙂

Leave a Reply

