Yes. “Here’s to us….”

It’s Wednesday. Mid-week. The proverbial  “hump day”.  Yesterday was a wintry mix ‘o mess. Being that I had an hour’s commute in good weather, I decided to avail my self of our company’s liberal leave policy and leave work early. Bundled up like a pig in a blanket, I headed out into the wintery wonderland looking foward to getting a jump start on the “evening commute” at 1:00. I was one of only 3 who decided to heed the advice of the “speakers for the weather”. Having looked out the window several times in the morning, they seemed to know what they were talking about.

The Washington, D.C. metro area is like many a major city. No getting around traffic. Luckily, the route I take avoids the Beltway but it’s long just the same. Our office is located on Rt 7. Venturing forth I thought “not bad”.  A few miles up the road is Rt 28. OK. “Not bad”. No sooner had I said this when I spotted a vehicle ahead on the left median that apparently did a little loopdy doo. No worries. Just a momentary loss of control. Here…. they’re back on the road.

Driving along, hoping there would never be a time without clear lane markings, I thought what a mess. (No, not this time. This time I wasn’t referring to my life. lol) It struck me that although I haven’t lived in a place with snow and cold and such in over 10 years, I seemed to have adapted rather quickly to the northern climate.  Almost as if I had never left. Never lived in a place people flock during the winter months. Body memory? In the bones? I am after all,  a native Rhode Islander.

That is why I suppose, when I had a “Christine moment” on the Parkway, I took it in stride…calmly noting that everyone else was either stopped or far enough away. And the intersection was mine. To slide through. Seemingly in slow motion. To the other side. My big ole box of metal refused to stop. Slide baby. Slide.

It was all I could do. But sometimes, that’s all you can do. And that’s alright.  

16 thoughts on “Yes. “Here’s to us….”

  1. (now that I have secured my position as ‘First Commentationer’)… both you and Christine (in her ‘the laws of physics will not be ignored’)’s experience made me think of ‘Ghost Story’ for some reason. (Actually, now that I run the story through my head…a couple of reasons, bit mostly for the scene when the two old lawyers would drive through town, honking (but not even pretending to brake) at every intersection.
    …damn, haven’t thought (or re-read) that book in a while… only problem is that I have to edit the whole thing, dial down how old everyone is in it.

    ‘old people’! ewww

    1. Why, fuck that last sentence. Who you callin’ old Willis? LOL

      A most excellent book indeed. Thank you for reminding and giving me that scene to play through my head today:)
      The movie wasn’t half bad either.

  2. You, too?!?!? I’m glad to hear you were calm and not really too worked up about the slide through the light. I was beginning to wonder what kind of freak I was for not being scared when it happened. Everyone seemed so worried for me when I told them. We are calm cucumbers, you and I. 🙂
    And now I must put “Ghost Story” on my list of things to read. Maybe. Will I get scared reading it? I read right before bed, so scary books are not good for me.
    And I now see how quite ridiculous that last paragraph was. I am scared of fictional ghosts in a book, yet completely not scared about really, actually sliding through an intersection in a snow storm. Good grief.

    1. No Christine! We are not freaks! LOL We are from the same cucumber patch for sure:)
      Yes, you must read Ghost Story. Before bed would be excellent and the season and weather is perfect for it.
      Sometimes there are books you have to read during the same season as is taking place in the book. I found the Shining to be extra enjoyable because I happened to be reading it during winter.

      OK. Finally got my frozen door unlocked. I’ve got a long commute in these negative wind chill temps so I had better be off. Thank you for stopping by this morning. Stay warm and be safe!! Will check back with my traffic report later tonight:)

  3. Pingback: Mid-Week Jumble the Wakefield Doctrine (“so, you think you have what it takes to participate in this little personality thing, do ya?”) | the Wakefield Doctrine

    1. More of us do than we might think. Now that is a frightening thought. Funny, I didn’t bother to look anywhere but straight ahead. Guess it’s better not to know what might coming from the side(s)?

Leave a Reply

