“I’m Just a Girl….”

Here we are. Well, here I am. Hopefully there’s a “we”. It’s the weekend and I have certainly fallen into the M-F work, S-S r&r schedule quickly enough after being out of it for so many years. Funny that body memory thing.

And thank god for the body! If I had to rely on my mind all the time, well, I’d be in big trouble. LOL  I’ve always been one of those who believe that “the body knows first”. My philosophy is to trust the body/instinct first. When too much time elapses, the brain has a way of filtering and more or less messing with the matter at hand.

Isn’t it amazing that a single event can be interpreted by a single person in multiple ways? Throw in the fact there are 3 ways in which to relate to the world x those multiple ways and you have yourselves a HUGE variation on life. Huh. I’ve got a “variation on life” happening big time at the moment. It all began October 22, 2013 but it has yet to solidify. The mold hasn’t set yet. Ingredients still being thrown into the bowl.

Of which the Super is this weekend. In New Jersey! Let me join the chorus….open stadium?! in New Jersey?!! Um, it’s dead of winter. In New Jersey. What were they thinking!!!! Ya know, today is Saturday and I am well within the limits to submit a TTot post. I believe this hop is still hopping. I mean, I’m actually posting on a Saturday morning. Instead of say, Sunday night…Kristi:). So first on the list i-i-s-s:

1) All the committed, disciplined people out there I have come to know who write every day, every other day, multiple times a week and give me the inspiration to try one more time.

2) Guess this should have been first but I’m thankful to wake up another day.

3) Thankful this list doesn’t have to be listed in order of priority.

4) That Lizzi thought to send me an invite to the Friday Night Vid Chat even though I’d given up that there was one. I tried sending an invite to the other host but gee Clark, did you not see it? did you not think to send ME an invite?!

5) That the unknown hair stylist I had an appointment with last night was conservative with my tresses. Spinning the wheel for a stylist can have disastrous results. Now, next time I see her, I’ll be more trusting:)

6) If Abby, (see above) is to become my hair guru, then what could be more convenient than taking the elevator down to the first floor in the building where I work?!

7) That part of what I pay for at what is to be my hair salon, is a lovely back massage while my hair is being washed. Who knew they made such chairs with weird roller things that move up and down your back. Feet up, massage…nice end to a long week.

8) I’m going to have to go with the Wakefield Doctrine. In fact, it will always be on the list of 10. It has provided an enormous open window.

9) Flat irons, a gazillion different hair products. You know, so I can vary the hairs on my head. Funny, last night Abby gave me a stylish, conservative look. One fitting my chronological age. As she was moving my hair around at the crown I suddenly saw how easy it would be to use a little mud/gel/pomade and get a funky metal 80’s doo going. Hey, I’m a clarklike female. Whaday expect!

10) My imagination. To have a vision of all sorts of me based on how I fix my hair, the clothes I wear and the shoes I put on my feet. To have a choice on how to walk through the world on any given day. Not tethered by the pressure of the herd, nor fueled by the demands of nature….I am, after all just a girl…..

17 thoughts on ““I’m Just a Girl….”

    1. Hm….could she be a clark? lol Or maybe just a new teenager. Sounds about right:)
      Me? I like to just blow and go. I let a stylist flat iron my hair a couple of years ago. Have to say it was a nice change.
      I’ll iron every now and then. Just enough change in look to mix it up.
      Thanks for stopping by Jamie!

      Like

  1. So where is the photo of the new/dynamic hair? I went looking for the chat last night too with no success… well got to the one for a short bit… It was on me … lacking the energy to keep up… got to go to bed early shoulda been on my list…

    Totally get what you mean about the body… GOD almighty my head is slow… but my bod is right on the freakin money… I wish my head would catch up to recognize that though… cuz the bod is screaming the message and the head is still muttering in a corner somewhere…

    Have a great remainder of the weekend Denise… Z/L

    Like

    1. You know L, I hadn’t thought too much about it. But I should have! Your hair never looks as good as when you walk out of the salon.
      A couple of years ago when I was trying out a stylist in FL. I trusted him enough (my body) to let him use a flat iron. So impressed was I, that I used a pic of me with newly straight hair my twitter acct. I have naturally curly hair. That was huge for me. lol

      Excellent imagery! Yes, muttering as in why the f didn’t you….or why the hell did you say that I know exactly what you’re saying. I always wind up back at the practice thing. Practicing the ability to stop the distraction(s) that often precludes the not always making the best decisions. That damned internal dialogue!

      Thanks, Zoe. You too.

      Like

  2. You are ON THE MONEY with that vid – just the other day I was thinking WD in relation to music, and it struck me just how much of a clark Gwen is. And how much I really love No Doubt (though in a background way, like a song comes on and I think “Hey, this is AMAZING” then forget all about them til next time they come on…

    (my current fave of theirs, since we’re on topic: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pb_zZ3xItPI)

    I’m SO gutted that we missed you and that I didn’t get to see your New Hair. I hope you’ll rectify matters with a photograph soon 🙂 Glam it up and share it! The massage chair sounds…weird. Not sure if I’d like it, but glad you found it relaxing.

    (Clark’s in trouble for not showing up to his own vidchat, not that I’ve got much of a leg to stand on, being 5 hours late to my own hop…)

    Write more….please write more….

    Like

    1. She is isn’t she:) I love that song. Used it in a Girlie post some time back.
      Hey thanks! Cool vid and love the song too! Haven’t kept up with their newer stuff (2 years is new to me lol). Not as upbeat as Settle Down, I still love this one too http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TR3Vdo5etCQ

      Yeah, me too. I can’t wait to get some hair products and accessories. It’s been…like 10 years since I’ve been able to experiment with styles. I’m a bit out of practice:)
      The chair was weird but it sure felt good. I think that’s why, besides only have 4 hours of sleep the night before, that I was exhausted when I got in.

      Guess everyone has one no show/late to party card. And I did not think you were late!!

      Yes. I will. Thank you (face/heart smiling)

      Like

      1. Ahhh Don’t Speak is AWESOME. Absolute classic. Love it 🙂

        I WANNA SEE YOUR HAIRCUT! Dangit lady, why don’t you selfie?

        4 hours? Sounds like a normal night for me (sans weird chair) 😉 but I’m glad you got the rest you needed, even if we missed you.

        And yeah. Weekend of no-shows so far! Bizarre.

        GOOD 😀

        Like

    1. Yes, m’aam. It was relaxing. The only bad thing was that after it was all over I had an hour’s commute back to Alexandria!
      You should. It’s been so long I had forgotten how good it feels to have someone wash, cut and blowdry my hair.
      Next time a few hi and lo lights:)
      Let me know when you’ve made that appointment!

      Like

  3. Our dentist had one of those massage chairs. Getting your teeth cleaned and your back massaged at the same time certainly helped me hate the dentist less. Of course, the guy had to irritate me and retire…bye-bye chair.

    Glad you didn’t get a bad stylist your first time out. Good news, for sure. And it’s in your building?? I would probably go to a bad stylist for the convenience alone.

    The WD has certainly helped me in my realization that not everyone thinks like me. It hasn’t helped me figure out WHY not everyone thinks like me, as they really should, my way being the best way. 🙂

    Like

    1. That is genius! Sitting in a massage chair while your teeth are being worked on. Must have helped take the edge off:)

      Me too. Looking forward to seeing how the hi – lites come out. If they look good than maybe I’ve found my hair person. I know! Hugely convenient.

      Ah, it’s up to you Christine to get through to those clarks and rogers:)

      Like

  4. Oh, how much I love #10!!! I am going through the list mentally recording my comment and they all went right out of my head the minute I read that! I have found a new mantra!
    I do remember, thought, that I was going to tell you how jealous of the miraculous hair washing while getting a back massage experience. THAT would be amazing!

    Like

  5. jny_jeanpretty

    I am all about my hair. AND my fave song which Gwen sings is at the end of the Rugrats movie and it was written by Elvis Costello who sings along–it is called I throw my toys around and is worth looking for on youtube, so fun! jean

    Like

Leave a Reply

