GirlieOntheEdge a Road Warrior?

Yes. Yes I am. Kindasorta. I don’t own a gun like Mel’s. (Of course not! Such things are illegal.) But I do own a lovely Stoeger Coach Gun (side by side). Stored safely away, it’s not been out of it’s case for many a year. It did come in handy for snake “problems”. Yes honey. Shoot it again. That’s why there’s 2 shells. (Me to Man after he shot a deadly moccasin. We are not “gun” people. lol)

Road Warrior? Yes. Yes I am. I travel the highways of Northern Virginia. Enough said. My daily commute is long and I can only dream about roads and highways deserted enough to allow for a little hit of nitrous oxide to hasten my journy homeward:) I”m not, repeat I am not implying I would support  an apocalyptic event to rid our nation of overcrowded highways…..

Segue. (This is no place for them!) But it is the perfect one for expressing my initial dismay upon learning of my company’s decision to move the office I presently work in to Maryland.  In an effort to streamline, increase productivity etc., my employer has decided to consolidate 2 offices into one and re-locate us both. In approximately 60-90 days, I and the members of my team will be re-locating somewhere across the Potomac River.

Hey Kristi! Been on the Beltway lately? Not if you can help it right?! Rest of you folks? Go ahead. Google the Capital Beltway. Enough said. Note to self: buy new battery for laptop and/or purchase a pad, i or otherwise and/or htfu and upgrade phone! Yes. Road Warrior I am.

Having bitched about this move, I have to admit I see it as an opportunity. I know, I know. Some might think me crazy. Hell, sometimes I think I ‘m crazy but it’s about movement. Forward. Imo, any forward momentum represents potential. Isn’t that what it’s about? Don’t we owe it to ourselves to drive that road? Navigate what obstacles may come. Just get on the road.

If there’s gas in the tank, drive. Until it’s gone. When the fuel runs out, look around….somewhere there’s a source, a way to refill and replenish those tanks.

Easy? No. But if you’re not traveling this road… you’ll find yourself in the middle of

nowhere.

 

6 thoughts on “GirlieOntheEdge a Road Warrior?

  1. ” I”m not, repeat I am not implying I would support an apocalyptic event to rid our nation of overcrowded highways…..” – This made me die laughing this morning. Good to know you don’t support the apocalypse 😀

    Like

  2. Oh no. Not the beltway. Just curious…. Why aren’t you using the trains? Good luck with the office move. Blah.
    The thought of you hollering at the man to shoot a snake makes me laugh. 🙂

    Like

  3. I was thinking train also but it has its innate drawbacks… I was gonna write something about guns this week … pun intended… but I dodged that bullet….argh….

    Like

    1. I know what you mean. There’s sense/feeling of freedom in riding a train but then there’s the element of control – there is none!
      Time will tell. Time will tell.
      Funny zoe. You are:)

      Like

Leave a Reply

