Excuse me…have we met?

Giuseppe Gianotti. My new shoe guy. Look at these! Unbenownst at the time, I bought a pair of sneakers similar to these for a song at JC Penny months ago. In fact, I think I presented them at a Friday Night Vid Chat. Mine pale in comparison to these:) Giuseppe has some tres cool footwear. And! his appeal knows no boundary – something for scottian woman as well as my rogerian sisters!

These are sneakers to wear on walks. To parties with just the right ensemble. In my 20’s I might have paired them with a skirt / legging ensemble. Nowadays, I’d wear them with jeans and focus on the top, “upper covering” – maybe a blazer / a little jacket thing. Like the one I purchased that is so colorful and pairs perfectly with my 3/4 sleeve, white, tuxedo shirt. It is black, pink silk lining. Front and back however have colorful appliques of “garden” flowers.

Aha! I should write a list! 9 more and I will have a TT0T for those who design footwear. A most excellent thing to do my being a clarklike female and all. See, for those of you not in the know, what we wear on our feet is just as important as the rest of our “self expression”.  If we are not heard, well then, we will be seen.  Not, mind you in the way a scottian woman may dress for attention. Often they can be seen in short skirts/shorts, high heels…. usually some cleavage. In general, scottian women are about body accentuation.  clarklike females rely on instinct and mood to guide them in their wardrobe picks. For us, it’s a manifestation of our creative nature.

I cannot speak of fashion and not mention rogers. They, my friends are the masters and mistresses of  accessorization. Of matching ensembles. Of pure blending. (yes, they do approve of wool blends as long as the rest of the outfit is of similar weight and or texture. lol). If you want to fit in with “current fashion” you need to take a roger with you as personal shopper. They will insure that you are not “last year”. You will coordinate head to toe, necklace to shoes, purse to watch. You will be one smooth line of color coordinated couture.

Without further ado, here is a list of 9 shoe designers I like. Why not? Footwear is one of my fortes (in my humble opinion). Over the many years, I have had as many, if not more, compliments on my footwear than looks of raised eyebrows. Here they are in no particular order: Manolo Blahnik, Christian Louboutin, Balenciaga, Dolce & Gabana (my little flower jacket places me ahead of the curve yet again and on the cutting edge of fashion!), Vivian Westwood…heck I can’t think of anyone else I really like. I just know what I like when I see it:)

That means I am without 6-10 of thankful. Oh. No. But! Those 4 comprise the biggest thankful yet! The thankful for Lizzi for having created the TToT, the thankful that I have met some outstanding people, the thankful that there is always so much reading material for me at the click of a mouse and as always the thankful for the Wakefield Doctrine. (you didn’t think I’d leave out the Doctrine did you?)

Happy Birthday Lizzi Rogers. Happy Birthday!

2

 

 

14 thoughts on “Excuse me…have we met?

  1. REALLY!? HOLEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE……. wow… are those your actual sneakers? Do you have itty bitty feet or do I have mondo ones? I am so a shoe fetishist but ironically have about three pair… I guess one cant entertain certain levels of fetishism without the funds to do so…. now HATS!

    1. These ones? No. I only wish? Mine however are the same look only not that lovely leather. Mine have 3 straps that are velcro and a zipper up the outer side. I like them but I love these:)

      Yes. Funds. Wish I could say I had a shoe fund. And hats? Did someone say hats?! When I was younger I was much more into…hats. I still have those hats!

  2. dyannedillon

    I am just not a shoe person. Never have been. I think it’s primarily because of my big man feet. They just don’t look pretty. I am a TOMS wearer much of the year, except when it’s really winter.

  3. GUNS!!! Cars (with giant really* loud engines!!) and girls and/or women in bathing suits standing on tops of the cars (maybe carrying guns….) cigarettes and Stratocasters (with cigarette burns up at the tuning pegs) and Marshall stacks with ashtrays and half empty translucent cups… and everything on 11!!

    (…ok, I think I have balanced the World of Y)…. good Post!
    I concur. A primary external characteristic for clarklike women is the feet (and coverings), followed by general attire (couture by Patrice, from the House of St Androgeny, Paris…Brussels …NY)

    interesting comparison between (Fashion) as manifested by clarks, scotts and rogers. What’s interesting is that clarklike women will put extra emphasis on ‘decorating their heads’… purple and green? why wouldn’t you have a splash of color in your hair and eyes… this is where there is an interesting similarity with your scottian sistas …. clarklike women will accentuate the eyes (while scottian women have eyes that need no emphasisationing)… of course, a clark seeing nothing wrong with stick on gold stars at the lower corner of one eye and maybe some glitter and dayglo mascara (tastefully minimized, of course)…. all resulting in eyes that you can not, not notice.

    (the old saying, ‘a clark does not want to be forced to be the focus of attention, but will not tolerate being ignored’…. very true in the fashion realm of our lives).

  4. I love me some shoes! One of my biggest disappointments about shredding my knee is that I can’t wear heels for a long time. I need to find some fun flats that don’t cost a fortune and are comfortable. I refuse to buy shoes that aren’t comfortable.

    1. Show me the person who buys uncomfortable shoes!!
      I give you high kudos Christine for the heel thing. I love the idea of wearing high heels but I never last in them lol
      If you want comfy shoes then you need some Docs. And, since you will be in London, you should pick of a pair while you are there. Sure you can buy in this country but somehow buying them there? feels better!

Leave a Reply

