There Was No Whiter Shade of Pale…

I had a crappy day today. Felt bad. Stomach issues. But I didn’t die. Johnny Winter died. Yesterday.

How did I find out? I opened my mail tonight and there was the e-mail from The Secessionist Rag. Roger had  a new post. A Brief Intermission. To say that Johnny Winter was dead. Damn.

It wasn’t all that long ago I was talking about Johnny in a post: my first guitar crush, my first concert, my first blues guy. I loved him. He was always and forever.

I cried after reading of Johnny’s passing. Of all the beloved musicians that have left this planet, I shed tears only for him. His music figured quite prominently in the soundtrack that was/is my life. The impact his music had on me since adolescence has been tremendous. Not yet a teenager, I was hooked with his first album….

I’m going to bed now. Sad. And heartbroken.

I suppose it appropriate that the song I post is the very first that “got me”. His rendition of the Henry Glover song was just….it just was. And so it became my “go to” song through early adolescence. Hell, it’ll always be my “go to” song….especially tonight.

 

 

6 thoughts on “There Was No Whiter Shade of Pale…

  1. Oooh, I like this song!
    I’m sorry you had a bad day. Those are no fun. I hope that some good music, and happy tidings helped in the aftermath.
    I really like this song, though. Omigoodness, I might have to create a Pandora station. Thank you so much for sharing it. 🙂
    I hope you’ve been well…couldn’t call in last night…I’ll admit it: my social meter was down to zero. Had so many meetings, and tutoring appointments over the week that yesterday, I was a zombie. lol
    I hope you have a great week! Sending hugs! xo

    Like

    1. Yes, good song. By far Johnny’s was my favorite rendition. Yes, music always helps no matter the circumstance!
      There’s much music to pass along Cyndi. I have a feeling we like a lot of the same music:)
      Yes, other than the stomach “push back” stuff, I am well. Don’t you worry your clarklike head about a zeroed out social meter. You’ve got a lot on your plate. Hey, at least you fit in:) I hear zombies are still all the rage (attempt at humor!)
      Thanks on the weekend wishes. I’m sending a couple of hugs back your way:)

      Like

Leave a Reply

