Thank God for the TToT. Really.

SPECIAL BULLETIN! THE FOLLOWING POST WAS NOT POSTED EARLY THIS MORNING BECAUSE PRIOR TO COMPLETING A QUICK EDIT – POOF GOES THE INTERNET! WHICH MEANS I HAVEN’T BEEN TO ANYONE ELSE’S BLOG SINCE WAY EARLY THIS AM. BUT WHAT THE HECK. I’M POSTING THIS ANYWAY…IT’S NEVER TOO LATE FOR THE INTERNET TO COME BACK ON:)

‘Cuz if it wasn’t for the TToT then when the heck would I publish new material? Well, that’s what I’ve been asking myself for what? almost 10 months. Holy f’ing shit! (excuse my language, especially today, being Sunday and all, but I really have to use expletives).

There it is. 1st Thankful. Which wasn’t going to be first thankful, but now it is. The TToT for providing a platform of expression. Somehow, someway when all other “somes” are not present.

I have a new appreciation for George Thorogood. He makes me smile:) Driving back from work (it’s an hour’s commute minimum) the song you hear in the vid at the end of this post, if you make it to the end, and I  hope you do,(unless you choose to play it while reading this post), came on the radio. How is it I never realized it was being told more than being sung. As I listened to each and every word my smile kept getting bigger. Thank you George even if I’m loving you now, in the twilight of my years. Having said that I will say this – I luv, luv, luv his version of Gone Dead Train. And I loved playing along with it on bass. Back when I was learning. To play. Bass….

I’m flyin’ by the bootstraps today, so next up….all you writers out there. The ones who participate in Lizzie, how the hell do you do it, Rogers’ bloghop. I can totally spend hours going from post to post to post. I apologize if I don’t make it by to everyone’s place, but at least I know you’re there when I need you!

Real world stuff makes up a quarter cup ‘o the recipe this week. Monday morning I was asked by my operations manager to step into the managing partner’s office. Being a clark, the first thing I did, even knowing it not to be true and just kidding w/my own damn self, was to make the joke about being called into the principal’s office. But seriously, it was “official”. Opening line (after being advised we were on a conference call with a managing attorney – “it’s been intimated that you have expressed an interest in transferring to our….. office”. Backstory, kinda sorta: was recently engaged in general conversation with co-workers, operations mgr. of pending changes for our office location. There’s been lots of buzz/excitement about what things will be like in the new place, etc. Out of damn nowhere, my scottian self blurts “hey, is it possible to transfer to….?” My OM says, “I’ll check into it for you. (that was 2 weeks ago) Story too long? ‘K. Bottom line: if I want to transfer down (hint) to our ….office, you can. Just let us know. And, if you want to go and work there for a day or 2 to see if you like it, let us know. Wow. Do I have a great boss or what?

If I want to take my leave of the Washington, D.C. metro area and trade it in for a “beach” town that is kind of like here but not, I now have that option. Life is about options, no? Thankfuls from that long assed paragraph up there?: my 2ndary scottian aspect speaking up without thought to the outcome LOL; not worrying whether or not I could transfer; now having the option to transfer and lastly, the flexibility to do so.

In case the counting is getting a bit fuzzy, I’m up to #7. 3 more Thankfuls. Got to love how things work out. The week began with the opportunity to transfer to another office within our company. Then came the OT. It’s project time and with it authorization to work a little overtime. Which will come in mighty handy when I take a trip to check out my “new” office.

I don’t know that I will ever have a week of TToTs without mentioning the Wakefield Doctrine. For those of you who haven’t heard about it, it’s a most efficacious life tool. To be perfectly frank and honest, if I did not have the WD, I might not be inclined to accept the offer of this transfer (not that I have but, you know, in case I do). But by knowing, by being able to identify how a person relates themselves to the world, I have an incredibly cool and often fun, foolproof method of dealing with pretty much anything and anyone. The caveat? To remember that “it’s about me, not them”. To remember I always have a choice.

“The world is a feeling. I’m responsible for how I feel”.

14 thoughts on “Thank God for the TToT. Really.

  1. It’s 230am and I soooo want to hit play on George. ..but even more I want the anxious poodle to stay asleep!!!!

    Good to know about the internet …I was missing you. …secondary roger and alll….

    .incredible work opp!!! Oh man a beach community!

    Am I FRIST???

    Like

    1. Not counting other times zones, at 2:37 am EST, yes Zoe. YOU ARE FRIST! TA DA! What the heck are you doing up at that hour? lol
      I don’t know but when I was a teenager, George wasn’t on any playlist except the radio’s:) Amazing how age changes our “tastes”.
      Hope the Skip-oodle slept through the night. That is the more important thing.
      Aw. Thank you Zoe. Always that insecurity – will they think I don’t care? How will they know it’s because of those pesky “techinical difficulties”. lol It’s amazing how hinged on the day almost posting early (not) seemed to impact my day yesterday…
      Yeah, I know. Now comes the hard part. And I find myself channeling Mick Jones – “should I stay or should I go”.

      Like

      1. Insomniac and poodles

        Skip was part of the reason I was up… he started cacking in his sleep and heaved in the bed… I had just changed the sheets and he had just gotten back to sleep… I dont remember doing this with my kid but I do it with this one…oh well…

        omg… I so have that stuck in my head now! It is tough to move any job. Its cool that you can go check it out first!

        Like

        1. Ah. I remember well the nights with geriatric dogs. He loves you even more for losing sleep for him:)

          You’re welcome? LOL Yeah, it is cool. And kinda scary at the same time. But…. then again,… exciting!

          Got to hit the road now. Gee, only an hour behind when I wanted to leave today:)

          Have a good Monday Zoe!

          Like

        1. Thank you for the encouragement. I know that I should. Being a clark, you can imagine all the things going through my head lol.
          Being older I know I don’t really have time to languish on the question of where to “settle” down. I/we had 2 chances. You know the saying(s): 3rd times a charm or….strike 3! your’re out!

          Liked by 1 person

        2. If you’re alive, there’s always another chance. What is ‘settle down’ anyway? Find ‘home’? Discover a place where being you is in harmony with the surroundings?

          I’m in an odd mood. Feel free to disregard me. Older schmolder. Do what you want to do and what works for you for now.

          Like

        3. The words of a clark:) I have always felt that – it’s not over, ’til it’s over. In spite of feeling weary, I know I have no other choice. I know that if I have another day it is a gift. I’ve never been one to squander a gift intentionally.

          I shall not disregard you. In fact, when you are in the “odd” mood, feel free to stop by the Edge. To escape, commiserate, vent, laugh, cry…simply be:)

          Therein lies the challenge. What “works” for me now. I’m totally clueless….today.

          Like

  2. dyannedillon

    Am I understanding that IF you decide to transfer, you would go to DC? If I had to live in a big city, I think I could live there. And even if you stay put, you know people want you, they really want you!

    Like

    1. No! I am living in the DC metro area now. The move would be further south (coastal) away from this area.
      It has it’s “coolness” but traffic is an issue:) majorly lol
      Yes. And that’s a nice feeling:)

      Like

  3. I live north of Baltimore but have lived in the DC metro hell area. I don’t know how you do it
    ’cause I will kill a bitch daily if I had to commute in that crazy traffic. Check out the options at the new location. It never hurts to look. Whatever you decide, I hope the end result is just what you want it to be.

    Like

    1. LOL Yes, the traffic is hell. Luckily, even though the commute is long I don’t have to get on the beltway, 95 or 66. Thank God for that! I’m definitely keeping the option open. I plan on taking a couple of long weekends to go down and check it out.
      Thanks, Pattie. Me too:)

      Like

Leave a Reply

