One clark’s hell is another clark’s Edge and vice versa…it’s a gesture

“Saturday, March 14, 2015 9:25 am. Happy Birthday Aunt Jean. I don’t know how old you would be but if you can hear me, I love you:) You were the first of the family to say it out loud on a regular basis. Hell, the first to say it out loud! I still have trouble saying it. Take after my mother and my father in that I naturally am more a “show not tell” person. I realize now in my wizened old age that not everyone can “see” love. Not a thing appreciated. Boils down to perspective and how one relates themselves to the world. What does my action represent to someone who does not share in my worldview? Gestures as a clark, are often misinterpreted by those who are not clarks. Do I blame the other person for not “seeing” or understanding? No. My challenge is to recognize (but not always like lol) how another relates themselves to the world which is to say as a clark, scott or roger. Once I do that, it’s a whole lot less frustrating, aggravating. In fact, it simplifies life tremendously as it reduces the oft associated “negative” feelings that arise from the puzzlement of “how come they didn’t get it?!” or “WTF! don’t they see why I …?” Damn. This is turning into a post or something about the Wakefield Doctrine. Let’s get back to regular programming….One clark’s hell is another clark’s Edge and vice versa…that shall be the title to today’s TToT post. But right now….it is a rainy day before my birthday. The sky is cyin’ Stevie and I’m glad. Means I won’t have to my own damn self. Today – both my first and last day. It is my challenge to act without hesitation, to walk the path with heart, to insure I am moving forward. Not just not sliding backward but actual forward momentum. Difficult. I feel like crying and crawling into a hole. But I know that short of dying, that’s no option. Especially, for a clark.”

Yes. Yes this is a TToT post. Most of those who will read my post (and I hope that you do) are familiar with the Wakefield Doctrine.Β Those of you who are new, welcome. As you can see from my blog’s header this is a place of a clarklike female. That says it all.

I don’t often share my “daily words”. They’re not for public consumption. But I couldn’t help notice they were sounding more and more like a post! So I thought, why not publish that portion. “Why not?”Β Those 2 words need to be front and present in my brain. They need to be the revelry call to arms. And when the situation calls for it, throw in a few choice adjectives.

Ten Things of Thankful Blog Hop. Lizzi Rogers began this hop some time ago. It was a seed that has grown into a Banyan Tree.

So what am I thankful for this week?…..#1. Not dying on the highway. No, not being dramatic. When you commute everyday on the Beltway, well, you’re driving a crap shoot. #2. Having a place like this Hop to share when I want. #3. Being wanted by 2 small humans to spend the night. To have a “movie” night as only 5 & 10 year olds would have it. In other words, I’m thankful for my 2 great- nephews. #4. Understanding “identification” and having other clarks with whom I can identify. Hopefully, it works in the reverse. #5. Generosity of family. #6 To hear of such good things happening in the lives of my friends. (way to go Cynthia!) #7. the Wakefield Doctrine Saturday Night Drive Call In. #8. Transition of seasons. Yup. Seems that winter has not so gracefully nor quietly, exited the building. Until next year….#9. That Lizzi is really “Coming to “Murica”. Hey Lizzi! I even scheduled a Dr.’s appt. around your arrival so it wouldn’t interfere! Thanks for the itinerary! LOL #10 Another day.

“It may be rainin’, but there’s a rainbow above you
You better let somebody love you, before it’s too late”
(Glen Frey and Don Henley)

22 thoughts on “One clark’s hell is another clark’s Edge and vice versa…it’s a gesture

  1. valj2750

    Saying those words and acting those words. I say them often. My husband acts them always, but rarely says them. Sometimes I have to ask to hear them. Hope the sun shines on your birthday.

    Like

  2. You know what I love about coming here? That I walk away with good music and good ideas. πŸ™‚
    And now I”m thinking about pictimilitude: I’ve not posted there because my life is the picture of insanity right now, but maybe – and I got this idea from your post – it’s a matter of “categorizing” – you know, creating an “art” category, a “house projects category” an “answer this question” category, my work as a teacher, etc., etc. Because some of what I write isn’t for public consumption, as you said, but there’s a good bit that is.

    But…time isn’t on my side. Just for right now. It will be. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Not dying on the highway is straight up worth a thankful spot. I used to drive the Schuylkill Expressway to Philly six days a week. Nicknamed the “sure kill” for good reason. Crap shoot is putting it mildway. And anything with a Beltway is literally hell on wheels, whatever the city. Glad you’re here to talk about it!
    You got to see the ‘Murica trip’s actual itinerary? Cool. I have only a vague idea but I believe I’m part of the transport in some way or another. Details TBD. Pretty exciting!
    I quite enjoy the Wakefield Doctrine – even on the days when I don’t quite get it! πŸ˜€
    Have a great week!

    Like

    1. You said it! Oh, man. No kidding Lisa…”sure kill” is a dead giveaway. No pun intended!
      A tentative one I’m sure. Very exciting!!
      Hey, if you can have fun with it that’s half the battle lol
      You have a great week too!

      Like

  4. HAPPY BIRTHDAY, DENISE! You must be one cool aunt for those boys to want to spend so much time with ya! Its great being the cool aunt! All the more reason to stay alive on the beltway! Have a great Birthday! Z and S

    Like

    1. Thank you Ivewalker! I’m amazed I can still be the “cool aunt”. I was to my niece and nephew and to think I still have it for their children. Makes me smile big time. lol

      Thanks always to you Zoe and to the Skipster always:)

      Like

  5. When I met my husband, I was so weirded out by his “love” – my family was not like that at all. My family didn’t say “I love you” and we never did hugs or kisses. It took time. Now they’re weirded out by me and how I raise my son to say “I love you”. They find it hard (like my own parents) to say I love you to him. It’s almost painful to watch….but it doesn’t mean they don’t. They do. A lot.
    Anyways….I don’t understand the doctrine. I don’t. I think I do but then I read other posts and I don’t. Damn it!!

    Like

    1. Good description “weirded” out. I get it. That’s how I felt when I was kid getting to know my Aunt. We never got off the phone without her saying “I love you”. I didn’t know what to say! “Thanks?”
      It does take time to get used to it. But like anything we value, it eventually gets woven into the fabric of daily life.
      Understanding some posts…well, that’s good! And hopefully, enjoyable. And fun! Anything you don’t understand, you can always ask:)

      Like

  6. Pingback: One clark's hell is another clark's Edge and vi...

  7. Kristi

    Happy birthday! I don’t have a commute, but I certainly understand the sentiment behind #1. I still think about the woman I observed trying to capture a pigeon on the freeway last week, and wonder how in the world that turned out.

    Like

  8. Pingback: The Personal Writing Category | Pictimilitude

  9. dyannedillon

    Love Stevie Ray and Emmylou!
    I commuted in LA, so I understand #1 completely.
    How cute that you were “wanted” for a sleepover! Did you have to sleep on the floor? I can’t sleep on floors anymore. Or maybe it’s won’t? Either way, not happening.
    My family is one of those that doesn’t say I love you. You just know.
    The itinerary is pretty awesome! It’s really going to happen, isn’t it?

    Like

    1. I don’t listen to them nearly enough anymore.
      Whoah! Now that is scary! Just seeing pictures on TV is intimidating lol
      They’re at a nice age right now:) No, didn’t have to sleep on the floor but to be honest I might have slept better!
      It does look awesome and yes, I think it really is:) Oh, to be that young again lol

      Like

Leave a Reply

