Who’s That? At the Edge of the Field?!

When we last left our anti-heroine, she was sitting on the bench. Grindin’ on a wad ‘o Grizzly, Girlie looks around and spits. “Yo! Jellyhead! Get the fuck outta my face!” 

“Who you callin’ Jellyhead, bitch? Why, I oughta come over there and clock your sorry punk ass!”

“Whadya waiting for old man? Next year?! *laughing derisively*

Jellyhead glares at our anti-heroine, flames shooting from the top of his head (no, not really, but he looks really, really pissed)

“We gave you a good contract, Girlie. A solid contract. Your people had every chance to negotiate during the season. And you didn’t. Your loss.”

“Tell me something I don’t know, Mr. J. Tell me something I don’t know.”

“Listen, Girlie. I’m gonna tell you like it is. We get a lot a players come through this town. Some are ready made for this game. Others, like your own punk ass self, come in thinkin’ they can fuck with the rules. ‘Fraid you gotta get some perspective. You shoulda known. 3 times to bat. After that, all bets off. End of contract. End of game. You’re a free agent now. You got to leave.”

“Thought I’d hang on the bench. Isn’t that where ya go when ya strike it out? The bench? The fucking bench?”

Jellyhead’s gaze softens, his voice calmer.

“Too many players going through rotation, Girlie. Too many. Can’t have every loser taking up valuable space. A dugout’s only so big. You need to move on. Find something else to occupy your time. You had your chance. You got to make room for the younger players. See? That one? And that one over there….they’re still young. They’ve still got time. You’ve already passed the bottom of the 9th. Go on home.”

“Got no home, coach. I’ve got no home.”

“You better find one. And fast. You don’t want to get picked up by that team do you? “

“What team is that?”

“Get your damn head out of your ass! You know what team I’m talkin’ about. One of the biggest teams around, for, you know, players like you.”

“But I’m not like them! I can’t play on that team! Why, they don’t even play! They sit around, wasting away, ending their careers in the worst possible…not one of ’em has ever hit one out of the park!  Not even at the end.”

“Go on now, Girlie. Go. I’ll put in a word with the big guy for you. Honest, I will. The rest is up to you.”

 

11 thoughts on “Who’s That? At the Edge of the Field?!

  1. This is the kind of thing that has actually happened at various places of employment over the years (not very recently, though).
    And sometimes I think that I live in my head so much that it can be hard to relate to other people who may or may not ever understand….

    Like

    1. I know what you mean Cyndi.
      There’s a lot of folks who won’t, who can’t understand. Simply because (through no fault of their own) they don’t share your worldview. It’s a frustration sometimes I know!
      The other thing I know? I know you know/understand so much of what I try to express, even when not always successfully expressed. lol Likewise, I’m pretty sure I “get you”. I understand:)

      Like

Leave a Reply

