Saturdays, Sun and GirlieOnTheEdge. What’s Wrong with That?

Nothing my friends. Absolutely, nothing! In fact, it sounds pretty darned good to me. I had a friend remind me this morning that there is nothing that can’t be written about. While conversing, I made an off the cuff comment and he said “See! Right there. That could be a post”. That was the sentence that was made.

I agreed whole heartedly and told myself that as soon as the conversation ended, I would begin that very post. Oh! I make myself laugh. Do you know that almost an hour later, a load of laundry gurgitating, dishes washed, coffee long since consumed….I forgot the most wonderful topic of which to write. Dammit!

Perhaps I was distracted by the “tasks”?. Perhaps it was the disruption of my routine? I’ve never done laundry at 10:0 am on a Saturday. Never mind the 10:00 am part, laundry on a Saturday! I’m not crazy. But wait! I’m a clark, so yeah, I qualify for the “crazy”. LOL

There’s a conflict raging like a coastal no’easter inside me this morning.  But wait! Outside of my 4 walls is the sun, full octane, now pretty high in the sky. Projected temp? 81! Wha? Seesaw, rollercoastering temps in the mid-Atlantic but I’m not complaining. No sir. Not me. But it is the source of a bit of discomfort.  I’ve somehow tricked myself into assigning worth/value/progress of my life to seasonal changes. They’re a marker of time, non? Door #1 has been opened.

In the spirit of full disclosure (“cuz that’s what I decided on January 1, 2015, that this year was gonna be about), I will tell you that I struggle now. With it all. As so many of us do. There is no one without personal challenge. On a variety of levels. How we approach those challenges, what we do “about them” is personal (and sometimes not). In the end it’s our own responsibility to deal or not deal. With life.

Lizzi, as we all know, is the person responsible for giving life to the blog hop known as the Ten Things of Thankful. As such, today I’m feeling this as my first thankful. That she reminds us of the immense value of publicly giving thanks. It serves not only as reminder/catharsis for our own damn selves but I find it is helpful to read of others’ thanks. The hop is a doorway. We open it is as wide as we are willing and sometimes able.

2) Family is most certainly a thankful. In all it’s forms. In all it’s complexities (nice word for fuckuptedness at times). I have found my own sense of family out here, on the internet. I know! What a weird thing coming from a clark who for the last 5 years has been so…shall we say “private”.

3) The weather. Truly. Right now. These last few days of burgeoning blossoming trees and flowers and budding bushes. Glorious “first” days of spring. Last night I took a short walk. Half the sky was stormy the other half breaking through with end of day sun. A few sprinkles, then not. The odor of earth, the aroma of new bloom. It was a sensory overload of springlike sensation.

4) The ability to more quickly recognize, and be aware of, the “traps” of self sabatoge and self defeat.

5) The acknowledgement that I’ve progressed on a personal level of being more aware of how others relate themselves to the world. Most of you guys know about the Wakefield Doctrine. If there’s any new folks reading, the Wakefield Doctrine, the theory of clarks, scotts and rogers is a way of looking at life. More specifically, looking at how the people in our lives relate themselves to the world that surrounds us all. It’s also the best life tool I’ve ever come across.

6) My lock in age. Since Clark brought it up earlier in the week for one of his alphabet soup posts, I’ll just say it. Frought with those traps I alluded to in #4, it’s also kind of cool. It actually provides me a sense of security. I don’t really have to wonder what I’ll be like at 80 should I reach that age. I already know:)

7) Music and film will always be a thankful. They require certain senses so in conjunction, I try never to take for granted my ability to not only look, but see. To not only hear, but listen.

8) My physical self as it is. I’m thankful not to be flat out in a bed. If I can walk. I can do much more.

9) Employment and transportation. 2 components in life that are often taken for granted. Until one doesn’t have either one. I’ve been lucky and blessed with regards to transportation. However, I have been among the multitudes who have not been/are not advantaged with employment or the ability to self-employ.

10) Another day. Now. Presently. Today.

Get up people. Right now. And go do something. Something not routine. Something different. Switch it up. You may not always have that opportunity. Experience the world….differently. 

 

10 thoughts on “Saturdays, Sun and GirlieOnTheEdge. What’s Wrong with That?

  1. Frist!?
    Ive been trying to do something different for a while…. but the things Im choosing arent satisfying enough… must be my clark edge… Dunno. glad you are getting out in the warm today… I just dragged Doug for about a mile or so up the road and through the woods on the way back… it was quite lovely!

    1. You, friend, are indeed Frist!

      Sometimes, we have to allow the different to present itself by doing things…sideways lol

      Oh, Doug is a happy dog today! It does sound lovely indeed, Zoe. It is a day to be outdoors!! I’m headed out shortly to attend the 10yr old’s soccer game. Spring has arrived!

  2. Christine

    Family “complexities”. Very polite way of saying it. 🙂

    The weather has been fabulous. It made my list, too.

    Funny how we regulars in the TToT are becoming more like each other in our writing. I have written several non-numbered posts now, while you and a certain other clark are making numbered lists. Cool.

    Darn shame about the forgotten topic. Perhaps it will come to you again when you aren’t thinking about it.

    1. Isn’t it great! I love all the blooming trees and flowers.

      It’s so true. I’ve noticed how we’ve all been getting creative with the “numbering”:) I can’t speak for that other clark, but I feel compelled sometimes to write my list in the more traditional manner 😀

      I know! I couldn’t believe I would forget it so quickly!! Hope so.

  3. Kristi

    That first paragraph reminded me of the Seinfeld episode when Jerry and George were pitching their concept to the TV executives. “It’s a show about nothing. . . That could be a show! . . . That could be a show!” 🙂

    Sorry for the internal conflict, but glad that you could step outside yourself and enjoy the sunshine and Saturday. Hope the internal storm lessens.

    1. LOL I loved that show. Still do. Those were very funny episodes!

      Thank you for the sentiment Kristi. I’ve not reached the point that I can’t lift myself out of the muck and enjoy being outdoors. I love being outside in pretty much any kind of weather. Easier said on this side of winter of course lol

Leave a Reply

