1 Ferry. 2 Trains. I Made It To The Edge.

Yesterday, I’d set the alarm for 5:30 am. A whopping 75 minutes later than every other day. Should I have been surprised I barely heard the tiny alarm bells ringing not 2 feet from my ear? My body could have slept for another hour easily but….it was a day I’d “planned” (to a certain extent). I found quite quickly my “plans” had fallen apart. The ink had barely dried when I discovered my timetable of events got all kinds of blown to hell.

But! I had a “plan” b. I’m sure I’ve mentioned this before, but in case you don’t remember. I eliminated the word “plan” from my vocabulary some years back. I don’t normally use it in conversation. If pressed I will refer to it (the concept of “plan”) as an “option”. ย Option sounds more…flexible. More amenable to alteration without the implication of failure. Ya know?

I stepped out into an early morning mist. Spring it seems was being stubborn! Harboring the sun behind dark, pillowy clouds, she spat on the earth in disgusted bouts of selfishness. Sluggish, the clouds hung heavy and threatened their own retaliation. I would not be dissuaded. No sir.

My frist T-ful is that once I embarked upon the non “plan” nka “option”, the sky gradually cleared it’s throatย (where did that come from? gross!) to reveal a gorgeous sky of youthful blue. Hey! You know this is a Ten Things of Thankful, right? I mean, it may be late but it’s still the weekend!

Blues skies, blue car. What more could a Girlie ask for as she heads out and away from the city on a Saturday morning. First stop, hair cut. Been 6 months since my last one. Now that my office has moved to MD, I don’t have the convenience of going down to the 1st floor anymore to get my hair done. 2.5″ off the length, 1″ off the top. I love it! That was going to be my #2 but I’ve got to amend that. No wait! I’ll retract that amendment and raise you my #3.

I’ve only been going to this stylist for about a year. It’s not like we’re best friends. But I get her. I like her. And she’s a clark. With a strong secondary scottian aspect. And so we relate. When she was ready for me, we greeted each like long lost friends. We chatted a bit about what to do style wise. She remembered that the last time I was in to see her was under sad circumstances. She remembered I’d had a death in the family. I didn’t expect that. Here’s the thing I’m grateful for. Her hug. So out of the freakin’ blue. Once finished doing my hair, she walked me to the front desk to check out. We had the parting chit chat, “no, I’m good on the products yada, yada” and suddenly she walks over and gives me a damned hug. I hugged her back. I don’t know why she did that but it was nice. Maybe she could sense I needed one. I don’t know.

4. Did I mention the weather? And that I was driving away from the hustle bustle? However long or short I headed towards Leesburg and turned on to the Rt 15 bypass. I’d heard about a little ferry that ran across the Potomac River to Maryland. I’ve got nowhere else to be why not! 5 miles off of Rt 7, I hung a right on White’s Ferry Rd. a narrow, winding road that cuts through expansive farmland. Very much a country road. As I approach the part with a sharp curve I see a deer standing in the middle of it (the road, not the farmland). She looks at me and doesn’t get out of the way until I’m almost on top of her. It was breathtaking. So pretty. So peaceful. Road and doe.

5. I’m thankful I enjoy driving and seeing new places. Most importantly, I’m thankful I drive well. I used to think that maybe I was a race car driver in a past life. lol Not that I drive really fast. It’s not about the speed.

I’m only at 6 and I’ve got a rambling 670 words! Even I’m falling asleep. OK. Let’s get all scottian and put this baby (and Girlie) to bed. Number 6! Being all caught up at work. I’ve been doing the work of 2 since my partner in crime semi-retired. She will be working PT from home beginning tomorrow. Yeah. I’m jealous ๐Ÿ™‚

7) Sunday. I slept until, what? 7? If not, it was close to it. This weekend has been a challenge. It’s been a weekend where I wanted to see what I couldn’t. Except once you want a thing it looms larger than life inside your head. Unless you can distract yourself and somehow still be prepared. Without trying. No! That was not very scottian at all! LOL

8) I drove to Manassas today to sell my car (the now extra one). I drove there not having a ride back to Alexandria. I didn’t let secondary factors keep me from my primary objective. If you don’t ask the question, you can’t really know the answer. Sometimes you get surprised. I asked for a ride to the Vienna Metro. I got a ride to the Vienna Metro. Which brings me to the 2 trains. Orange Line to Blue Line.

And my #9. The train rides were good. I like riding trains. They’re very much like tubular time capsules, little escapes hatches. For you hockey fans? Seems the Caps were playing tonight.ย I know this only from seeing no less than 30 people standing on the platform in pretty much the same team jersey. Apparently a lot of people like No. 8. (hold on. did a google search. aha! it’s the playoffs). Can’t seem to drag out the scott in me so I shall slog on. I’ve saved the best for last. You see, once I arrived at the Franconia-Springfield station, I was still without a ride. Well, my dr. told me a year ago I needed to walk. So today I did. I’m guessing 5 miles or so. It may have taken me 1.5 hours to walk from the metro station but you know what? I’m so very thankful I’m physically able to do such things.

Last, but never least, is my #10 thankful for another day. As I walked this evening, I realized how lucky I am. In spite of less than optimum life circumstances, all of what I needed today was made available to me. If you look in the right direction, there’s a good chance you can see what it is you can’t always see…

 

 

21 thoughts on “1 Ferry. 2 Trains. I Made It To The Edge.

  1. Wow! Seriously full weekend AND new hair! As one who used to walk everywhere for miles , congrats on choosing to walk. …great stress relief if for nothing else than it takes time and forces you to slow down some. Have a great week!

    1. I know! I feel all kinda lighter ๐Ÿ™‚
      Yes, it was good. Except I’m not used to pushing so many buttons to cross the road(s). I feel quite adept now LOL
      Thank you. You too!!

  2. LOVE trains. and love this post! Shh…I’m at work and I’m finishing checking email, but this came into my inbox and I had to come over and read.
    Isn’t that so fun about clarks? When you meet one, especially one with a similar proportion of clark-to-scott, it’s really like meeting a long lost best friend.
    Didn’t know your office had moved. You know, our lives are more parallel than meets the eye: I’m staying with in-laws, gotz me a job in another place, and our house is under contract again. ๐Ÿ™‚ I decided not to blab to the world this time. Hopefully the contract will “stick.”
    I was thinking of you when I painted my toenails last night. Except not red. Silver glitter this time. With rainbow specs. I’m kind of addicted to sparkly things. ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Sorry I haven’t been able to call in lately: we’ve had tickets to the symphony that some friends gave us and we went to see it on Saturday. Omg – I LOVE jazz symphony!
    Anyways, I better get back to work. Sending hugs and best wishes for a great week!

    1. *whispers* Thank you and don’t worry. I won’t breath it to a soul that you’re at work reading….my blog post:D
      It is. It’s that instant “knowing”. Ya do but ya don’t.
      Yeah. We moved to Rockville this past February. Now that you mention it. There are some parallels!
      I’m very happy to hear about the you know what and will pray the contract’s got stickum (that stuff they used in the old days of football lol) all over it ๐Ÿ™‚
      That sounds totally cool. I’ve seen the glitter polish and really like some of them. Just not sure I could pull it off. But you Cyndarita? You most certainly can pull off silvery, glittery toes!
      No worries. Just miss talking to you real time. Very nice. The symphony. Except I don’t know that I’ve ever heard of a jazz symphony. Hope you and John had a fabulous time.
      OK. By now you’ve gone back to work and are now at the in-laws. Sweet dreams Cyndarita. I’m sending you back hugs and the same wishes for an excellent week!!

  3. Pics or it didn’t happen.

    I’m glad you got a hug.

    I liked your description right up until the sky cleared its throat and hocked up a goober over the weather.

    And dammit, now I want to know what you tried to couldn’t…

    1. LOL You are so right and one of these days (before the fall) I will get myself a smart phone. Then I’ll be “proving” myself all the time lol. At least at first ๐Ÿ™‚

      You make me smile widely Lizzi. I never in a million years would have come up with “hocked up a goober”. Good one!

      Rephrase question? (I’ve a feeling you picked up on my being deliberately obtuse. How dare I in the year of “full disclosure” lol)

        1. Oh I bear you absolutely no ill will whatsoever, but I’m also totally aware of the fact that I’m being side-lined and tangentialised in hopes that the original point becomes lost. So…how bout that?

        2. Wha-ho, little lady! You sounding a tad rogerian lol. I didn’t do a thing to you ๐Ÿ˜€

          Did you listen to the vid? Did you follow my instruction to start the clip at 3:20 if not from the beginning?

          What is not to understand in the dialogue? Can you relate? There are those, not so much and to them I say Bravo! For some of us, “life” decisions/choices often get mired in the detritus that comes from living in fear, self doubt and insecurity.

          But methinks you’re looking for the specifics in my life that prompted this regurgitation on a theme. Yes?

          The “history” of how I came to be where I presently am is a story I’d love to share with you one day. In a less public forum. But here’s what I will tell you – I realized something about myself last night. Something awful. Facing homelessness in a mere couple of weeks, I will still hesitate. That’s totally fucked up. The awful retrospect x a lifetime = the fucked up part.

          I had an opportunity to apply for an apt. in my budget that met my deadline for vacating where I presently live. Except, I wasn’t sure. Had to think about it. ?! Think about what?! That I’d rush into securing a roof over my head? Have I learned nothing? Have I not been self-evolving so that I would not succomb to “routine”. The machinations of day to day, year after year. that we think we have a handle on, can still manage to distract us just enough to cause us to stray from the direct path of success. And you can define success any way you want. Bottom line: I found a place that met all the important criteria but could not, put on the spot, sign on the dotted line. I’d decided by Monday this was the place. Monday was too late. Hell, Sunday was probably too late.

          So…how bout that?

  4. dyannedillon

    I was going to say pics or it didn’t happen, but Lizzi beat me to it.

    I’m not a super huggy person, but sometimes, a hug is just the right thing.

    I don’t much care for ferries, except the one from Galveston to Port Bolivar, but I do love drives. And the Metro in DC.

    I saw a group of people dressed in Cardinals jerseys, on their way to the stadium (minor league, not St. Louis), and they were also all zombies.

    1. I know! I know! (Yes, she did!) I felt really bad about no pics. But! I was thinking ahead to when I get my new phone – I’ll even be making videos! (but don’t anybody hold your breath)

      Same here. But I have an appreciation for when it’s done well and at the right moment ๐Ÿ˜€

      I don’t know that I qualify this as a “real” ferry. Not like the Port Bolivar I bet. And it sure wasn’t like the ferry to Martha’s Vineyard or Block Island. The White’s Ferry ride is a quaint, scenic 5 minute trip across the river. 24 cars max on that baby!

      I think I’d take the Metro over the T in Boston. As much as I love Boston and as much as I can’t stand the drivers there, I’d rather drive there than take the T.

      Who said anything about zombies? lol But I know what you’re saying. I just don’t get the concept. Everyone wearing the jerseys in support of the team. That I get, but shouldn’t me just being there be enough?
      Bet if I was a roger it would make perfect sense!

      1. dyannedillon

        My dad used to like to make us take a ferry across the Mississippi that held about 2 dozen cars (hated it). AND he liked one across a smaller river that was 3 car lengths long but held 2 cars, because the cars had to pull forward to leave the shore, then back up when they reached the opposite shore, so the front end of the ferry would rise to the level of the road. Kid you not. Terrifying!

        The Metro is easier to navigate. The T is better than Boston drivers, though, but what isn’t?

        1. Really?! 2 cars?! That’s so funny lol Cars moving forward and backward just to level the “ferry”. No wonder you were scared. What kid wouldn’t be scared of that?
          But I think that’s cool “take a ferry across the Mississippi”. There’s something romantic sounding about “crossing the Mississippi” .

          The Metro is pretty easy to navigate. Guess you’re right but then, I haven’t ridden the T in eons!

  5. My word, I so enjoy your analogies…play on words…the way you paint pictures with your words. “Spat on the earth in…(I can’t keep scrolling up. You know what you said.) awesome. I would have said hocked a loogie. Perhaps it’s local dialect.
    Good for you, just taking the day as it came. A good, long walk does a body good.
    When did you post this? It just now showed up in my reader/feed thing!

    1. Thank you Christine:)
      OK…what’s wrong with me?! “loogie” How could I not think of that word?? LOL “Hocked a loogie” is a common enough “phrase” is it not? lol And I didn’t even think of it. Damn. But then I really, really would have grossed myself out.

      Yup,just went with the flow. Not always easy to do but with a little practice…Yes! It does do a body good!!!

      Don’t know why there’d be a delay in delivery. I posted a little after midnight Sunday. Was trying to get in by the deadline. But I went over by a few minutes. Hope you won’t turn me in to the blog hop police ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. Pingback: How Do You Say “Carpe Diem” in EdgeSpeak? | GirlieOnTheEdge's Blog

Leave a Reply

