Fighting to the Edge.

Thanks be to this, my #1 of the #Ten Things of Thankful Blog Hop. Never heard of Rachel Platten or Fight Song prior to this past Thursday (or was that Wednesday). Why TF? It was another glimpse into a co-worker I’ve never met in person. (she works out of another office). Last week was particularly grueling with seemingly impossible amounts of work = deadlines. Over the lync, “C” gave thanks for having music and to that, I so relate. This was what got her through. Go “C”!

#2 but certainly not secondary, I’m thankful to all those readers, new and regular, visiting GirlieOnTheEdge. I’ve not been reciprocating and I thank you for understanding. I’m not one to offer excuses but sometimes there are circumstances.

Tres Amigos. Friends to remind me to look for the things I may not be seeing – opportunities often occluded by familiarity and routine.

4 qtrs = 1 the Wakefield Doctrine.

5. The local H Mart. I recently moved to a new area. This is one of the local Asian markets. The produce and vegetables are amazing! Now, if I only cooked lol

6, seven, 8 or 11? Nephew 10’s soccer team is playing in the All Star Tournament next weekend.

7. Sound sleep. I don’t know what it is about where I now reside, but I sleep so soundly it’s scary! It feels really good. I never knew how much I missed a “good night’s sleep”.

8. A new found inclination to ask for things (for my own self). I’m a huge fan now of “just ask. what’s the worst they can say, no?…..yes?!”

Nine. Ninth Gate? Inch Nails? Summer. Finally. Arrived.

#10 Today. This day.

43 thoughts on “Fighting to the Edge.

    1. hey Christine!! I just want you to know that, while I do really like Val, when I saw what Denise did (inadvertently, for sure), well, I was just appalled! how could such a thing be permitted to happen, here as we are in the 21st Century?

      Like

  1. A good solid night’s sleep? Awesome.
    Good luck to your nephew! Hope it’s not too hot. Those tourneys can be brutal.
    Good for you, learning to ask for things. I’ve found that people are happy to help, but they can’t read your mind to know what you need. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. Yes! Waking up not tired is a novelty lol
      Thanks! He’s really quite good and his team has done a great job this season. Thankfully, the earliest game is 9:15 am ๐Ÿ™‚
      So very true. I think it’s always been a fear of rejection but in reality “asking” is engaging in an exchange. And you never know what can come of that.

      Like

    1. Oh Val! …wait….Yes, FRIST!
      For some reason Christine’s comments were in moderation. She was FRIST but not showing FRIST. So excluding her invisible comments at the time, you are FRIST ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

  2. valj2750

    Finally, frist. That’s a great song. Mine might be Hit me with Your Best Shot. Yay for good night’s sleeps, Asian markets and Summer.

    Like

    1. ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s a nice feeling for sure.
      Glad you like it. It’s nice. She reminds me of Taylor Swift.
      You bet! You’ve been lucky enough to get to the beach recently. It’s been since last November for me ๐Ÿ˜ฆ and summer isn’t summer if there isn’t beach time!

      Like

  3. Cool about sleep…and I love a good Asian market. You may need to learn to cook to capitalize on it! Get to people when you can… just like asking for stuff…. whats the worst that can happen. You know how I am with music… Im not great there so I dont know if I have a song other than possibly a dirge…just kidding! No really!

    Like

    1. Very cool:)
      I know it. That’s what I was thinking. Now, I just have to find some time. Seems like cooking involves more time that programming 2 minutes on the microwave lol
      Baby steps for me that seemed to have turned into bigger ones. All in the perspective, ya know?
      Yes, music and movies. This song is nice. Lighter than my usual fair but believe it or not, I can go pretty “girlie” on the music when I’m in certain moods.

      Like

  4. Pingback: Fighting to the Edge. | The Ten Things of Thank...

  5. Sound sleep. What’s that?
    I crave that.
    I’m glad that you’re getting it too. I bet it is glorious.
    I wanted my son to play soccer this year because he is such a busy kid. He didn’t want to yet every day at school that’s all he plays with his friends! Oh well. But he did make the all-star team for baseball. He has the most adorable chicken legs in baseball pants.
    I really needed to hear that song so thank you for sharing that. Really xo.

    Like

    1. You’ve got to try it sometime lol Seriously, I didn’t know what I was missing. Until now. Yes. Glorious:)
      Hm..your son plays it everyday but doesn’t want to be on the team. Maybe he just wants to have fun with it!
      Excellent he made the all-star team. Hope his games aren’t too far away.
      You are most welcome. I love hearing about new artists and music. And love sharing ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

    1. You got it all wrong man! I am not de-FRISTING anyone! There are 2 valid FRISTS! Christine is not normally in moderation (what’s up with that Christine?)
      Kristi had no way to know that Christine was sitting in the moderation room FRIST when she stopped by.
      So see. They are both FRIST ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

      1. keep telling yourself thatโ€ฆ. keep your eyes on the western horizonโ€ฆ. you might get enough warning (from the darkening clouds, flashes of lightening and cars and houses shooting up in the air in a path from west toโ€ฆwell to your house)

        not that I’m going to tell christineโ€ฆ not me! nuh uh

        Like

  6. Sound sleep. I finally had some last night. Wow! What a difference in how I feel today. Nothing much beats it. So glad you’re getting some more often now. And “just ask” – that’s something I need to learn to do better. Very glad it’s working for you. That’s excellent! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. Good for you! Yes, it’s amazing isn’t it? You definitely can feel the difference and no, not much beats it for sure!
      I agree that for some of us, it is a thing to be learned. I’m not one of those it comes “naturally” to. Maybe one day:)

      Liked by 1 person

  7. dyannedillon

    I’ve loved that song since the first time I heard it. Great theme song, Denise! You’ve got plenty of fight left in you.
    I’m envious of your good sleep! I haven’t slept well in 3 years. What’s your secret?

    Like

    1. Yeah, guess it is! Damn right I do Dyanne:)

      I have no idea. I’m thinking it’s got to be good feng shui. The very first night in the new place and bam! out went the lights:D
      Maybe you should look into the feng shui thing. There’s got to be something to it. Just does.

      Like

  8. I definitely miss seeing you around! But I am comforted by the knowledge that I am not along in my not-getting-around-edness. it’s a word. Trust me. ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Sound sleep…my Mother was right that it would come seldom after my Daughter was born. I have to be sure that someone else is on Zilla duty to really pass out. Or be sick. On the rare occasions when I really fall into deep sleep I always wake up terrified that I missed some sound she made…and I used to think my Mom was insane. Nope. Not so much.
    Great song – thanks!

    Like

    1. And I you! It’s been crazy at work. I don’t know exactly when it suddenly became my life!! I promise to visit soon:)
      Oh, I believe it’s a word lol
      Aren’t mothers always right? Being sick isn’t the way to sleep well, but I do wish some good, deep sleep for you Lisa ๐Ÿ˜€
      It’s so weird. I can’t even remember ever sleeping so soundly. I’m gonna enjoy it while it lasts ๐Ÿ˜€
      Welcome for the song!

      Like

Leave a Reply

