Of Bags and Bag-Edge, This is GirlieOnTheEdge. And I’m Thankful.

….timidly and not without a modicum of apprehension, she reaches for her laptop. Little did she know the Messenger Bag mailed to her 2 years prior was in itself a message. A portent of what was to come….it’s light yellowish tan canvas body was trimmed with brown leather. It’s strap reinforced with a strip of the aforesesaid leather. No doubt reinforcement to allow for the heaviness that may one day hang upon her shoulders…And so it was, less than 2 weeks later, from a totally different source, a box arrived via the mail. It was a laptop. This laptop. And so began a challenge, a self challenge…a journey, a self journey…

I sit in front of this screen for the 2nd go around. Believe it or not “being on vacation” doesn’t always allow for the “me time” we think we’re going to have, create, enjoy. This is my last official day away. Tomorrow I return to Virginia, leaving family and the homeland in the rear view mirror.

6:06 am is the time and it’s still dark. I want it to stay dark while I write. Try to write. The solitary din of a quiet house, windows wrapped in the dwindling night suits my mood. I continue to tap,tap, tap these keys wondering what the hell will come of it. Anything? I’m beginning to feel like Tom Fearing in the Blogdominion serial story.

I awakened this morning, ripping through sticky cobwebs of sickness that had enveloped me while I slept, wrapping me tightly. (The chest never lies.) I got out of bed in the Room of Re-Direction, feeling as if, no – knowing, I’m starting all over. Oh, it’s been pretty obvious since October 23, 2013 that there was a “starting” over but, like Tom Fearing, this “starting over” is virtual. If I succeed in the virtual world, will that success carry over to IRL?

I sit facing west, a large bay window at 1 o’clock. To my immediate left and due 9 o’clock are French doors, and to my right (yup – 3 o’clock) another, smaller bay window. Dawn is breaking. Fog leaks into the forest, seeping into the morning, winding, wafting, bending through mostly pine trees….a forest to the left, straight ahead….

“…yo! Girlie! you’re not seeing the forest for the trees are ya?!!”

“no, man, don’t think that I am, well, that I haven’t. still time isn’t there?”

“ya got today …right here, right now…today is the only day…”

“alright! I get it. but really. starting over… it’s all a mind game, isn’t it?”

It appears I’ve all but disappeared from the internet these past couple of weeks. I’ve missed the 6 Sentence Story Thursdays hosted by the inimitable ivywalker.Β I’ve come to greatly enjoy contributing to this most marvelous late week blog hop. In the past, I’ve held on by latching my fingers to the other most wonderful of hops, the Ten Things of Thankful, hosted by none other than the Gal About Town who Everyone wants to Know, Lizzi Rogers.

NEWS FLASH! IT’S SATURDAY! WHERE THE HELL IS THE TTOT POST!?Β 

“…Wait. Shouldn’t I be getting ready to head back to Virginia now? Do I have time for this?…”

“…Really?!! You’re going to ask that question? Must be the cold meds, eh?…”

  1. Family – their generosity, ability to live in the moment and wear fashionable hats (for their damn head)
  2. Mostly sunny weather for my trip (on the way here. going back? time will tell!)
  3. That I didn’t get hatefully lost on my trip here when I sleepily took the Garden State in the wrong direction! (So I hadn’t been on the GW Bridge in a while….at least I took the upper level :D)
  4. Dogs.
  5. New phone and hey, have I ever mentioned I have a Kindle? πŸ˜€ lol
  6. Richard Linklater.
  7. This laptop.
  8. the Wakefield Doctrine.
  9. The Ramones.
  10. Another day.
28 thoughts on “Of Bags and Bag-Edge, This is GirlieOnTheEdge. And I’m Thankful.

  1. You were in RI last night!? How nice…yet what a bitch to have to drive back!!! So good to see you last night… I found myself longing to talk to you but the setup wasnt conducive… Not anything specific… You’re just nice to have a conversation with!!! Drive safely!!! Be careful on the garden state!!!

    1. It was my last night there. Hated to leave. Let me tell you…it started alright but then it turned out to be a major bitch drive back lol.
      But I made it safely and that’s what matters the most.
      It was good to see you too! We will have to chat soon. Funny, I was thinking it somehow comforting watching you go about wrapping the Advent Calenders. You know, casual. Almost as if we were all in the same room πŸ˜€
      Thanks! I feel the same about chatting with you too πŸ™‚
      Let me tell you about the Garden State on the way back….I took the wrong exit lol (again) only this time, after a brief bout of thinking I was headed north again, I picked up the NJ Turnpike a little sooner. All was fine until 2nd to last exit on the pike. Then my time went to shit πŸ˜€

    1. Thanks so much Vanessa. Yes, I had a lot of company on the road today and unfortunately there were several accidents off to the side of the road. Thankfully, none appeared fatal.
      Then you be careful too! It can be pretty scary on the highways this time of year.

  2. A laptop bag for a new machine is something I need to get. Removing old files and deleting the no-longer-relevant from this one is something to do.

    Re-imagining my world beyond Today is something I need to do each morning, in the hope of…well. Some kind of Tomorrow.

    What’s in the bag? If it’s a cat, it should stay put, but I do want to know what new world you’re creating.

    Lovely to see you at VidChat, and so so sorry you’re sick. I hope you’ve managed to stay warm *hugs*

    1. Ah. Perhaps a new bag is in order πŸ™‚
      The really wild thing about my bag and laptop is I had accepted the position in VA but wouldn’t be leaving for several weeks.
      Out of the blues, without any notice, my oldest brother sent me the bag. He didn’t know yet I was moving to VA.
      A week later, Clark sends me, under same conditions, a laptop.
      So fortuitous for me! Such surprises! And I have so used them with care and love.

      You my friend definitely have “some kind of Tomorrow”.
      Imagining, re-imagining and living right up until that day. If there’s one thing I’ve learned it’s that no matter what we imagine, what actually comes to be is always a little bit different. And that’s OK. You will set a course, take a first step and the rest? Can’t wait to hear about it.

      It was good to see you too. Almost ran to get my new Penguin hat to show you πŸ˜€ You would like it πŸ™‚

      1. I’m here in my Tigger suit and I DEFINITELY want to see your penguin hat. Next Friday?

        I love that you have generous brothers to look out for you. That’s so wonderful. You and I are both blessed with generous, loving family members. We’re very lucky.

        And yes – serendipitous timing on both their behalfs! Great stuff though. Very reinforcing.

        1. Yes! I will happily show you my hat. And then we’ll get Phyllis to show off her Owl hat πŸ˜€

          We are blessed, aren’t we?

          It was extremely serendipitous! I couldn’t believe it πŸ™‚

  3. Glad you were able to spend some time in Rhode Island with your family. Did you spend some time in a particular tree house? I so want to have a picnic in it. πŸ™‚
    Oooh, a new phone. I do believe I’ll be getting one in the not-so-distant future. Mine is about 4 years old, and it’s beginning to show.
    As for the Kindle…love mine until it died last month.
    I hope your week back in the real world goes well.

    1. Good morning Christine! Yeah, me too. It was a nice visit.
      Why yes, yes I did spend a little time in a particular tree house πŸ˜€ And! Phyllis and I decorated it for Christmas the last day of my visit.
      Tres beautiful πŸ™‚
      4 years is a long time. Don’t tell anyone, lol, but I’d had mine for 8! You will enjoy getting current, trust me πŸ˜€
      Oh no! Will Santa be bringing you a new Kindle?
      Thanks Christine! You too! I’ll be stopping by your place tonight. My apologies but I’m a tad behind first day back from vacation. Go figure πŸ™‚
      Nice to hear from you!

  4. amycake76

    I love Dazed and Confused. That school where the eighth graders slide down the fire escapes to escape a whipping? That’s where I did my pre-student teaching. Right down the street from my university. But that’s not why I love it.

    Is the new phone the one that was new in September? Or is it newER?

    1. Excellent movie, right? πŸ˜€ No way! Really?! Cool. So tell me Sarah, do they really do that hazing stuff to kids before their freshman year?

      Naah. It’s the same phone from September LOL But to me, it’s still new!

  5. dyannedillon

    How far is the drive to RI? I always pictures you East Coasters hopping on a train to go places. I’m thrilled with my big ass new phone. It makes my hand hurt a little, because it’s kind of heavy, but at least I can see the damn thing now.

    1. A little over 400 miles I believe. Funny you should say that! When I was in my late 20’s I would take the midnight train (yes, really!) out of Kingston, RI to Union Station in DC when I would visit my sister in Virginia. It was pretty cool.
      “Big ass new phone”? What kind is it and how big is it?? It makes your hand hurt?! Yikes!
      Hey, it’s might important to see everything on your phone. I love being able to make the font really big on mine, you know, Buick size numhers and all πŸ˜€

    1. Oh, it was! No, thankfully not too bad Pat but on the return trip to VA I took another “odd” exit and for a minute thought I was turned around headed north! LOL That’s what β€œSticky cobwebs of sickness” will do to you πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

