Postscript “735”. This Be a 6 Sentence Story.

Hello. Welcome to GirlieOnTheEdge. It’s been sometime since I’ve written and posted… forgive me father, for that is my sin….But! Ivy tells me I have until this coming Tuesday to post and participate in the 6 Sentence Story Thursday blog hop and by golly I will. Last week, last Wednesday and Thursday evening specifically, I sat with numb brain and could think of nothing. Nada, nunca, non, non, and non.

I woke again this morning (always a good start to the day), to the first sunshine in 2 weeks. I had set my alarm for a stupidly early hour in order to take my car in for the usual mileage maintenance stuff. Except I kept hitting “snooze” until the “snooze” no longer “snoozed”. What was I thinking?! I’m coming off a week of no sleep, incredible stress (work related) and here I am self-imposing a schedule that has “let’s continue the exhaustion until you fall over” written all of it. LOL

Perspective” is one of my favorite words as is “Personal reality“. Some of you know of what I speak. And so it was I found myself writing morning words and discovering I had my 6 Sentence. There’s no time like the present, eh? I mean, that’s what they say, right? So I reminded myself that it’s important to remember it’s all in how you look at things. Today is Saturday. For a lot of writers out there it’s the 2nd day of Lizzie’s Ten Things of Thankful bloghop. Yet, it’s also the in-between time for 6 Sentence Story Thursday.

All of what we might do is always possible if we but stop, jumble up the picture a bit and relax.

“Life should have well taught us by now that fear is more dangerous than anything else anywhere.

It not only prevents the immediate thing from coming to be, it also prevents the potential good that may have resulted from overcoming the fear, from moving forward in spite of it.

All of the good this does me now. And yet, it does. It serves as an awful reminder of how a life can become a waste bucket of broken dreams, hopes denied, challenges unmet, indulgence in mortality.

The fool that I am can still say with utmost resolve, I shall not fail.”

 

9 thoughts on “Postscript “735”. This Be a 6 Sentence Story.

  1. You shall not fail because in failure, or in attitude to perceived failure, lies a different kind of success.

    It may have been Edison who is famously quoted as having discovered 200+ ways NOT to make a lightbulb…

    Like

  2. all those words are so effing true! Fear is such a crippler. I often think of the ways Ive held myself back because of fear of so many things… This was great, Denise! Im glad you hopped in mid-hop…thats why its there til tuesdays!

    Like

    1. It is a most destructive crippler. The one thing I must be constantly vigilant. Thanks L πŸ™‚

      Yes, by golly. If you say I have until Tuesday, then why should I adhere to self imposed “limitations”?

      Like

  3. valj2750

    I’m glad you had the resolve to finish this and post your words. Sometimes I have to say Just Do It, (like Nike) because the bucket is so full of regret. Happy New Year, Denise. And by the way, you inspired me to finish my 6 and post, So Lsat.

    Like

Leave a Reply

