#Ode to Lila. A Sunday TToT Post

I officially walked, Kenneth Cole black leather case hanging from my shoulder, into my new TimeLine at precisely 8:30 am. Monday, May 9, 2015. A relative straight line 7.1 miles from where I presently live, I no longer have the commute from hell. No more Cowboy driving (6:00 am), no more Video Game driving (7:00 pm). The Capital Beltway has given way to a lesser road. And sometimes it’s alright to travel a lesser road.

It has been 4 weeks since my last TToT and these are my thankfuls:

1.) the Cat

2)Β My own damn self

3) the Wakefield Doctrine

4) My new work place. The people there are…nice. The atmosphere is…comfortable. And! They have cake day once a month (yes, there is also ice cream to go with said cake!) I’m grateful to work with a group of people who, from the beginning, made me feel welcome. I appreciate that.

5) And! I’m appreciating enjoying a new career that is not as deadline driven as my last job. I have walked this new world, for a full two weeks and it has taken that amount of time for me to re-adjust my body, my brain. It’s taken that amount of time to learn to not pressure myself to read faster, comprehend faster, do everything…faster. There is not the pressure to get it done by (fill in the time, same day). What a novelty! lol

6) I’m quite grateful for working on the 5th floor. There are a total of 6 floors, 7 if you include the basement where you access the garage beneath the building. I’ve recently (as in the latter part of this past week) begun to walk the the stairs at lunch. I’ll walk up to the 6th floor, turn around, walk down to the basement, back up, then back down and out the garage to take a walk outside. Why not? (The first time I did it I thought my heart would pound right out of my chest!) Besides, I’m not a fan of elevators. Here’s 2 new reasons why: 1) On the close of my second day, I rode Elevator 1 from the 5th floor to the 1st. It’s customary for the elevator doors to open at the floor corresponding to the button you pushed, yes? Well, the ride’s over and the doors didn’t open. I stood there thinking, “huh, what’s up with this… the door will open… now….” only it didn’t and I’m thinking, only for a split second, “shit! what if I’m stuck in here?“. I pressed the 1st floor button a couple of times. Nothing. They say 3rd time’s a charm. It was. The door opened. Well, since I’d yet to decide about taking the stairs, that little episode convinced me not to ride Elevator 1! Which leaves Elevator 2. One day early last week, my 2nd week (and before the stair “challenge”), I arrived at work and rode up in Elevator 2. As soon as I see the 5 light up and the bell ding, I’m standing in front of the doors. Waiting to exit. And I’m waiting. And waiting. WTF! I press the 5 button. Nothing. I press it again. Nothing. I press it a 3rd time and presto, chango! the doors open. What the hell is up with that?!

7) Music. Need I say more? OK…Β access to all the music πŸ˜€

8) Lizzi Lewis for creating this bloghop and keeping it going after so many years. Often a thing created loses energy over time regardless of our fondness for it.

9) The realization that no matter how long my absence, when I return to the virtual world, all the people I’ve grown fond of and some newer people I’ve only just begun to know, are still there/here. Still writing. Still creating. Still present. How wonderful is that πŸ™‚

10) This day. Right now. Each minute moving forward. The knowledge that there are resources available to me to assist me in doing anything, should I know where to look; should I have the energy and the inclination. Should I believe.

“All that it is, is what it is”. The challenge? Not to focus on what isn’t.Β 

14 thoughts on “#Ode to Lila. A Sunday TToT Post

  1. YAYAYAY! So *glad* to see you! Hooray!
    I love your thankfuls as always and the opening part is great about the lesser roads. Nice, creative writing there. πŸ™‚
    I’m thankful for you, the Doctrine and my cats, too.
    And Vinnie. Hehe.
    I need to follow your footsteps: not be as deadline driven. Going to see how the grant thing works out, but…a’int gonna do it forever. I’m thinking going back to one of my first jobs as a ski instructor sounds pretty sweet right about now. LOL.
    Sending you hugs! More hugs! And sunshine!

    Like

    1. Thank you Cyndi πŸ™‚
      I didn’t mean to leave the cats out! They’re a part of your family too πŸ˜€
      Well, deadlines can be very good things. Unfortunately, in my former job, I would get a lot of “last minute, half to go today” tasks. That can wear on a person after awhile.
      Yes, the grant thing. You’ve achieved so much in such a short time Cyndi, would be a shame if no grants came through. Somehow I don’t see that happening but then again, I’m not very familiar with that aspect of the work sector.
      Ski instructor by day, writer by night, retreat leader by weekend! If you told me that was what you set out to do, well I’d believe you would achieve those goals!
      Hugs back my friend! No sunshine today (again 😦 ) but I’m sure it will break out here one of these days lol

      Like

  2. valj2750

    Hey Denise. You are an iron woman (or you will be) if you keep doing the steps. Glad you have an easy commute and you like your new digs. It’s always cool to connect in the virtual world .

    Like

  3. Kristi

    I think those elevator incidents would convince me to always take the stairs, too! (And the stairs should get easier and easier, too!)

    Like

  4. I had to chuckle. It has been four weeks since my last TToT post….sounded a little like you were at confession!
    The new job and ditching the old commute both sound fantastic. I hope you’ll be very happy there.

    Like

  5. Any workplace where cake is to be found sounds good to me.
    πŸ™‚
    Good for you for using your break to get some exercise. That is how I used to deal with the stress, when my brother was in the hospital. I would just go up and down the stairs, over and over again.
    It’s hard work, but it feels good afterward.
    Yes, I, for one, am still here…writing, creating. It is a shame that many things in our lives dwindle and fade away in energy or continuation. Just how it is, but I hope this one thing, TToT, will continue for a long time to come.

    Like

    1. Yes! A rather unexpected, but pleasant perk πŸ™‚
      I’m not a “desk” person by nature, so I grab any chance I can to get up and move around. Even stairs. lol
      Whatever the method for coping with stress that works, the object is to get relief. If walking those stairs helped you deal with everything going on with your brother, good for you Kerry. The exertion no doubt was a distraction and while you didn’t deliberately set out to do something good for your body, you were!
      I’m glad you’re still “here”. I admire you for your commitment to writing. And! Now podcasts! πŸ˜€
      I do too. It’s been my only writing refuge these last couple of years it seems πŸ™‚ I’ve met a lot of cool and interesting people, read so many different blogs I might not have found otherwise because of the TToT.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

