GirlieOnTheEdge Asks: Are you Listening?

Have you ever heard a song for the first time and instantly felt it grip you with emotional tenterhooks? Hooks so sharp they effortlessly pierce the hardened lining you mistakenly attributed to life?  Left hanging, stretched in places not often stretched, you wonder what just happened? Then you’re all like “I love this song”. No never mind it’s a cover of a very old song. It affects us on a level that all too often we brush aside in the name of “I don’t have time right now” or “I can’t because I have to (fill in the chore, routine)”. Music, people. It’s the doorway to another place within our own selves. Walk through it. Make the effort to open that door. You see, doors are made to open first.

Sunday TToT post? It sure is!

  1. The weather the last few days! In the mid-Atlantic it’s beautiful. Summer has arrived! Having recently emerged from 26 days out of 30 with rain….it’s glorious.
  2. Reminders. From folks who don’t care if I like what they have to say but tell me anyway because well, they care.
  3. My new job. So far so good. It takes time to learn a new job. I am attempting to be more patient with myself and ignore the internal screams of “you’re not learning fast enough”, “what the hell! why didn’t you remember that?!”
  4. That I have a rather pleasant alternative for lunchtime walks if I need a little peace and quiet. The  builiding I work in is situated next to a funeral home. Next to the funeral home is…a cemetary.
  5. I’ve gotten to the gym 2 days consecutively! Don’t laugh! That’s a big one for me 😀
  6.  the Wakfield Doctrine. (of course!)
  7. My health. I’m totally grateful that I have no major health issues and that my mind is still functional, still able to learn and develop. (uh, one of you better let me know if not! lol)
  8. To my littlest of housemates for reminding me to brush my teeth at night! We made a pact a couple of months ago to remind each other every night (almost every night lol) to brush our teeth. In an effort to help a 9 year old with improving her dental hygiene, she has helped me. Funny, that reciprocity thing 😀
  9. Music. New. Old. Old new.
  10. This day. The only day.

Listen for the music. When you cannot hear it, remember to use your eyes to see the music your ears are not hearing…

 

33 thoughts on “GirlieOnTheEdge Asks: Are you Listening?

  1. I love your list – as always. Glad work is going well. But you know what caught my attention? Your mention of the cemetery. See…I have a little side project going on (the cemetery is related, actually). I’m not going to post this week – it’s the end of the school year and I”m a little nuts with getting everything tidied up. Three more days with the kids and then a field trip next Saturday. But I hope to reveal this little side thing I’m working on Sunday or Monday. I’m thankful for you and our friendship. I’m thankful for today: the only day. Such wisdom in that little phrase. Sending hugs!

    Like

    1. Thank you Cyndi. As always 🙂 Really? Oh, now I am tres curious! “Cemetary related”. Hm…can’t fathom a guess…..
      Amazing, isn’t it that the school year is almost ended? Where’s the field trip?
      So we’ll look for the reveal next Sunday or Monday. No fair that you’re going to Keep us in suspense for an entire week! lol
      I too am thankful for our friendship and as always I send return hugs!
      Have an excellent last week of school!!

      Like

  2. Ah, I love music…old…new…all of the above.
    🙂
    I just think cemeteries are fascinating spots, don’t you? So much life once lived, existing in one place, in whatever version of events you believe in. It can be a creepy spot, as so many believe, or it can be full of meaning and endless silenced stories.
    Yeah, as a bit of an expert on the unwell thing, I can sense it. You’re doing well.
    New job, health, dental hygiene pacts.
    🙂
    Great post this week. Glad to be in line, following you.
    😉

    Like

    1. I know this about you now 🙂
      They are. I never gave it much thought before. This is the first time I deliberately went to a cemetary just to walk. I was taken with it immediately. You are so on the money Kerry. The stories are endless.
      Yeah, I think I am at that 🙂
      I’m glad you enjoyed it. What?! I beat you to post? LOL Guess I’d better go check up on you. You better be “there” 😀
      Hey! Wait a minute! Since this is a 3 day weekend, then it seems to me the TTOT extends to tomorrow which would make this TToT Saturday. We’re not late man. we’re just in time 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. dyannedillon

    I saw your new job post and need to go back and read it. I finally feel like I’ve been lifted out of the foggy funk I’ve been in since Ruby died.
    Cemeteries are so cool. I love looking at old, old graves. And funeral homes are quiet places to be near; they’re only busy when there’s a visitation or a funeral.
    You need a little chart and stickers to record your tooth brushing….

    Like

    1. Those kinds of funks Dyanne, not anything we have control over dissipating. Glad you’re finding your way out.
      New job. Better commute. Better 😀
      I am discovering just how cool they are! And, I’m growing quite fond of walking there. I’ve a feeling it will be a place of “regeneration”.
      There is a little pink framed white erasable board, marked out with the days of the week, with tiny eraser and tiny marker hanging on the outside of the upstairs bathroom door. “A” marks when we have brushed our teeth at least a minimum of 2x a day. Bless her, she actually knocked on my door the other night after I’d gone to sleep to tell me she’d brushed her teeth and now it was my turn 😀

      Like

  4. #5 is AWESOME. Bravo. I was delighted that my friend here joined my gym tonight, and she’s SUPER competitive (as am I) so I think we’re going to either go together and have fun, or goad each other on to keep getting there.

    Music *sigh* Always music. One of my closest blogpeople sent me the most GLORIOUS package, and in it was her old iPod, stuffed to the gunnels with music she’d put on there just for me, and as I listened, a piece leaped out and surrounded me with the embodiment of her, and even though some of the lyrics don’t quite fit, it’s become ‘her’ song, and I utterly adore it because it reminds me so strongly of her.

    NEW JOB?!?! Missy, what on earth have *I* missed, while you’ve been missing my updates? CONGRATULATIONS!

    And hey, #10 – we are NOW. You are having a profound and sure influence on me, my friend 🙂 ❤

    Like

    1. Thank you m’dear 😀
      Yay for you! It’s way more fun to go to the gym when you have a workout partner. And double the fun if it’s a competitive friend!

      How special Lizzi. What a very cool gift.

      Yes! It was a job opportunity that presented itself pretty much out of the blue, when I least expected it. I interviewed and was offered the position. This is my 4th week. I can’t believe it will be a month come close of business this Friday! Thank you!

      Yes, we are. Always NOW. Wow. That makes me happy knowing that 🙂

      P.S. We are in need of some major catch-up!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ohhhh WOW! You’re doing such amazing things, and FOR REALS we need to catch up because I think we’re both missing the both of them in each of our lives, if that makes any sense at all.

        BRAVO for all that you’re doing though. I think workout partners and teeth-brushing partners are probably a close approximation lol 🙂

        Like

        1. They have been amazing things and I think that’s why I haven’t been around. We SO have to catch up. I really want to know what’s going on with you and moving here and scholarships! (who you talkin’ to Willis?! of course it makes sense:D)

          Thanks Lizzi. I feel as if we’re both in the midst of doing some very amazing “life things”. (Reminder! Much to catch up on!)

          There’s a 30 days of June challenge going on and it begins today. I have to brush my teeth in the afternoon too but I’m allowed to do it after work. lol
          I’m not so sure there’s that much approximation lol I wish I had a scottian workout partner to make sure I was doing all that I could, as many reps as possible and! and! increase my sets 😀

          Liked by 1 person

        2. What happens in the 30 days of June challenge? YES she’s a scott! Should’ve twigged to THAT one! DOH! No wonder we get on so well lol.

          I think ‘amidst’ is a great place to be and I am SO looking forward to finding out where we end up (and meanwhile we have the journey).

          Like

        3. I haven’t been to my own blog in 2 days?! What?! No! I’m not on drugs lol but where did the time go…..

          Oh, the challenge of simply brushing our teeth lol. I’m trying to help her to brush her teeth at night and by helping her – SHAZAAM! I get the encouragement I need to brush my own teeth…from her! Funny how that works 🙂

          Yes, clarks and scotts in general do get along. There’s a natural affinity between us:)

          The journey is the best part! It’s pretty exciting isn’t it? 😀

          Liked by 1 person

        4. Clarks and Scotts. Hmmm. We do, we do, but my scott has me up at ridiculous’o’clocl Saturday morning to go to the damn GYM! And I have a cold. AND I had the dentist last night. And…and…and

          (I think we do ‘petulant’ better than any of the others)

          So 30 days is tooth brushing?

          Like

        5. I agree with Clark. clarks are just fucked up scotts lol
          Of course she has you up at the crack of dawn! Good for her 😀
          Well that just sucks! Cold is bad enough but dentist? What’s going on with you young lady lol….surgery, cross atlantic crossings, dentist, early morning workouts….life is all over the place!

          Thanks for reminding me. Yup. That’s it 😀

          Liked by 1 person

        6. Are you feeling them? The hugs? 🙂

          Of course you matter Lizzi! You matter to me. To lots of folks.
          I had no idea to what extent “depression” was defined current day. While acknowledging that it can be caused by chemical imbalances, I can’t help but harken back to the days of Psych. 101 when depression was also defined as “anger turned inward”. That always stuck with me. Simpler days? While I never could admit to being cognizant of being angry, I easily spent from jr. high age (maybe younger) through my first year of college, maybe second, depressed.

          I’m happy to hear you are getting back on track. So often characteristic of our people 😀 When we stop despising ourselves and are in a place where we can see clearly (and without self-indulgance) enough to acknowlege our assets and talents and worth, then the opportunity is there to enjoy our own selfs and celebrate our accomplishments.

          Thank you for missing me 🙂 I miss you too xo

          Liked by 1 person

        7. It could be a degree of anger turned inwards, certainly once it sets in and the berating of self begins, but I think at first (for me, anyway) it begins with sneaking suspicions and hints of dark clouds gathering at the corners of what SHOULD be a sunshiney day. As it were.

          I’m sad you were depressed for so long but I hope you’ve gotten out now, or at least mastered the art of living anyway, around its edges.

          I’m not quite at celebratory stage yet, but the world is looking far brighter 🙂

          Like

        8. At least you are wise to its ways 🙂

          No reason for sadness. It’s not anything I will get out. What a great way to put it! Yes, I believe I have “mastered the art of living anyway”. the Doctrine has provided me a tremendous life tool and answers to many a quandary. The “clark dark”, as one of you guys dubbed it, still comes around but that is just par for the course. It truly does boil down to choice. How do I want to live my life?

          Liked by 1 person

  5. Love your list – having a place to walk a lunchtime like that is beautiful. Glad the job is going well.
    Music does that to me all the time. All. The. Time. I do particularly love the Disturbed version of Sound of Silence. Intense.
    Your number 10 is perfect. Perfect. There is only now.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Lisa. It is beautiful and the thing is, I passed that cemetary many a time when I used to live here years ago and I never even remembered it being there!
      Isn’t it a great rendition? I know it’s not “new” but for some reason I’ve only just heard it on the radio within the last couple of months.
      And I know you know 🙂

      Like

  6. Came over here to listen to the video again. That band does such a great job of their rendition of that song. It gives me goosebumps. AND, it’s great inspiration as I do an editing sprint on my ghost story this morning. 🙂 It’s awesome. I feel like I’m great to conquer the world, mindfully and musically speaking. 🙂

    Like

    1. I’m glad you did 🙂 I still really love listening to it. Goosebumps fo sure 😀
      I was late to your post yesterday (will be over to leave comment!) but so thrilled to hear you are writing so many, many words…a book! Haven’t checked out the link you left but for sure will do so. I love your links 🙂
      Can’t wait! to read your story. Ghost stories are most definitely one of my favorite genres.
      You really are an inspiration Cyndi. Your commitment to, and perseverence in, writing is phenomenal.

      Like

Leave a Reply

