Saturday Bowl of Serial and Ten Things of Thankful

Why has this been so difficult? Why is it that all the “writing” has been in my head these many months? It’s turned into some sort of phobia I tell ya! You think I’m joking (and most of me is) but when I look at Dictionary.com’s definition of phobia, a persistent, irrational fear of a specific object,activity, or situation that leads to a compelling desire to avoid it”, well that’s me! I’ve got writeaphobia

There is a term that once was popular to describe tuberculosis, consumption. I’ve allowed all that which culminated in my developing writeaphobia, to consume me. Wholely and completely. So, having been consumed, I’m left to untangle the not rinsed nearly enough spaghetti strings of thoughts and fears and worries and self recriminations. Oh, and to make matters worse? Yup, the spaghetti is way, way over cooked. Blech!!

How does one parse each string? Coincidence I use that term, for the parsing comes with employing the 3 String Theory. It’s a bit abstract I suppose, and no, there are no sudden light bulbs of self discovery, but there is a, how shall I describe it, a sense of “calm” after using it. I suppose it’s kind of like a forced “take a step back and reflect”. How does it work? Well, whatever is “grabbing” you at the moment, whatever has you in the clutches of angst or worry or extreme emotion of the not welcome kind, stop. Stop and break it down into 3 components. To everything there is a feeling, there is a thought, there is an action.

Isolate, observe. See where it leads. Identify the emotion. Extrapolate the thought. Confront the action. I don’t know, maybe it’s nothing but maybe it’s something. All I know is that there are moments I find myself overwhelmed and in those moments I’m “somewhere not in the present“.  Let’s face it. We can’t do anything about the past. The future? It’s promise to no one. All there is, is now. The here and now, today. Why allow the residue of the past to color over the possibility of today?

Thank you Lizzi, still no relation, Lewis for planting the seed of the Ten Things of Thankful Bloghop.

Thank you Clark, for the Wakefield Doctrine and Blogdominion (better start at the beginning!) and Almira and….coming soon 😀

Thank you all for your continued creative contributions, for your participation that is the conversation.

Thank you Ivywalker for sharing a very personal part of your world. Doug, the Skipmeister himself. You and he shared a most special bond.

Thank you Mother Nature for weather, while oppressive at times, is surely seasonally appropriate 😀

Thanks are in huge order for the SBOR/BOSR. If you don’t know. Go find out!

Thank you RTX Records. An excellent, inexpensive resource for aquiring music and movies. While already in the Girlie film library (does me no good in Fl), I picked up a copy of Collateral, one of my favorite movies of all time, for $2. Cool.

Thank you little, growing up too quickly, Virginia nephews just for being you.

Thanks to my own self for being open to “listening to” and being “guided by” my body. Sometimes, the doing is way more rewarding than the thinking about doing.

Thanks, as always for this, another day, another opportunity to try and get it right….

 

22 thoughts on “Saturday Bowl of Serial and Ten Things of Thankful

  1. Your three strings theory of attack is exactly what we use to attack any sort of anxiety of which phobia is one. The thing is that we all think that there are not attached to those things that there are so it’s pretty cool that you found that out. So many people think it’s just the sort of sick feeling in my stomach and I choose not to do it but really there’s a huge thought process to the whole thing that most of us repress. Thanks for the shout out. Believe me it’s always been my pleasure to share Skip/Doug. ❤💕

    1. I cannot claim anything to do with the 3 string theory. That’s Clark 🙂 It is a very helpful tool I’ve been using lately dealing with…you know, the usual shit 🙂

      I know *hugs*

  2. I don’t know any string theories, spaghetti or otherwise, but I’m glad you’ve had the thoughts, and that you’re getting through to the other side of them.

    I’m beginning to learn what you maybe mean about phobic. I’m teaming empty-brain-ic with projected lack of interest, and coming up with ZILCH to write, which seems accurate.

    Hooray for the doing, and getting it done. I need to remember that sometimes the doing can be done differently, and that’s ok too.

    1. Getting to the other side….of anything is often a challenge:)

      “ZILCH to write”? What??! What is your post today young lady, huh? But I hear you. You, who seemingly are never at a loss are subject to the same “dilemmas” as the rest of us 🙂 Sometimes, the well dries up. Until the next deluge. Then you’re back in business lol

      Yay! Never a bad thing to switch it up. Never 😀

      1. It was a huge, HUGE effort, that post. Here’s most definitely to a deluge which seems to be incredibly unforthcoming. (should that be reticent?)

        Anyway. It aren’t.

        Through. I’m reminded of the ‘We’re Going on a Bear Hunt’ book – “We can’t go OVER it, we can’t go UNDER it…oh NO! We’ve got to go THROUGH it!”

        I wonder if they were trying to prepare us…

  3. Writeaphobia…I don’t think that’s what I have, but I know loads and loads of people who have all but stopped writing. Perhaps there are others with your same phobia. Shoot, most of my favorite writers and friends (and me!) haven’t been writing much at all lately.
    Your string thing makes plenty of sense.

  4. Feeling, thought, action. Interesting. At church, we talk about learn, act, share, which isn’t exactly the same, but similar enough. I guess action is a vital key to both. Feeling, thinking, or learning about something doesn’t really result in anything unless acted upon.

    1. It is similar. Action is key.
      When you think about it, feeling, thought and action emanate from the same source.
      I agree Kristi. How can we move forward, how can we grow and evolve if we don’t act on that which we’ve learned?

Leave a Reply

