How Big Do I Want My World to Be? A 10 Things

Yo. Valid question. I asked myself this very question while closing out my morning words. “How big do I want my world to be today?” It’s entirely up to me. How will I engage the world? The responsibility lies with me to put myself out there,Β to make myself available. To possibility.

As a clark, I can be satisfied to remain inside of 4 walls with a book, computer, tv… and not mind not interacting with anyone or anything. And be content. If you’re like me, and have a secondary scottian aspect, this only works for so long (albeit way longer when you start getting older lol) as you actually enjoy going out “into the world”. Sometimes.

I don’t know yet what I’m going to do today. Aside from a couple of typical Saturday activities. My challenge will be to go out and find someone to engage, something to engage me….to go out there, and participate. This begins my participation with the world as literally, folks wa-ay outside my neighborhood may stumble upon and read this, my Ten Things of Thankful post.

Always a first thankful is that I remain (as of right now) with a roof over my head, food to eat, a car to drive and employment to sustain me. With events of nature, war, crime, illness wantonly ravaging everyday life for someone, somewhere, I do not and will not take the basic necessities for granted.

Second. Health. I’ve still got it as far as I know. It’s incumbent upon my own self to promote, pursue and maintain excellence in all catagories of my health. Not an easy undertaking! But I will continue to try and do right my self πŸ˜€

Third. That I caught the last 1/2 hour of one of my all time favorite movies, Jet Li’s Fearless. OMG. What a f’ing great movie. If you watch none of it but the last fight scene, then do. Powerful and moving. Brought tears to my eyes. And of course, martial arts πŸ™‚

Fourth.Β I’m thankful to everyone who stopped by Girlie to read the first 6 Sentence Story I’ve written in…. yeah! that is a long time lol

Fifth.Β I am so thankful for those who put forth into the world, the wonderous, magical gift that is music. Well, of course I need to qualify this statment πŸ˜€ For those who’ve created the music I love and will love πŸ™‚ Life is incomplete without it.

Sixth.Β I’m thankful for being aware of gestures of kindness. Not only gestures towards myself but the witnessing of gestures towards others.

Seventh.Β the Wakefield Doctrine.

Eight.Β I am both grateful and thankful to have traveled to Europe. Not once, but twice in my lifetime. It is a gift that has few words. I now have the ability to transport myself back in time to stand inside the home of William Shakespeare,Β or walk the beaches surrounding Mont St. Michel,Β enjoy the outdoor market atmosphere in Kenmare, Ireland or, speaking adequate enough French to a bartender, in the middle of the day, because I was lost on the streets of…Paris. Yup, I’m one lucky, thankful Girlie.

Nine. I will always find a place on the list for – technology! Access to the world with a mouseclick.

10. For waking up again to make another go of it πŸ™‚

Go out today. If only for awhile and never, never forget to….

12 thoughts on “How Big Do I Want My World to Be? A 10 Things

  1. Hey. I was glad to see you today, not that I’m not glad to see you and your blog anytime. I always enjoy your posts, but seems the TToT is looking a little scarce today. I am the one who is used to showing up late/last. Summer or just life or whatever I suppose.
    Anyway, I agree with mostly everything you list here for your thankfuls. Technology and getting to see Europe and the health that I do have, not to mention your number one and more.

    Like

    1. Hey Kerry! Thank you. And thanks for stopping in today. It is looking a little scarce. I suppose all things run their course.
      I have to get over to the FB and catch up πŸ˜€
      Enjoy the rest of your weekend and have a wonderful week!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely! Europe: I’ve only been once so far. πŸ™‚
    And 4 walls? OMG – YES! Do you know how many times I have to internally convince myself that venturing out into the world can be a good thing? LOL. OMG…so kind of hard sometimes. Even with awesome family – that I love, love, love dearly. But still, the introvert meter droops after much social activity of any kind. LOL.
    Like today. I feel like staying in the four walls of my house today. Already spent a couple hours writing and editing. Gonna do some yoga. Gotta clean. Grocery store. But I’ll probably have to go back to the in-laws’ for dinner. And I love that idea while I simultaneously am like…man…must have alone time before I have to spend lots of time around people this week…ayiee! LOL.
    I’m thankful for you! Sending hugs.

    Like

    1. It was a wonderful experience:)
      LOL I totally get what you’re saying Cyndi. We will always have that conflict. Wanting to isolate vs. going “out into the world” πŸ˜€
      I am in total awe of you getting so much done. Especially the writing. Speaking of….when will the first book be out?
      Yoga – I so want to get into that. The closest I’ve gotten is taking out 4 yoga magazines from the library on Friday πŸ˜€
      Enjoy the rest of the day and dinner tonight! So glad you stopped by.
      I’m thankful for you also, my friend. Return hugs!

      Like

  3. Kristi

    I do think that we find what we look for, and this post is a good reminder to look to be engaged with others in the world–both through the means of the blogosphere and also by in-person interactions.

    Like

    1. Thank you Kristi.
      I’ve never been a great conversationalist, always a bit shy. As I’ve gotten older, I’ve gotten better about talking to people (even people I don’t know) and sharing. I truely believe that more good comes from engaging others than not πŸ™‚
      Lessons are oftentimes learned from the unlikliest sources.
      Have an excellent week Kristi πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

