Woke up again. Now what?

“Morning people. Welcome to GirlieOnTheEdge. (It’s now afternoon of the following day. More to the point then, I guess, no?)

So how does that manifest for you? Do you ever wake with that thought?
…woke up, another day, now what?”  Of course. It’s a given. We all have the “things” to do, that’s part of life. But what about that other part, the “hey, my life is counting down, so let’s make this one be the best, could be the last day…” Naah, no pressure there! lol

I suppose it is a part of the aging process that we become more conscious of the no future out in the distance like we once took for granted. The one where we do everything “then” when we get there. Life procrastination. We’re all guilty of it.

Yup. Woke up yesterday morning in quite the contemplative mood, all with dark opaque shades occluding the light of positive thought. Well, not completely opaque. There was enough light to shine on the “wtf are you going to do today to make a difference in the outcome of life as you know it now, huh??

Now that, my friends appears to be my segue into this week’s Ten Things of Thankful. My contribution to the bloghop hosted by our most gracious of hostesses, Josie.

1st place goes to the Wakefield Doctrine. Without it, I wouldn’t have the ability to figure out why people behave the way they do, appreciate another’s personal reality. If you are familiar with the life tool, the perspective, that is the Wakefield Doctrine, then you know what I’m talking about. If you’ve not heard of it, check it out here. Browse the site, read some comments, ask a question! Clark will answer with his typical enthusiasm. After all, he is the creator of the theory of clarks, scotts and rogers.

Alrighty then! Let’s crunch those other numbers shall we? No. 2 only because it comes to mind is, weather, season. The time of year I love and don’t love at the same time 😀 I love the fall colors, the witnessing of nature changing her clothing. (ew! that didn’t come out right! not what I meant!)


No. 3. Witnessing and enjoying youth. More specifically, that of my 2 young nephews, great-nephews to be more precise. Hopefully, I have a special placement along their timeline when one day, as adults, they will recall fond memories of “Aunt Denise”. Our nature walks, Saturday movie nights, riding in my car, the Ramones playing. (the 8 year old is fond of the Ramones 🙂 )

No. 4.
 While it is not my chosen profession, my job. I am most thankful to work with a great group of people and be afforded the opportunity to learn a lot. I can honestly say, it is always a challenge. And that is a good thing.

No. 5. My health. I recently attended a “send off” dinner for a co-worker who will soon be undergoing a bone marrow transplant. While these operations are never guaranteed, I have confidence she will recover, come back to work, return to her life, her family. Her spirit has been tremendous, her attitude phenomenal. She truly is an inspiration.

No. 6. I’m thankful for the inspriration of those I’ve come to know through the internet. Through the telling of their stories, events from their lives, their accomplishments and even their failures. A special shout out to Josie each time she leaves a comment on one of my posts. She never fails to stop by and while I am guilty of not always recipricating in kind, she should know that her comments are always thought provoking and always give me food for thought.

No 7. A new apple! That’s right. It’s called Sweetie Crispy. No, it’s not a Honey Crisp. It is my new favorite for however long it is in season.

No. 8. I cannot not list music as a thankful.

No. 9. My laptop. That’s right. I have yet to purchase a new one. I have difficulty letting go of her. She is still functioning. Sure, she takes spells, has momentary lapses but who doesn’t? I will know when it is time to let her rest.

Thankful 10. Today. And each day I can call “today”. It is my gift, it is my opportunity. It is my responsibility.

6 thoughts on “Woke up again. Now what?

  1. Numbers seven and eight I am totally down with.

    So, your laptop and autumn are females? Interesting. I do like the she’s changing her clothes thing. Nice one.

    Every child should be introduced to the Ramones in my opinion.

    A very thought provoking post you have here.

    Like

    1. Ah, the apple? It’s acutally called Sweetie Crispy. Very good.

      Yes 🙂 Thanks.

      Excellent idea Kerry! I couldn’t agree more. They are great for singing loudly in a moving vehicle 😀 He’s picking up the lyrics very quickly although some songs on the cd might be a little beyond him. I don’t know that an 8 year old is going to “get” Chinese Rock 😀

      I’m glad you think so. That is one of my goals when I write, that something, somewhere in my words resonates for readers and sets them a-thinking.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love my laptop. When you said you had an Apple, that’s what I was thinking. LOL.
    I’m glad for your health. Alas…I need to sign up for the Affordable Care Act for next year. While it’s a good thing, compiling all the tax stuff. ICK. But it makes me VERY thankful for my health.
    Thinking of your co-worker.
    Hope you’re well, sweet friend!

    Like

    1. Me with an Apple product? Heavens no LOL.
      Persevere, a pain in the neck no doubt getting through all the paperwork but I can say, having health care vs not, it will be worth it.
      Thank you 🙂
      Same for you my friend. Missed you on the call last night 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

