Afterburn. It’s a Café 6.

The recent adventures of the Bartender of the Six Sentence Café & Bistro saw her battle an assassin sent to her condo at The Lofts, leave the city for islands unknown to stay with a mysterious benefactor and finally, current day, her return to the Café, the other Proprietors and of course, Tom. Links have been included as refreshers.

**************************

The airport terminal’s automatic exit doors opened, a whooshing sound and the makeshift wind tunnel spat me out onto the sidewalk.  Fifty yards to my right was a black Audi S4 idling curbside, a tall, 30-something Tom Ford cotton and silk blended suit standing sentry; it wasn’t difficult to figure out he was there for me.

Rush hour traffic had ended hours ago turning the once overcrowded freeway into a remote underground desert race course for those daring or stupid enough to risk it; temptation was riding shotgun this particular night. As our speed increased, the passing streetlights were flashing onto my retinas like strobe lights; I began to feel my stomach churn.

Pull over now, Mr. Tom, unless you want me to barf all over this awesome leather seat.”

I got back into the Audi, “change of plans Mr. T! take me to Bumpers Pool Hall…that’s right, not far from the Six Sentence Café & Bistro; reaching into my bag for my phone, “yeah, meet me at Bumpers and bring your cue – I’m back, baby!”

24 thoughts on “Afterburn. It’s a Café 6.

  1. utahan15 March 14, 2024 / 7:21 am

    to day pope st son major tom

    gets wrapped up in his mom

    oh good i can sleep

    and eat hansomely!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. clark March 14, 2024 / 7:45 am

    “...makeshift wind tunnel.”

    excellent wordifying

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Frank Hubeny March 14, 2024 / 10:45 am

    Nice descriptions: the whooshing of the terminal pushing one out the exit, the Audi with Tom waiting, the high speed drive, and even the barfing which was a great way to get Tom to slow down. Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Liz H-H March 14, 2024 / 7:25 pm

    All new beginnings should begin with a slick game of pool. Go go, Girl!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sunra Rainz March 18, 2024 / 1:49 pm

    Well, this is fascinating and I tried to follow the backstory but I feel as if I’ve missed chunks of storyline somewhere – I guess I could let me imagination do all the work! Someone rushing from one place to another – on the run from their crime and off to commit another? Are they a secret agent? And what did they do about the dead body they left behind? Did they clean up all the mess?

    Excuse me, Denise, just pontificating! Enjoying the intrigue nonetheless 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • GirlieOnTheEdge March 18, 2024 / 8:50 pm

      If you’re enjoying yourself, Sunra, that’s all that matters 😊
      Thank you for reading some of the other installments. It’s been
      an evolving storyline from the Bartender for several months.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment