No Do-Overs. A Lunch Girl 6.

Thank you for stopping by. Not entirely sure where Lunch Girl is headed but in case you’d like to read where we’ve been up until today, click on the following titles:
Lunch Girl, Lunch Girl Walks Again and Den Parents of the Dead.

*******************

“What’s the big deal, man, I didn’t hurt her – she didn’t know I was dead!” exclaimed the young man, class of 2024 “Cemetery of Survivors”; the old man in front of him somehow made Brendan want to punch something.

“It’s simply not done, boy, not without prior approval by the Committee for Corporeal Manifestation; contact with the still-alives is a matter of quite a serious nature.”

Angus usually deferred to Maureen on issues and problems with new residents but for some reason the young man with the wild, wavy brown hair had touched a chord in him. Brendan’s obvious struggle to accept being dead, while not unusual in new residents, resonated; his own difficulty understanding the complex rules of the spiritual world was no less urgent, time however, has a way of making the most pressing matters, less so.

“I’m not meant to be here, you know; besides, I never saw the light they always talk about, the one you’re supposed to walk towards. Why should I when it was supposed to be my friend on the bus that night?”

19 thoughts on “No Do-Overs. A Lunch Girl 6.

  1. Spira May 22, 2024 / 11:34 pm

    I am telling you… If Hell has a Committee, I will freeze them #@&^!😆

    Keep weaving, Denise… something tells me we are entering the darker part of your story (which won’t be dispelled by a major key song).

    Liked by 1 person

    • GirlieOnTheEdge May 23, 2024 / 7:03 am

      LOL I have no doubt you will, Nick!

      If the bag replenishes with yarn, I shall continue to do so.
      In order for there to be light, there must be…

      Liked by 2 people

  2. clark May 23, 2024 / 7:16 am

    tasty trail of breadcrumbs here in this here Six, here.

    Liked by 1 person

    • GirlieOnTheEdge May 23, 2024 / 10:06 pm

      You have no idea how close to true that was/is, Mimi.
      I cannot write the number of years ago (seems like only a few, lol)
      that a story idea came to mind with protagonist and premise. Went no where.
      Now that I’ve written a few Lunch Girl Sixes, I realize they very
      well could be part of the prequel to the story idea of old. Hm…

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Misky May 24, 2024 / 5:23 am

    I love the idea that even in ones afterlife hierarchy and departments of this for that, and ministries for whatever reign over the inhabitants. I’m enjoying this imaginative series, Denise.

    You might be interested in knowing that your comment back In March (“I wonder it may be more than nostalgia that persuaded Brigid to sign on the dotted line. It’s rare to be able to “go home again”) is what lead the direction of my instalment this week.

    Liked by 2 people

    • GirlieOnTheEdge May 24, 2024 / 8:42 pm

      I suppose it’s not entirely out of the realm of possibility.
      But most likely it is, lol. I’m happy to hear that. Thank you, Misky.

      Yes, I am. Cool. One of the facets of Six Sentence Stories
      I so enjoy is the conversation of comments. You never know when a light
      bulb may turn on or a stuck wheel suddenly becomes unstuck.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Frank Hubeny May 24, 2024 / 8:55 am

    Good point: “time however, has a way of making the most pressing matters, less so” I wonder how Brendan died and what it had to do with a bus. Nice series of tales of the lunch girl.

    Liked by 1 person

    • GirlieOnTheEdge May 24, 2024 / 11:43 pm

      I imagine we’ll find out at some point how he died.
      Thank you, Frank. I’m glad you’re enjoying it.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Chris Hall May 24, 2024 / 11:04 am

    Gosh, I really like the way this is going – especially ‘The Committee’.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Keith's Ramblings May 27, 2024 / 10:12 am

    I always thoght life after death would be simpler. Clearly not. About the the friend and the bus…. more please!

    Liked by 1 person

    • GirlieOnTheEdge May 27, 2024 / 10:26 am

      Can’t prove it but not sure anything is ever simple, Keith, lol.
      I’ll have a sit down with Brendan, see if he’s in the mood to talk about it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment