The Hunt. It’s a 6.

As a kid, I loved to play in the woods behind our house, imagining I was a big game hunter wandering tree rooted trails in search of mysterious and mythical creatures, settling for fox, squirrel, rabbit and deer. On those days I was late for dinner (which was fairly often), it was because I was practicing patience, waiting for the deer I knew were biding time before emerging from behind bands of leaf trees whose branches provided perfect fall camouflage of burnt orange, golden brown, yellow and fire red leaves.

As the years went by, my love for hiking and exploring parks and forests grew; I learned to track and hunt, honing my senses to the myriad scents, sounds and visual tell tales of deep woods wildlife, all in anticipation of one day tracking the perfect prey, of taking that perfect shot.

Who knew as I set out that crisp October morning, the day would culminate in a dream come true? I’d been tracking a particular deer for hours until at last, he appeared in my line of sight, a stag roaming the forest – majestic to behold, he had gorgeous tan fur peppered with grey and flecks of black and a massive crown of antlers branching out from the top of his head, curving deliberately skyward, a most regal “crown”.

While I could have taken quick, multiple shots, instinct told me I could get this done with one perfectly aimed shot; inhaling, I brought the stag into my cross hairs, hesitating a split second only when he turned his head, looking directly into my eyes and in that brief moment of acknowledgement, I exhaled, taking a single shot; later that evening, standing before the developing photo hanging on the line in my dark room, I smiled, “this would be placed front and center on my trophy wall”.

28 thoughts on “The Hunt. It’s a 6.

  1. Spira October 28, 2022 / 9:44 am

    I can see you Denise, afterwards, dusk, sitting at your piano, a glass of wine, the photo of the deer …”I’ve been at so many places in my life…”.

    And although you’ve been known to be a formidable markswoman, I am glad (for this instance😉) of your choice of “weapon” for this Hunt.

    A delicate Autumn leaf you have gifted us.

    Liked by 1 person

    • GirlieOnTheEdge October 28, 2022 / 9:48 pm

      A lovely scene, Nick. This evening, I sit, yes, with glass of wine (a rare thing!) and ponder…”of all the places I’ve been…”.

      Indeed, a camera is a far better choice for my character and for me! (but damn, I can shoot well from the hip, lol)

      Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sadje October 28, 2022 / 10:23 am

    Oh so suspenseful a story. I’m glad it was a photo and not a bullet.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Frank Hubeny October 28, 2022 / 10:53 am

    I like the shift at the end from hunting to taking photos. It matches the search for mysterious and mythical creatures at the beginning.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Liz H October 28, 2022 / 11:39 am

    You had me going! With the lush, mysterious descriptions, a flickering of the gothic, and it being so close to Samhain, I was expecting a werewolf story.
    This is SO much better! ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    • GirlieOnTheEdge October 28, 2022 / 9:54 pm

      Then I did my due diligence, Liz! We are close. Excellent idea!
      (Ahem...not too late…you know…(for you) to write a Six…about a werewolf 😉)
      Thank you!

      Liked by 2 people

      • Liz H October 28, 2022 / 11:39 pm

        Lol…Too much homework to do. I’ll be back…

        Liked by 1 person

  5. jenne49 October 28, 2022 / 12:03 pm

    Well that was a delightful and welcome twist, Denise! Wonderful descriptions, but I was worked up for a different ending. Nicely done, right on even past the word ‘shot’!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. dorahak October 28, 2022 / 3:41 pm

    I exhaled with you, a sigh of relief. Well played 🙂

    Like

  7. ceayr October 28, 2022 / 4:15 pm

    Terrific tale, Denise.
    Do you know that we in Scotland adore stags, probably more than any beast except the unicorn (our National Animal).
    Great song too.
    I love this version:

    Liked by 2 people

    • GirlieOnTheEdge October 28, 2022 / 10:39 pm

      Thank you, ceayr.
      No, I didn’t know. But I just took a trip down Google Lane. Fascinating.
      It is.
      Thank you for sharing. I love all the artists in this vid. It was only this morning I listened to Donny Hathaway’s rendition. In my younger years…Leon. Only Leon.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. D. Avery @shiftnshake October 29, 2022 / 8:46 am

    As they have said, well played. There was the tension of the hunt, the hunted, I knew there was going to be a twist, and what a good one in the end.

    Liked by 2 people

  9. clark October 31, 2022 / 11:02 am

    What they said.
    (My vote for the original Leon version*)

    *well, no, I don’t believe I saw an actual ballot, per se…but if there was, I’d vote for the version by one of the patron saints of college dorm seduction

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment