walkin’ or talkin’ edge – there is a difference

“Yes, yes you there….and uh, you….walk a bit with me…..

I know you find me a bit different – such is the nature of a clark but let go of that for a minute and allow yourself to be lead somewhere else.  Somewhere whose source does not emanate from a cell phone or web site.  See, that’s the point.  I cannot deny my origins and  those origins are pre-techno.  (no, no! not techno as in music/dance!). 

Despite, my outward appearance, I am in fact a 30 something or other.  Chronological aging stopped somewhere early 30’s.  My body progresses towards the inevitable although I must say I weigh less than I did when I was in my 30’s.  Go figure. (no pun intended) Yes, yes, I do undertand this is not the first time I speak of chronological vs. “mental” age.  Somewhere in the annals here (don’t even think about it LB!) is reference to an article (over at Hub pages) penned by the author of The Wakefield Doctrine.

Yup.  That’s where I’m going with this.  Sort of.  “Here….maybe we should sit right over… here“.

I find myself floating above and traveling over things lately.  In that Crouching Tiger sort of way….difficult to describe.  Even if you are not familiar with more recent martial art films than CTHD, I am sure you catch my drift here.  

It should come as no surprise to my regular readers that this Girlie has been sometimessharing her own “path towards enlightenment” within these cyber walls.  With the power that comes from understanding the Wakefield Doctrine (more completely) comes the power to understand self,  and one’s place in the world (in relation to all those rampaging scotts and circling?/circles of rogers!).  This is the easy part.  The preliminaries if you will. 

When I attempt to write of more philosophic/metaphysical, as the scotts like to call it, “sleep inducing psycho-babble”, I find myself faltering.  How do I bypass the abstract clarklike shit and express in a  John Q Public kind of way (can you say rogerian?) the notion of “seeing the world” through another’s eyes.  In this instance, not the view of the world of a clark, scott or roger necessarily but rather through the eyes of the generation that is now –  the eyes of youth who know not what it was like to not have a cell phone or computer attached to their person.  Through the eyes of an individual who used a pen or pencil to write….on paper, who relied upon phone booths if there was a breakdown on the highway late at night.  This is not as easy as you think.  I’m aware of all the gadgets available (most of them) and I am in awe. This very statement places me in that other generation.  The one before

Suffice it to say and in spite of what I said, I find it most excellent that communication, education and any other “cation” is virtually at one’s fingertips – that in fact, we can live a virtual world.  I struggle verbalizing my generational awareness….hang on for a second. (I believe it was one Mr.  A. G. Bell who first uttered those words to a certain Mr. Gray and then ran straight over to the patent office.  We all know how that ended!)  I don’t mean to infer that I prefer a virtual world, but damn if I don’t enjoy it every once and awhile… 

One thought on “walkin’ or talkin’ edge – there is a difference

  1. Spira June 22, 2022 / 3:27 pm

    I would rather be a ghost drifting by your side as a condemned soul than enter heaven without you… because of your love, I will never be a lonely spirit.

    Li Mu Bai

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment