And Yet I Find…Another TToT at the Edge

Good morning. Welcome to GirlieOnTheEdge and my contribution to the Ten Things of Thankful blog hop, courtesy of our own world traveling Lizzi Lewis.

I sit facing almost due east, to my right, early morning sun near blinding me as it demands entrance into the lower level family room in which I have taken refuge today. Light so bright my reflection stares back at me, superimposing my own self over these words. Quite cool. For this, I am thankful.

the-spot

2. I gaze both at this screen and out the French doors into the world of my homeland. And so, I am thankful for a safe journey yesterday arriving in sunshine.

3. So very thankful I am to be on vacation! It has been a year since having time off. Feels good 🙂

4. I am always thankful for my brother and sister-in-law’s kindess and generosity. They always make me feel welcome when I visit. I’m thinking, hoping, perhaps this trip, this time, clarity will be mine as I sleep soundly in the room of re-direction. I’d like to think I’ll sleep in since I’m on vacation. In my mind’s eye that is what I will do this week. But if today is any indication, I’ll be awake and up before 6:30 am. Wait! That is sleeping in!

5. As things turned out, my visit this week allows me to celebrate my sister’s birthday in person 😀

6. This may be a bit premature, but I’m thankful in advance for being able to get together with a few friends while I’m back. Guess I’d better let them know, eh? 😀 I’m a fan of surprises. rogers, in general, aren’t that into surprises. You know, the preparation thing. Which is why I told my sister Thanksgiving Day I was coming to visit. Sure enough, she made plans for today…last Thursday 🙂 Fine by me since I had made the “surprise” plan for Wednesday night 🙂

7. the Wakefield Doctrine.

8. Proximity to Mystic, CT. It’s where Annaliese grew up. I’m thinking of driving there for some inspiration. The writing thing. Gone for months. Perhaps this trip will facilitate a comeback

9. Finding spots. I have a new spot in the downstairs of this home sitting in the wingback by the French doors, looking out to green and trees. Yup. This is it. This is the writing place. Fingers crossed the words will come.

10. This day.  A gift I shall not squander. I will go out into it and celebrate.

8 thoughts on “And Yet I Find…Another TToT at the Edge

  1. Kristi November 27, 2016 / 7:21 pm

    “Room of redirection”–love that phrase, and hope you come away rejuvenated. Happy Thanksgiving!

    Like

  2. herheadache November 28, 2016 / 2:22 am

    Picking a spot…a place to write. Your number 10 is basically at the heart of what I was trying to get to in my own post this week.
    Vacation is nice, hopefully nice for writing. I am a big fan of surprises, surprise visits.
    I also love the room of re-direction. Is that anything like the room of requirement?
    Lol, well only if you are a Harry Potter fan would you know what that is, but I had to ask. They feel sort of similar in my own head.
    Enjoy.

    Like

    • GirlieOnTheEdge November 28, 2016 / 7:16 am

      Yes. Finding the “right” place, the “comfortable” spot has always been important to me. Makes a difference. Not just about comfort. It’s a body thing. You know it when you find it 🙂
      Thanks Kerry. I was trying not to have too high expectations, that way everything would be a pleasant surprise 😀
      Surprise should be a frequent facet to life, I’m sure you agree!
      Aha! I am not familiar with Harry Potter and the room of requirement. Sounds rather ominous!
      Here’s to Number 10 each and every day 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • herheadache November 28, 2016 / 7:48 am

        It’s a magical room that only appears when a person really needs it too. It appears as whatever the user needs it to be in that moment.

        Like

  3. valj2750 November 30, 2016 / 7:31 am

    Vacations are a great time to rejuvenate. I love your surprise story. Enjoy your time and the sunshine.

    Like

    • GirlieOnTheEdge November 30, 2016 / 10:15 am

      Prime real estate for rejuvenation for sure 🙂
      Thanks Val. Today is day 2 of not sunshine…but it’s coming 😀

      Like

Leave a comment