The Edge. Still Got the blues for you…a TToT

Gary’s dead. Unusual circumstances notwithstanding, those of my generation will all succomb at some point. Death stands, red brocade rope on either side, hand extended waiting to take our ticket, tear it in half. But the popcorn is free, as is everything at the massive concession stand beyond those red ropes.

Good morning! Hm. I wrote the intro paragraph yesterday morning. What a difference a day makes. Or does it? Do we trick ourselves into thinking “today will be different”? How do we/can we measure, gauge, what I like to call, self-evolution?

Clark, the creator of the Wakefield Doctrine, the theory of clarks, scotts and rogers, and the blog of the same name, hosts the Wakefield Doctrine Saturday Night Drive Call in show. (necessary info is on the Doctrine’s home page.) Cynthia Sageleaf is a frequent caller and last night was no exception. It was an enjoyable call and, as is often the case when Cynthia calls in, the conversation extends well beyond the 8:45 pm “end” time. Last evening, while catching up on the most recent developments and acomplishments in Ms. Sageleaf’s life, we got onto the topic of “change” and “self development”. How does it manifest? When, can we, as the subject take note to it’s effects in our lives, other lives?

You may be scratching your head and thinking, “damn! what stimulating  conversation…not!” lol…and yet, it is! We always have a delightful, engaging, often humorous exchange of life’s observations. Since Clark, Cynthia and myself are clarks, the conversation naturally is centric to how we continue to learn the language and behavoir of the scotts and rogers in our world. As clarks, it is all about understanding. With understanding comes recognition. With recognition comes action. See how that works for a clark?

If you are a clark, no doubt this will resonate with you. If not, remember the basic principle: scotts act, clarks think and rogers feel. What is the Wakefield Doctrine? It is a perspective, it is a tool. It is, for me, indispensible.

Hey Josie! You still there? Order comin’ right up….10 Things of Thankful:

  1. the Wakefield Doctrine. For the obvious, but also as the vehicle by which I made Cyndi’s aquaintance when she called in that Saturday night so long ago:)
  2. The results show the osteoporosis in my spine can now be considered ostopenia. Break out the streamers and balloons. Good news:D
  3. Music. Always a thankful. And not just music but the obvious! the artists who create the magic that provides escape, energy, motiviation, calm, sadness…the emotional engineers in my life.
  4. I am thankful for the encouragement I receive to not give up on writing. To not give up on re-learning to play my bass.

5.  So the picture over there from the eclipse is supposed to be on this side of 5. What the hell. Someday, oneday, if I have some more of them, I will work on the whole inserting pictures into a post. The thankful? I’m not embarrassed by my seeming inability to manipulate basic blog features/functions!

6. Second Chance Thrift store run by my local Humane Society.

7.  Rockin’ Rasberry Cheesecake Ice Cream.

8.  So this is going to sound weird but, I’m grateful that I still notice shit. Let’s face it, sometimes, we all kind of rush through the day without taking the time to remind ourselves to slow down, all the while not having a clue of all the cool stuff we missed out on. Observations of people, places, synchronistic events, weather, the hue of a sky, the timbre of light at a precise moment. We lose the sense of being in the moment.

9.  Dammit! Look at the form this post has taken. See! I should have put the picture at the very end. Then I would have a nice centered list with a fanning out at the end. OMG. What an old person I am. Or, is it the lack of patience. Or thinking that I should be doing something else more important. Higher on the scale of “stuff I want to accomplish”, the worrying about a future that doesn’t exist and won’t if I don’t take the damn time to turn off my brain and be in the moment right now. Enjoy it, take care of it and not look so far ahead. Afterall, there may not be a tomorrow. So, be happy with today. Funny, that also was a topic that came up in the call last night. The idea of time. How to better use it, what causes us to lose track of it in the first place and the helpful methods for staying “on track”

10.  Today. Not tomorrow. Today. I will not tire of reminding myself and you, that today is our gift. Let’s not squander it. That doesn’t mean it has to be filled with activity and “doing stuff”. It simply means we should engage and participate in “the moments that make up a dull day”.

12 thoughts on “The Edge. Still Got the blues for you…a TToT

  1. Clark Scottroger September 10, 2017 / 2:08 pm

    Good Point (and Grat Item) noticing things. For those with interest in self-improving oneself, it is indispensable if for no other reason than, If we’re out to add to what we are, that is by definition something we are not (at the moment), the old saying “the eyes we see with are the eyes that have been trained in what to see’ is totally true. And noticing, (and acknowledging) the new, novel and unique is the only way for it to come into being.
    ya know? good TToT

    Like

    • GirlieOnTheEdge September 10, 2017 / 2:58 pm

      Yeah, thanks. It’s a carry over from last week’s TToT that I never published. Only the condensed version. lol
      As usual, I cannot say better what you have expressed. Only that yes, it is.
      Thank you.

      Like

  2. Josie Two Shoes September 10, 2017 / 10:45 pm

    This post was a great read, filled with not only introspection but also wisdom and light in several forms. I found myself smiling as I journeyed through it to the finish.

    The older we get the more aware we become of how death waits for all of us, or rather how it is the inescapable conclusion of our time here. Sometimes we are shaken by the abruptness with which it presents itself, or the seemingly unnecessary harshness, but just as you note, on the other side all kinds of good things wait for us.

    The concept of today being different set me to pondering. Shouldn’t each day be? If we just tread water through life it will be an endless struggle against drowning and little more, but what if we really do learn to relish the moment, to make it count. That is too often interpreted as being busy “productive”, but I think there are so many ways a day in life can be celebrated, perhaps in a conversation or a thought shared, or a prayer or a meditation, or a walk in a quiet place, or even just curled up with a cat and tuned into their inner rumble. I try to end each day thinking about what mattered, and what old tired habits do I want to address with a little more energy tomorrow. I always feel sad for people who wake up without a smile for the new day, we can always begin again.

    The Saturday Nite Call In conversations do indeed sound intriguing. Deep thoughts are never boring, at least from my perspective. 🙂 The Wakefield Doctrine fosters such thought, and that’s a really good thing! Cynthia is one of the gifts it has brought to us!

    Ostopenia as opposed to osteoporosis is indeed a good report, you can deal with that!

    Music, yes, definitely. It affects me so strongly that I have to approach it carefully at times, but can use it as effectively as medication to elevate my energies, mood, and frame of mind. The connection of our souls to music is undeniable, a language only the heart knows.

    I see encouragement as being as essential to us as food, water, and shelter if we are to survive and grow. It is such a simple gift to give to one another, and it can make all the difference, even in small doses. I wish that being a good encourager was taught to all children along with other rudiments. Encouragement is another form of love. I am glad it has motivated you to continue with your writing and to re-learning to play the bass.

    I love the eclipse picture, I am a fan of cloud photos. It matters not what side of the post it appears on, if there are rules for such things they should be broken! As long as we can tie it to the message in some way, it’s great. I makes me smile that you are ok with not being able to do it to the level of perfection you desire. If we were a little more gentle with ourselves, life would be much nicer. It’s just not that high on the must know list!

    Humane Societies… four hearts, thrift stores to help support them – even better yet!

    I hadn’t heard of this flavor of ice cream but it sounded wonderful so I had to Google it to see if it was a local treat or had wider availability. I was happy to see that I might be able to find it here!

    To retain the sense of wonder, i.e. being in the moment, i.e. noticing shit, is probably the greatest blessing we can have as our years of life advance. If little moments and small things still delight you, you retain your child heart and connection to creation. May we never grow to old to appreciate these gifts!

    I see no problem with the form this post has taken, perhaps that is because I AM an old person! :-))

    Thank you for #10, a final note, a reminder about the sacredness of today. I’m going to keep that word in the forefront of my mind this week, and see if I can’t squander less of the time that I am given. ❤ Blessings to you in the week ahead as well!

    Like

    • GirlieOnTheEdge September 13, 2017 / 12:03 am

      Thank you Wendy. Your insight never ceases to elevate my spirits 🙂
      It is always a challenge to keep, as Don Juan would say, “death as an advisor”. At minimum I give thanks upon waking each day for yet another opportunity.
      Treading water through life as an endless struggle against drowning…man you got that right. Sad thing is, the longer we tread the stronger we get, the longer we’re able to keep treading!
      How right you are. It doesnt’ have to be anything “big” or dramatic or “life changing”. Life can be celebrated in a million different, little ways. Each and every day 🙂
      I believed I could improve my bones but I don’t know that I expected to have achieved numbers to warrent ostopenia. Go me! 😀
      Encouragement is vital for so many. And so many go without. It is one of the most simple, yet important gifts we can give to others.
      I took a lot of pictures that day and a bunch of them “from behind” lol. They were selfies but not! I stood with my back to the sun and kind of looked at the reflection in the camera (I tried not to get my face in too many of them). After it was all over was when I realized I didn’t even have the HD setting turned on. Duh! But all in all, there were some pics that came out all right.
      Lovin’ Scoopful is the brand of ice cream. The local grocery chain here has discontinued it for some reason. I purchased the last box of that flavor 😦
      Thank you for stopping by. Have a most wonderful week 🙂

      Like

  3. Kristi September 12, 2017 / 10:46 am

    You can’t go wrong with raspberry cheesecake. Extra points if it contains hazelnuts and chocolate!

    Like

    • GirlieOnTheEdge September 13, 2017 / 12:04 am

      No you can’t! Wait! Hazelnuts? Now that sounds divine. I might even go for the chocolate 😀

      Like

  4. herheadache September 12, 2017 / 8:44 pm

    Mmmm, that ice cream sounds delicious. That call sounds interesting. Ah, love those hues and timbres. Today. Not tomorrow. Today. This is the best advice I’ve yet heard on this TToT. And yes on music being my emotional engineer as well. I am also with you on the blog jobs that do include photo stuff. So complicated and still, I say, one of these days I’ll learn.

    Like

    • GirlieOnTheEdge September 13, 2017 / 12:13 am

      When I first moved back to Virginia and began buying ice cream on a regular basis, the Rockin’ Raspberry was the first flavor I tried from this brand. I can assure you it is way yummy lol
      I have always tried to be cognizant that tomorrow is promise to no one however, as I get older, it somehow seems a more pressing concept.
      Music. You can tell it is important to you from the way you talk about your brother and the music he makes and the eclectic choice of music vids you’ve posted on your blog 🙂
      I swear, people tell me it’s really easy. Guess it’s that weird thing – sometimes I find the most simple things…very complicated! Here’s to learning more about photography and how it can enhance our blogs!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Ellen Pilch September 15, 2017 / 5:17 pm

    Excellent thankful list. I am glad your Dr. report was better than expected. That ice cream sounds good. I just made raspberry ice cream last week.

    Like

    • GirlieOnTheEdge September 16, 2017 / 6:42 pm

      Thank you 🙂 Oh, yeah. Way better 😀
      It is. In my top 5 lol. Cool. I’ve never tried to make ice cream. I guess with a base you can create any flavor you want…yeah, that would be dangerous for me lol

      Like

  6. Sageleaf September 15, 2017 / 10:03 pm

    Hehe. It’s always so much fun to call in. We always have great convos about the world of the clark, non?
    It’s always so fun, too, to read your TTOT lists. I’m eternally grateful for the Doctrine, the friendships I’ve made, and having the opportunity to read your awesome musings. 🙂
    I hope you’ve had a great week! Sending you big hugs! xoo

    Like

    • GirlieOnTheEdge September 16, 2017 / 6:44 pm

      Hello Ms. Sageleaf. Thank you for stopping in. We do have good conversations, don’t we? 🙂
      I always like to see your smiling words here. Always. I will always cherish your encouragement.
      Thank you. Let’s say I’m glad it’s over lol Back atcha baby!!

      Like

Leave a comment